PDA

View Full Version : Procedure to install TR 1


Didier
01-11-08, 15:14
Hello

Does anybody give me a simple way to install my old TR1 on Vista ?
I noticed many things : install VDM, VDos32, Glidos, TRAinstaller and so on ... :hea:

I also noticed in a few posts that VDM don't run un Vista. Is it right for all versions ? I have the Home edition 32 bits ...

If using the TRAinstaller : does it work properly on vista ? or have I to install first another program (VDM ? VDos ? with or without Glidos ?)

Thanks for helping me to play with my old TR1 again ;)

Mbradez
01-11-08, 15:45
i tried doing this on my system and gave up with xp and vista, seams the newer os's dont like using an old dos based game!! buy the platinum version for psx cheap and less aggro ! lol

na_th_an
01-11-08, 16:43
The easiest way, IMHO, is:

1.- You get glidos and install it.
2.- You download the special installer (TRAinstaller is called?) and have your TR1 disk handy.
3.- Run the installer and follow the instructions. It will let you select Glidos as your glide host, and then it will ask you for the TR1 disk.

It's not difficult, and you have complete instructions in http://www.tombraiderchronicles.com

EscondeR
02-11-08, 09:03
If you have Vista...
Go for the following:


Install Glidos (http://www.glidos.net), follow the instructions on the site.
Install VDOS32 (http://www.vdos32.com), follow the instructions on site.
Install preconfigured TR1 package from VDOS32 site.
Put TR1 CD into the lowest CD-drive, quit Autorun menu.
Run Glidos, select Tomb Raider, modify Settings to use VDOS32, then run TR1 via Glidos.

Didier
02-11-08, 13:26
Thanks for your reply ;)

A few questions :
- do I need to disable DEP ?

I have the original game from 1996 from Core Eidos, french version, without the 4 UB levels, and without 3Dfx effects
I know that a few years later they add a 3Dfx version of the "tomb.exe", but I haven't it
I know that Glide are supposed to run with the 3Dfx game, no ?
so :
- it it possible to play in 3Dfx/Glide mode with the original game (no 3Dfx game) ?
- or have I to download a special version of it ?
- is it possible to add the 4 added levels to play it like I'd have the UB version ?
- what do you think about Tomb Raider Xtra version ? it's supposed to run also with Glidos and VDM, but does the VDM work on Vista ?

EscondeR
03-11-08, 20:18
- do I need to disable DEP ?

Better disable it.

- it it possible to play in 3Dfx/Glide mode with the original game (no 3Dfx game) ?

Download 3Dfx patch from www.tombraiderchronicles.com or from Stella's TR site.

- is it possible to add the 4 added levels to play it like I'd have the UB version ?

Download from www.tombraiderchronicles.com and install the same way.

- what do you think about Tomb Raider Xtra version ? it's supposed to run also with Glidos and VDM, but does the VDM work on Vista ?

With Glidos and VDOS32 (http://www.vdos32.com)

Didier
05-11-08, 13:42
I will try it ! thanks for you help ;)

I also read in a few forums that the DOSBox allows to play games that run under the old DOS.

I have many old games that need this environment and i will install it when i'll have time, because it's not so easy to configure. It will remind me the time I had to write some commands on the prompt on Dos 5.0 :D

Do you have any feed back of running TR1 under DOSBox ?

EscondeR
05-11-08, 15:57
^ DOSBOX can be used under any x32 Windows... Under x64 it's use to run TR1 is doubtful. Anyway it's harder to configure compared to Glidos+VDOS32, so start from those two. If you need any help regarding DOSBOX though, feel free to post here :)