PDA

View Full Version : Thailand load stutters and stops - Nvidia 7600 GT, 2 GB Ram!

drosera1
02-11-08, 15:36
When i load the Thailand level the writing scrolls slowly and then it stays on that screen and goes no further. Have a Nvidia 7600 GT, 2 Gb ram, 1.8 Ghz core 2 due processor. I`ve run all the diagnostic tools, i pass (in the middle), i have shader model 3 etc etc. I know this game is more demanding than Anniversary ( which runs perfect on my system with all setting maxed), but it really should run at it`s lowest settings. I develop websites for a living and know a fair amount about computers, but this has me stumped. My graphics card driver is updated, but not my audio card driver (Sigmatel high definition). Could it be that?

Aphrodite22
02-11-08, 16:26
same happens to me and blue screen of death appears and then reboots :(

Ring_of_Fire
02-11-08, 17:06
Don't know how much I can help you, but try this:

- Install the game on a *different* hard drive. Make sure it is a SATA 2 hard drive 10000-20000RPM for faster transfer of data. If you don't have a 10000RPM hard drive, the key is to have at least a SATA 2 7200RPM hard drive (not IDE), and then do a defrag.

Note: You don't have to defrag if you are playing the game on a secondary, empty hard drive. Your primary hard drive is where you OS should reside. Secondary strictly for games.

- The next step is to go to MSCONFIG, disable ALL startup apps and limit the # of OS services to:

1. Windows Audio/Windows Audio Endpoint Builder
2. Group Policy Client/Task Scheduler
3. Plug & Play

Restart computer, and run the game to what a 7600GT can handle.

If this doesn't work, then upgrade your graphics card to a GeForce 260-280 (or GeForce 9800GTX+) or perferably Radeon 4870.

Weird as to how the Xbox 360 loads TRU smoothly! :cen: