PDA

View Full Version : A couple of questions


McMurphy
09-08-08, 10:55
Is it possible to run TR III in windowed mode??

The healthbar is allmost impossible to see. Its not that it is dark but the graphics is somehow broken up in little peaces.. The same goes for the shadows in the game.. It started when i godt my new graphics card.. im using the latest drivers AND Directx is the newest. The same problem occured in TR II Gold.

Anybody??

EDIT: It is offcourse the patched TR III im running......

Explorer
09-08-08, 11:01
Hi, check out this thread here (http://www.tombraiderforums.com/showthread.php?t=127842)

McMurphy
09-08-08, 11:15
Hi, check out this thread here (http://www.tombraiderforums.com/showthread.php?t=127842)

Ok tried it and it didnt work.. did all the things Escondr said in the thread... 640*480 + directx9.. not a chance... its pretty anoying to play TR 3 on a 24" screen in fullscreen...

Explorer
09-08-08, 11:45
Ok tried it and it didnt work.. did all the things Escondr said in the thread... 640*480 + directx9.. not a chance... its pretty anoying to play TR 3 on a 24" screen in fullscreen...

You tried that program - Dxwnd ? hmm not sure, perhaps Escondr may be over to offer some assistance soon ;)

Mytly
09-08-08, 14:14
Its not that it is dark but the graphics is somehow broken up in little peaces.. The same goes for the shadows in the game..
Do you mean the graphics look pixellated? If so, turn on Bilinear Filter - go to the setup and check the Bilinear Filter box.

rickybazire
09-08-08, 18:14
Just a piece of random information that may somehow randomly help. I thought TR3 was a bit dark and pixel-y. So I went onto the sunglasses in the main menu, and turned the Gamma level up. It was originally on 3, I put mine to 8 and it looked a lot better.

Also something else that I know works with TR2 but not sure if it does with TR3. When loading the game, you have a couple options, Play Setup Install. Click Setup then go Graphics. Make sure the following are ticked...

Z Buffer
Bilinear Filter
Dither
Perspective Correct

This is in TR2, I don't have my TR3 CD with me so I don't know if that will work with TR3. But they both use the same engine, so I'm guessing so.

McMurphy
09-08-08, 21:19
Do you mean the graphics look pixellated? If so, turn on Bilinear Filter - go to the setup and check the Bilinear Filter box.

The graphics looks pretty good it is only the health bar that is garbled.....

Here it is http://img88.imageshack.us/img88/3388/healtbarwn8.jpg Sometimes i cant even see the red in the healthbar


All these are ticked.... And the gamma level is set to 6

Here are some better? pics of the problem

http://img221.imageshack.us/img221/5020/81882713qi8.jpg http://img162.imageshack.us/img162/4536/11mb0.jpg http://img162.imageshack.us/img162/2007/80441954ds5.jpg
These 3 are taken at the same spot but Lara is angled a little different each pic.

And this is to show that the gamma is ok
http://img126.imageshack.us/img126/7807/70903117ov7.jpg

Yesterday i found out that the horizon is also totally destroyed. I just updated the drivers for my graphics.. same problem...

Mytly
11-08-08, 18:34
That's very weird ... possibly some incompatibility issues with the new graphics card and/or drivers? :confused:

If you like, I can move this thread to Tech Support, where hopefully they'll be able to sort this out.

aussie500
11-08-08, 23:06
Health bar looks fine to me, you just need to turn the gamma up a bit more probably, l will move the thread to technical support anyway.

EscondeR
12-08-08, 06:42
:wve:

Ensure you have:

hardware video accel.
Z Buffer
16bit colour mode

Gamma set to 10


If it's not enough, alter gamma settings from within video board driver control panel.

If you can't see some outer regions of game screen, press Auto button on your display, to adjust screen position.

McMurphy
12-08-08, 07:39
:wve:

Ensure you have:

hardware video accel.
Z Buffer
16bit colour mode

Gamma set to 10


If it's not enough, alter gamma settings from within video board driver control panel.

If you can't see some outer regions of game screen, press Auto button on your display, to adjust screen position.

I did all that.. its NOT a gamma question as all textures AND most of Lara is ok. The Healtbar and underwaterbar is olnly readable if Lara is angled just right. The horrizon is random textures and Laras Boots is also random graphics. All other textures is perfectly ok (as good as they were back then)

I had exatly the same problem in TR 2.. Ill try to install TR 4 to see if its the same prob.

EscondeR
12-08-08, 07:43
^ What video board do you have exactly?
It's a known glitch on newer NVidia cards. On some it can be solved by driver downgrading to v.84.21. We must know your case :)

McMurphy
12-08-08, 07:46
^ What video board do you have exactly?
It's a known glitch on newer NVidia cards. On some it can be solved by driver downgrading to v.84.21. We must know your case :)

Its Inno3D 9600GT (Nvidia).. 1GB ram

It could be the problem ill try to downgrade the drivers if possible....

EscondeR
12-08-08, 08:23
Sorry, this video board doesn't support necessary downgrade. The only solution for you is to use Software rendering mode in TR2 and 3.

McMurphy
12-08-08, 08:41
Sorry, this video board doesn't support necessary downgrade. The only solution for you is to use Software rendering mode in TR2 and 3.

Ahhh ofcourse.. the only solution i didnt think of!!

As always you are very helpfull!! THANK YOU!!