View Full Version : hard drive

12-10-03, 02:20
what is the size of your hard drive. mine is 100 gb just wondering what every one ease is playing with. kenny...opps sorry about the spelling.

12-10-03, 02:26
http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/wave.gif hi kenny pleased to meet you!!

the hard drive for the pc i use is 120gb.

12-10-03, 02:34
hi rod nice to meet u also . u have a larger drive then me . ive used about 20 gb on mine.

12-10-03, 02:46
i dont actually own a pc i borrow a friends sometimes so im not sure how much is used up.
ill let you know when i find out.

12-10-03, 03:13
How do you know? Where would I go to look to find out? http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/clown.gif

12-10-03, 03:14
I have two "60GB" hard drives. But the total amounts to 113.17GBs total. They are each divided into two partitions each giving me four different hard drives. Very nice.

[ 12. October 2003, 04:23: Message edited by: laracroft8290 ]

12-10-03, 03:25
http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/wave.gif hello tippucat
http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/wave.gif hello laracroft8290

12-10-03, 03:34
Hello, Roddy. You like me tonight? Can't sleep? http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/wave.gif

12-10-03, 03:42
no i cant sleep either, but i dont mind im quite happy to speak to everyone at the forum!!!!!
http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/smile.gif http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/smile.gif http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/smile.gif
ive enjoyed speaking to all of you!

12-10-03, 04:16
I only have a 60Gb Western Digital...

12-10-03, 04:22
80GB here, although Windows tells me it's 74.5 http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/privateeye.gif

12-10-03, 06:21
The computer I'm on atm is 55.8GB http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/smile.gif

12-10-03, 06:26
http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/wave.gif hi natla, how are you? http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/smile.gif

12-10-03, 08:10
lol the one i got is an old one. 8GB http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/redface.gif http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/redface.gif http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/redface.gif

dad keeps promising to get me a bigger one but nooooooo lol he has a 40gb HD and is talking on getting a bigger one *WHAT ABOUT MEEEEEEE* lol

12-10-03, 08:14
http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/wave.gif hello frostfur, at least you have your own pc, i can only borrow one every now and then.
which is a pain because id love to speak to you all everyday :cool:

12-10-03, 08:21
oh really? That's a bummer. I don't know what I would do if i couldn't make banners all day. lol

12-10-03, 08:34

12-10-03, 08:36
im tryin to find out mine but i bet i wont

12-10-03, 08:40
Open My Computer and right click on C: then click on Properties on the menu...

Should tell you...

12-10-03, 09:35
120, 100, 80 :eek: :eek: I only have 20GB :( http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/bash.gif

12-10-03, 10:10
Originally posted by Roddy@Raider:
http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/wave.gif hi natla, how are you? http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/smile.gif It's a bit late but... Hi http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/wave.gif I'm good thanks!

12-10-03, 10:27
My hard drive has been divided, C: 7,99 and D: 2,92..... http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/bash.gif

12-10-03, 11:14
Mine is 40gb.

12-10-03, 11:16
Mine is 40GB too and I'm happy with it! http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/smile.gif

12-10-03, 11:18
Well i'm not happy with it!!!! :rolleyes: http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/tongue.gif

12-10-03, 12:27
I'm not happy with mine....and my PC s***s anyway. ;)

12-10-03, 12:30
Originally posted by jun89:
I'm not happy with mine....and my PC s***s anyway. ;) saaaaaaaame here http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/tongue.gif http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/wave.gif

12-10-03, 12:56
I have a 100GB drive divided into 10 partitions and an 80GB drive divided into 6 partitions :D

That's because I use hard drives for OS and data back up on our home network. Also, I can boot into a fast, streamlined WinXP partition with no extra junk for when I record and edit my music.

But remember, it's not how much you have, it's what you do with it that counts. And if you're playing Tomb Raider, what else matters? :D

12-10-03, 14:31
WD 20GB 7200! And there is no need for more! http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/tongue.gif

12-10-03, 18:37
My new computer will have two harddrives...

A SCSI 36Gb 15k RPM for the OS and proggies...

And a SCSI 320 250Gb 10k RPM for various storage...

12-10-03, 18:52
Nice avatar Draco.

12-10-03, 19:05
2x 146Gb 7200rpm

only used 10.8 on one 6.2 on the other

Gonga size does matter!

12-10-03, 19:08
http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/yikes.gif http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/silent.gif

12-10-03, 19:10
Originally posted by Annacia:
Nice avatar Draco.Thanks duchess... http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/smile.gif

12-10-03, 19:12
Originally posted by swimfanc42tr:
http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/yikes.gif http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/silent.gif It was on a special offer the extra drive cost me 35 pounds which i thought was quite a good investment.

12-10-03, 20:13
Originally posted by neil4768:

Gonga size does matter!Has GF weighed in on this? http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/tongue.gif

12-10-03, 20:18
GF thinks that the HD is big enough

12-10-03, 20:25
Draco the avy is very classy! I also like Rommie's.

12-10-03, 21:14
I have 2HDDs : 60GB (4 partitions: OS, Data, Web Server; VM) + 40 GB (2 partitions: Work; Misc) http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/wave.gif

13-10-03, 00:15
thanks to all who wrote back. i didnt think i would get a big response. some said they hsd 2 drives. any one using raid . ive thought of trying it. kenny.

13-10-03, 00:37
If I were ready to upgrade I'd definitely go for a motherboard with serial ATA RAID built in, and stripe (RAID 0, 3 or 5) two drives. It effectively doubles the throughput on what is arguably the bottleneck of most fast systems.

For a home system, I wouldn't bother with a mirrored (RAID 1) setup. I think there are better solutions for backup.

13-10-03, 00:56
i have serial raid on motherboard dont have 2 hard drive. still looking. well back to almond harvest. almost finshed about 2 days mabey 4 kenny... :D

13-10-03, 01:13
RAID also helps with redundancy...

If one drive crashes, you still have your stuff...

13-10-03, 05:51
Guys, what's RAID?

13-10-03, 08:06
I have RAID controller on my motherboard, but I'm not using mirrored niether spared HDDs. I connected 2 different HDDs on RAID controller and each HDD is working in ATA mode.

Annacia, if you have 2 HDDs (the same size and manufacturer) and RAID controller, you may setup the controller to "mirror" the data - when something is written to one hard-drive the same is written on second hard-drive. It's useful when one of hard-disks die, you still have the data on the second one.

BTW, at workplace we have RAID on server: 2x80GB HDDs. There are 4 x 2.2GHz Xeon CPUs installed on server ;)

13-10-03, 08:31
^^^^ hmm that would save alot of work and frustration. I don't have it though which is a shame.

13-10-03, 11:48
RAID: Redundant Array of Independent Disks

There are many different RAID configurations.

Level 0: provides data striping (spreading out blocks of each file across multiple disks) but no redundancy. This approximately doubles throughput, but does not provide fault tolerant redundancy.
Level 1: Provides disk mirroring (redundancy), where ALL your data is written to both drives. If one disk physically crashes, the other continues to operate with no downtime. No protection against software crashes.
Level 3: Same as Level 0, but also reserves one dedicated disk for error correction data. It provides good performance and some level of fault tolerance.
Level 5: Provides data striping at the byte level and also stripe error correction information. This results in excellent performance and good fault tolerance.

So with four identical 100GB drives, you can have both mirroring (redundancy) and striping (doubling performance) occuring simultaneously, with a total capacity of 100GB. Quite a few new motherboards support this.

RAID.edu (http://www.acnc.com/raid.html)

[ 13. October 2003, 12:54: Message edited by: gonga ]