PDA

View Full Version : Key hole position

Piega
07-04-08, 19:57
Hi,

I was wondering if Lara could use a key just between two squares. For now Lara will walk in the center of a tile. Just like with medipacks in older games were lying on the edge. I presume it is hardcoded?

I would really like to know as I'm struggling on how to setup correctly in design. I already tried to move the keyhole mesh but it does not work.

thecentaur
07-04-08, 20:27
i'm not at all an expert, but did you calculate the collision of the keyhole mesh? like i said, i'm not an expert at all >.<

ReeceMix
07-04-08, 21:26
Im sure I did this during one of my experiments, try moving laras keyhole animation position over to the side, inbetween the two squares, I think that makes it work , the keyhole mesh is just a mesh its not something the engine directly interacts with. the trigger itself tells the engine that there is a keyhole on that square and play laras keyhole animation , so when you move it it should work :D

Piega
08-04-08, 16:39
I have got a message with a solution but I must try it first. As for the above suggestions I think it does not work. And thecentaur ofcourse I calculated the collision, I'm building seven years already ;) When Lara stands in front of the keyhole Lara will sidewalk exactly to the center of the square. Moving Lara would flip her half a tile to the side and back again.

Thanks anyway :)

Spikey
08-04-08, 16:53
So you want to place an object on the division between two squares? Fexinspect can move objects to other positions in the square if that's what you want...It doesn't work well for all objects as the collision sometimes gets messed up, but for puzzle holes/keyholes/switches/pickups it should work fine.