PDA

View Full Version : How to... erase everything


jaroro
16-04-04, 23:55
Hi, I want to know how to erase everything form my computer you know... I have Windows XP, I just have now so little memory so I want to erase everything, is there a way to just "erase everything"? THANKS!!

RobBo
16-04-04, 23:57
Have you got a RELOAD disc?

Simulation
17-04-04, 00:16
I take it you want to make some room on the hard drive rather than reformat?

Start Menu > Programs > Accessories > Sytem Tools > Disk Cleanup.
This will compress files, delete internet temp files, win temp files etc.

jaroro
17-04-04, 01:03
Actually I do want to re-format, I want to just erase everything, and the "RELOAD" disc? huh? I have some Windows XP discs, but do I need them, orr is there a function already so I can just erase everything?? thanks

Gavman
17-04-04, 02:22
yes u need the XP discs if your going to reformat your HDD Jaroro, it takes a bit of explaining though.

Laracroft8290, this is your department i believe ;)

jaroro
17-04-04, 04:51
wow, thanks you guys, I hope Laracroft8290 can help me, nd explain how to do this, Is it quite hard...? Really thanks!! :D

vectra_sri
17-04-04, 09:02
since you have little memory , wouldnt it be advisable to upgrade your memory 2 http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/wave.gif

oh and another thing I use the windows 98 start up disk to format my computer, which i find easier, and you can get the 98 start up disk from www.bootdisk.com (http://www.bootdisk.com)

on the website click on DOS - Windows 9X/Me/NT/2K/XP Excellent ( the top 1 ) then click on Windows 98 OEM | Alt just under windows 95 version B

download the file onto your computer and place a blak 3.5 floppy disk in your drive and run the program , that will create your start up disk

[ 17. April 2004, 11:48: Message edited by: Vectra Sri ]

Geck-o-Lizard
17-04-04, 12:51
I just did all this a couple of days ago, so it's still fresh in my mind. http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/whistle.gif

Unless you want to make any backups of stuff you really want to keep, grab your 3.5" startup disk and shove it in the floppy drive. Restart with it in, when you get the option to start with/without CD support, press shift and F5 to enter DOS mode. Type FORMAT C: (replace C: with whatever drive it is you want to reformat) and it will ask you if you want to continue, that you'll lose all your data, etc. Hit Y and it'll go ahead and wipe the disk. Then take the boot disk out and restart with the Windows CD in the CD drive, and it will ask you if you want to install Windows or start the computer from the hard disk, select Install Windows, and it'll go through to the setup.

I HOPE that helped. http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/wave.gif

Joseph
17-04-04, 12:52
Originally posted by jaroro:
wow, thanks you guys, I hope Laracroft8290 can help me, nd explain how to do this, Is it quite hard...? Really thanks!! :D jaroro, here (http://www.blackviper.com/Articles/OS/InstallXPHome/installxphome1.htm) is a helpful guide for you

vectra_sri
18-04-04, 10:27
id also make up a back up copy of modem and graphics driver if you can only cd http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/thumb.gif

Draco
18-04-04, 11:33
You can download drivers if you know how to set your net connection up. just know what you have on your computer so you know how to find it...