PDA

View Full Version : Adding a new Harddrive

Lenochka
11-09-08, 22:17
Alright, so my cousin brought over his old PC that he bought a year before I bought mine (both emachines). So we spent the afternoon figuring out what was worth taking out and keeping and all that, we ended up grabbing the RAM (500mb or so) and the harddrive (160GB) since my PC only has 256mb or ram and 70gb or harddrive space... we got the ram in successfully, and I have already slaved the HDD and formatted it (just in case the virus that took his motherboard out was still on it in the files or whatever) so my questions are... Is the HDD safe to use now that its formatted and everything is now off it? and then also...

http://i34.************/r729zd.jpg

On my PC it shows up as only having around 30GB... but its a 160GB harddrive so I was just wondering If its damaged or If its just showing up like that due to the fact that its slaved and not the master or whatever (I'm new to all this lingo, so bare with me xD). and Last... is there any way to transfer all the info on my current HDD onto the larger one?

LaraCroft90
12-09-08, 03:00
Alright, so my cousin brought over his old PC that he bought a year before I bought mine (both emachines). So we spent the afternoon figuring out what was worth taking out and keeping and all that, we ended up grabbing the RAM (500mb or so) and the harddrive (160GB) since my PC only has 256mb or ram and 70gb or harddrive space... we got the ram in successfully, and I have already slaved the HDD and formatted it (just in case the virus that took his motherboard out was still on it in the files or whatever) so my questions are... Is the HDD safe to use now that its formatted and everything is now off it? and then also...

http://i34.************/r729zd.jpg