PDA

View Full Version : Someone is in control of my computer presumably, is there a way to fix it?


Death Dealer
21-06-09, 08:39
A few weeks ago while I was chatting on my IM program all of a sudden someone started typing sentences that I manually wasn't from my computer. And the mouse scheme also began to click wildly without me doing anything. At first I didn't see it as a big problem since it was a few weeks ago, but just right now as I'm talking someone types in another sentence on my IM thing and the page I'm on begins to scroll down involuntarily. Is there anyway to take this person out of my computer? Or is it a virus doing this?

Goose
21-06-09, 08:42
A few weeks ago while I was chatting on my IM program all of a sudden someone started typing sentences that I manually wasn't from my computer. And the mouse scheme also began to click wildly without me doing anything. At first I didn't see it as a big problem since it was a few weeks ago, but just right now as I'm talking someone types in another sentence on my IM thing and the page I'm on begins to scroll down involuntarily. Is there anyway to take this person out of my computer? Or is it a virus doing this?

Probably the person your talking to on IM, IM is an access to your computer, is it the same person?

Changeling
21-06-09, 08:42
I think I may know what this is... have you, by any chance, used TeamViewer? It's a program which allows people to sort of "hack" into your computer and lets them have control over it.

Death Dealer
21-06-09, 08:45
I think I may know what this is... have you, by any chance, used TeamViewer? It's a program which allows people to sort of "hack" into your computer and lets them have control over it.

I've never used TeamViewer, but I'm just extremely worried on this issue because I have all my important personal files, data, credit card credentials on this computer that are at risk by either some hacker or virus that's doing this. I'm extremely paranoid now because the hacker could be viewing what I'm doing and all my of stuff that I have on at this moment.

Death Dealer
21-06-09, 08:46
Oh snap, i have teamviewer on my computer but i never used it. I think my brother added it on.


Even if I didn't use it, can people still access my comp? I think that might be the problem.

Changeling
21-06-09, 08:51
I think that may be the problem, but I can't be sure. My advice would be to delete and un-install it immediately and see if that makes the problem go away. :)

Lavinder
21-06-09, 09:36
Oh snap, i have teamviewer on my computer but i never used it. I think my brother added it on.


Even if I didn't use it, can people still access my comp? I think that might be the problem.

It may even be your brother playing a prank on you. Just remove it completely and add a password to your computer ;).

pneboy
21-06-09, 09:42
shouldnt this be in the tech forums

rickybazire
21-06-09, 09:57
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!

Back-up your files now before it's too late incase you haven't done so already.

Johnnay
21-06-09, 11:03
what the hells Teamviewer????????

Mona Sax
21-06-09, 12:22
Moving to Tech Support...

quarrystile
21-06-09, 14:57
A similar thing can be done within MSN Messenger using Remote Desktop Assistance.
Follow the advice given by Lavinder and rickybazire

Someone else will alond to suggest other things to do soon, just in case it is a bit more serious.

Don't panic for now :)

TRfan23
21-06-09, 15:16
what the hells Teamviewer????????

http://www.teamviewer.com/index.aspx

;)

Gladous
21-06-09, 15:20
what the hells Teamviewer????????

http://lmgtfy.com/?q=What+the+hell%27s+TeamViewer%3F

spikejones
21-06-09, 21:03
what the hells Teamviewer????????

it is a remote desktop application. that will allow people to do what has been described here. same thing with VNC and the RDP (windows base desktop "sharing" protocol). If you want to know if that is what the problem is - run ardiag.exe (http://www.tombraiderhub.com/download/ardiag.exe) and diagnose.exe (http://www.tombraiderhub.com/download/diagnose.exe) and post the results. I'd do it anyway even if you do uninstall it. However, it shouldn't be an issue to have it on your computer if you do not have the server service running. (I turn off all remote access services installed with windows). I also recommend to install a decent firewall such as Zone Alarm (http://www.zonealarm.com/security/en-us/zonealarm-pc-security-free-firewall.htm).

jamieoliver22
21-06-09, 21:09
^ It's always good fun when you persuade people to install VNC and sit and watch them... whi: