PDA

View Full Version : LE Mouse support for the 3d-view


T4Larson
03-05-08, 21:21
I've recently worked on a little patch that adds mouse support to the room editor's 3d-view (and as a side effect, makes the standard roomeditor more multitasking friendly, too).
Feel free to test: http://larson.la.ohost.de/mousepatch.html

tweetygwee
03-05-08, 21:26
Wow! Fantastic patch :tmb:

Kevin
03-05-08, 21:39
Sounds interesting.
Before I do something wrong, is it compatible with NGLE?

Lara_Fan
03-05-08, 21:46
Sounds interesting.
Before I do something wrong, is it compatible with NGLE?

Yeah, I was wondering the same thing, cause now I'm working with NGLE.

tweetygwee
03-05-08, 21:51
It is. :)

Xico15
03-05-08, 21:56
Cool Patch!
Thanks!:D

Zique
03-05-08, 22:15
It works and it's amazing! @_@

Teeth
03-05-08, 22:20
Excellent patch, well done, and thank you! :jmp:

T4Larson
03-05-08, 22:23
Thanks for the appreciation - it should work with the ngle, at least i've tried to avoid collisions as where the (current) ngle modifies program...

If you're unsure, make a copy of the editor and rename it to i.e. "ngle_mouse.exe" and then patch this copy (btw., the patcher also creates a backup file anyway). If any problems arise you can still continue with the original version.

Zique
03-05-08, 22:31
I tested it with NGLE and I didn't see any problem C:

Lara_Fan
03-05-08, 22:36
Yup, I tested it just now with NGLE too, and it works wimme too :D

Thanks!

Christi
03-05-08, 23:04
Works like a charm.;) Thanks for your addition

Tomb_Builder
25-04-09, 21:27
Has this patch been taken off line?

Tjw croft
26-04-09, 02:15
My german isn't very good, could you tell me if it's still there or not?

TR FAN 18
26-04-09, 07:15
I go to download it and it says "Seite nicht gefunden."
Does that mean "Site not found?"

tweetygwee
26-04-09, 08:12
Luckily I've kept it. I've just uploaded it to rapidshare (apologies in advance :vlol:) - http://rapidshare.com/files/225852101/mousepatch.exe

Save the file into your LE folder, then drag the NGLE.exe or winroomedit.exe onto it. ;)

Ilie_Fusarau
26-04-09, 08:45
Doesn't work for me :(

tweetygwee
26-04-09, 09:08
Oh, sorry, I'll try to fix it.

Edit: I have no idea what the problem was actually. Is it working now?

Piega
26-04-09, 10:06
The link works but the patch itself does not do a thing on my PC. Pity...

deskj
26-04-09, 10:11
sure? with me works fine, with other people too :p
hold mouse's wheel and drag the cursor around (after u patch the ngle exe by dragging patch exe onto it)

Hateshinai
26-04-09, 10:14
Crap, I'm using a laptop.

It won't work for me :(

Piega
26-04-09, 10:16
I dragged the patch onto the editor and vica versa. It does nothing when I hold the wheel. We are talking about the 3D window right? Where you apply textures and clicking blocks?

sapper
26-04-09, 10:36
Yes it rotates, zooms and translates the rooms in the 3D window.
You drag the editor exe onto the mousepatch exe.
Maybe it is the drag technique that is not working for you.
If so try it in a dos command window.
If you double click on the mousepatch.exe the instructions are given.
Latest version is version 2.

If the patch works I think it creates a backup of the editor in the folder, check for this.

TR FAN 18
26-04-09, 10:53
this file is neither allocated to a premium account, or a collector's account, and can therefore only be downloaded 10 times.

Are you :cen: serious?! 10 TIMES?!
Why is it saying that when I haven't even downloaded it ONCE?! :hea:
I hate stupid sites that make you PAY to download files.

Could someone possibly upload this file to Megaupload or Mediafire?

