PDA

View Full Version : If you are in the military, or a vet, sound off

Solice
12-12-08, 05:54
I was in the US Air Force and worked as an analyst. I got out as a Staff Sergeant after I finished my degree. How about you?

I miss the Blue. :(

Lara's Backpack
12-12-08, 09:31
Im not in the military, nor do I plan on joining it :tmb:

Both my parents were in Army Intelligence together, they met when they both posted to the same base.

(LOLing at the banner ad im getting in this topic, "Gay Military Dating")

Nefertiti_89
12-12-08, 09:39
LOL omg I got that banner too!

My grandfather was a war vet and he made all of his children and grandchildren promise him in writing that we would never join the military.

He said he wouldnt wish the things he saw on his worst enemy - he was a soldier in WWII and worked in a hospital camp as a consellor in Vietnam and it scarred him for life...poor guy couldnt even watch M*A*S*H without getting upset and that was a comedy :(.

Armies are for defending your land, on your land, not for invading others and attacking without first exploring more socially and economically sensible avenues.

MiCkiZ88
12-12-08, 10:13
Ugh.. this thread just reminded me that I would have to go to the army next June/July.. But if I'm lucky, I wont have to. I'm moving abroad within just 6 days. Would suck big time if I would have to come back here to serve 6 months in the army. :(

I need to contact them asap.

tomkat
12-12-08, 11:24
Ugh.. this thread just reminded me that I would have to go to the army next June/July.. But if I'm lucky, I wont have to. I'm moving abroad within just 6 days. Would suck big time if I would have to come back here to serve 6 months in the army. :(

Are you forced to go?
That would be horrible.

As for me, Id never EVER join. I wouldn't give my life for this country, it doesnt do anything to help me or the ones I love, they only take it all away.

Librarian
12-12-08, 11:37