PDA

View Full Version : Losing Inspiration to Build...

benjamin_2010
29-06-09, 18:52
I have been building levels with the TRLE for about 4 years now, and I have made two games, both of which were only so-so. I've been working on improving my skills and I think I have quite a bit, but lately I haven't been able to pick a project and stick with it.

I feel like I want to prove my levels are worth something, but when I look at all the beautiful screens people post and how much progress they make, I think I get discouraged. I begin to think maybe my level wouldn't be any fun compared to the one that is better looking and better designed?

Does anybody have some advice they could offer me so that I can create once again?

wdavid
29-06-09, 19:09
The only advice i can give is: Don't give up!;)
I can totally understand you. My last project was not quite succesully and i was sad when i see that i've been made a lot of bugs and faults. I like level editing and i won't give up, because i want to improve :) I haven't seen your levels so far but i'm sure that they were good:)...as every level is good in they're own way. :D
You will see that if you do not give up then your levels will be better and better :D
Practice makes perfect ;)

tomb2player
29-06-09, 20:01
Hm... I was the same problem. What project i started, the same or next day drop at the bin :o , But i recalled what i most like in TR. And this is my level base - what i most liked in TR's. For example - many doors and switches :D. I started thinking and thinking. And now i know what make :ton:

LaraCablara
30-06-09, 00:25
I have been building levels with the TRLE for about 4 years now, and I have made two games, both of which were only so-so. I've been working on improving my skills and I think I have quite a bit, but lately I haven't been able to pick a project and stick with it.