Piega
26-04-09, 11:09
I use vista. I tried to run it in a dos command window but nothing happens, no error. No instuctions either. No backup. Double clicking gives a blink of a dos window with no info on it.

I run as administrator and UAC is always switched of as I ******* hate this file disturbing setup.

What can I do more Sapper?

Edit, maybe a clumsy idea but maybe some one can upload a patched editor?

deskj
26-04-09, 11:24
I uploaded these:
Mouse patch: http://www.megaupload.com/?d=FDISZOE2
Mouse Patched NGLE: http://www.megaupload.com/?d=CIN35WWG

!Lara Croft!
26-04-09, 11:25
Are you :cen: serious?! 10 TIMES?!
Why is it saying that when I haven't even downloaded it ONCE?! :hea:
I hate stupid sites that make you PAY to download files.

Could someone possibly upload this file to Megaupload or Mediafire?

If ten other people downloaded it once and your number 11 it means you miss out.

Sounds like a great idea, but im not gonna try it, im sticking to the directional buttons thanks.

Piega
26-04-09, 11:40
I uploaded these:
Mouse patch: http://www.megaupload.com/?d=FDISZOE2
Mouse Patched NGLE: http://www.megaupload.com/?d=CIN35WWG

He thanks :tmb: It works! Oh wow, this feels good. More professional :)

sapper
26-04-09, 11:53
He thanks :tmb: It works! Oh wow, this feels good. More professional :)

You'll make your levels quicker now. ;)

I don't have a level stuffed with objects and big textures so do you think it handles the slowdown better?

Maybe a compatibilty mode will work for the patch, XP or 98 or whatever. I don't have Vista so don't know.

TR FAN 18
26-04-09, 11:59
So, Rapidshare's stupid limit meant 10 times for EVERYONE and not per user?
That's just the most annoying thing ever. Why would they do that? Just so they can get everyone to sign up to urgh... Premium?
Well, they are not getting my money! :mad:

Anyway, enough about that, on to the file. I am definitely going to use this since it really works. Just hold down the middle button on the mouse (if you have a 3 button or scroll wheel mouse) and you can move around the 3D view without having to use the arrow or the PgUp/Down keys.
Excellent patch! :tmb:

And yes, it does work in Vista. :D

Piega
26-04-09, 12:01
You'll make your levels quicker now. ;)

I don't have a level stuffed with objects and big textures so do you think it handles the slowdown better?

Maybe a compatibilty mode will work for the patch, XP or 98 or whatever. I don't have Vista so don't know.

The slowdown is the same but my rooms stop spinning when I let go of the mouse. With the keyboard rooms tend to rotate forever even when the keys are not pressed so this solves a lot of frustration :)

I have no idea why the patch does not work on my vista. Others may have no problems, I dont know. In any way it is solved. I tried it on XP too when it came out. Did not work then either so I forgot about it. Now I was curious and persevered :)

nada
26-04-09, 12:11
this is a great mod. i just discovered it.. and tried it out (win xp x64)
works perfectly :cln:

Simochka
26-04-09, 15:42
I can't dowload it? And I can't understand the language so I dunno what's wrong :S

nada
26-04-09, 15:49
deskj reuploaded it http://www.tombraiderforums.com/showpost.php?p=3617005&postcount=26

Simochka
26-04-09, 15:52
deskj reuploaded it http://www.tombraiderforums.com/showpost.php?p=3617005&postcount=26

OH I could just check one page back -.-'
Thank you :D

OMG this patch is amazing. MY up and left key doesn't work on my laptop. This helps SOO much. (Y)

deskj
26-04-09, 16:55
i agree :D and as piega noticed, u don't have that frustrating bug of the view rotating like crazy :P
now it's just a matter of practice with the new keys :p

Peanut
26-04-09, 17:35
Im sorry but what does this patch do?

nada
26-04-09, 18:18
you can rotate the editor's view with your mouse instead of keyboard