PDA

View Full Version : Are there any working save game files for TR4?


hummingbird87
06-08-08, 07:17
Hi. I want to replay some Tomb Raider 4 levels so I tried downloading and unzipping Tomb Raider save game files but have had no success.

Im using the unpatched version of Tomb Raider 4 from the Tomb Raider Collection Boxset Eidos released recently on Windows XP.

Ive tried the files from Tomb Raider Chronicles and when I placed them in the LAst REvelation folder and then selected 'load game' they didnt even appear. I assumed this was because those saves were made for the patched version of TR4 so I tried the files from



Stella's Tomb Raider site(http://www.tombraiders.net/stella/savegame/TR4saves.html)
Jeff Reid's Complete TRLR PC Saves(on the same Stella site) and some other ones from
Tomb Raider HUB(www.tombraiderhub.com/saves.html )

but none of these worked either. When I used the Stella and TRHUB files the game crashed when I tried to load them and the only one that worked was the Jeff REid files but those were very buggy and evenutually also caused the game to crash while I was playing.

Has anyone been able to find any working save game files for Tomb Raider 4 and from where?

Not As We
06-08-08, 08:06
Have you tried updating the game?

Try here

http://www.tombraiderchronicles.com/tr4/fixes.html

It might help

:)

EscondeR
06-08-08, 08:07
The savegames are really very version dependant, so can cause problems in case versions mismatch.

Why don't you use "Levelskip" cheat code instead and savegame editor if you want to have exact weapons and ammo?
TR4 PC Cheats (http://www.tombraiderchronicles.com/tr4/cheats.html)
Use Paul Walton's Savegame Editor (http://www.tombraiders.net/stella/savegame/editors.html#programs)

hummingbird87
06-08-08, 11:14
Have you tried updating the game?

Try here

http://www.tombraiderchronicles.com/tr4/fixes.html

It might help

:)

I just tried that, no difference for some reason. Actually this time I tried to use the Alexandria save from TombRaiderChronicles but when I tried to load it it did appear but instead was called the 'Tomb of Semerket' and caused the game to crash.:( But now Ive uninstalled the patch so I cant be bothered rei-installing and also some of the other working save games I downloaded wont work now with the patched version. I was hoping for just some unpatched and unbuggy save games.

This one of the reasons Im glad Crystal Dynamics are in charge now because they know its a neeceisty to be able re-access areas and levels.

The savegames are really very version dependant, so can cause problems in case versions mismatch.

Why don't you use "Levelskip" cheat code instead and savegame editor if you want to have exact weapons and ammo?


I tried level skip as well but its not working for some reason. When you face lara north, is it the black side or the red side of the compass arrow that needs to be touching 'N'?

EscondeR
06-08-08, 11:20
I tried level skip as well but its not working for some reason. When you face lara north, is it the black side or the red side of the compass arrow that needs to be touching 'N'?

Easier than that - if you're facing North, the compass is transparent :)

hummingbird87
06-08-08, 11:31
Easier than that - if you're facing North, the compass is transparent :)

Thats what I heard but I can never seem to get the compass to go transparent:hea:Maybe Ill try it with the patch tis time. Thanx anyway

EscondeR
06-08-08, 11:33
^ One advice: find a simple one square block and try vaulting on each of sides - one obviously makes you face North :)