PDA

View Full Version : Switching Object to Static Causes Crash


God Horus
06-07-09, 18:32
Hello :wve:

I have an object which is in a static slot (ROCK 7). It is a custom made object and it keeps reacting to the light which I do not like because it makes it look ugly. So I exported it in Strpix, and then imported it again as a static (it was previously imported as a moveable) Now it makes my level crash!

I do not have any shiny/transparent textures on it. I do not know what is causing it to crash.

Here is my crash report (I doubt anyone can read these though)

Version=1.2.0.9
CRS=Enabled
Last diagnostic mexage: Resumed Crash
Last directX error: No palette object is attached to this surface.
DIRECTX_STACK:
ESP=0x13F5CC
STACK_TRACE:
0x1006DD0F
0x490D00
0x48F8AE
0x490D00
0x490432
0x4900A0
0x48FDDE
0x4900A0
0x499ED7
0x48F000
0x48F000
0x48FC30
0x48F904
0x48FC30
0x48C8A0
0x4A0276
0x49F26B
0x49DF08
0x49F18B
END_STACK_TRACE

START_P1:100197E7
END_P1:1004BB8E
START_P2:10058978
END_P2:1007280B
START_P3:10079117
END_P3:100A3F24
START_P4:10005DC7
END_P4:1000DFCC
CRASH REASON: EXCEPTION_ACCESS_VIOLATION
The thread tried to read from or write to a virtual address for which it does not have the appropriate access.
EXTRA_INFO: VIOLATION ON READ AT OFFSET 0x5051FBA8
RECOVERABLE : YES
CRASH OFFSET: 0x47BD26
REGISTERS:
EAX=10106588
EBX=2DF3854
ECX=10106588
EDX=10106588
ESI=2DF3644
EDI=2E0B19C
EBP=2DF35DC
EIP=47BD26
ESP=2AEFE34
DYNAMIC POINTER LIST:
------------------------------------------
00000000:Camera_Room
00000000:Camera_TargetRoom
0013FF4C:BaseSalvaStack1
01DBFFB4:BaseSalvaStack2
029EFFB0:BaseSalvaStack3
------------------------------------------
MEMORY USAGE
------------------------------------------
VetNemiciPunta memory <EMPTY: never used>
StructEnemyArray memory <EMPTY: never used>
ZonaFXBulbNemici memory <EMPTY: never used>
VettorePerFogBulb memory <EMPTY: never used>
ZonaDynamicLights memory is full at 0.65 (Used 0x14 bytes)
ZonaSceneMemory memory is full at 23.83 (Used 0x654BC bytes)
VetEditObjects memory is full at 12.50 (Used 0x348 bytes)
Mex_savegame_Argd memory is full at 3.13 (Used 0x8 bytes)
ZonaParticelle memory <EMPTY: never used>
ZonaGameStruttureMesh memory is full at 2.62 (Used 0x1926C bytes)
ZonaPuntatoriGameStruttureMesh memory is full at 0.44 (Used 0x6CC bytes)
VetMexNomiWav memory is full at 99.66 (Used 0x3FC8 bytes)
ZonaFogBulbs memory is full at 0.74 (Used 0x34 bytes)
Zona5Corde memory <EMPTY: never used>
ZonaDebris memory <EMPTY: never used>
ZonaItemInStanza memory <EMPTY: never used>
ZonaUsataPerFireSpark memory is full at 4.50 (Used 0x24 bytes)
ZonaDiSmokeSpark memory <EMPTY: never used>
ZonaRecordGunShell memory <EMPTY: never used>
ZonaQuattroSample memory <EMPTY: never used>
RecordSpriteSangue memory <EMPTY: never used>
RecordSpriteEsplosione memory <EMPTY: never used>
SpritePerFuoco memory is full at 0.59 (Used 0xC bytes)
ZonaTextureAnimate memory <EMPTY: never used>
SaveGame_220_DatiMoveables memory <EMPTY: never used>
VettoreAttivaFlipMaps memory <EMPTY: never used>
VettoreFlagFlipMaps memory <EMPTY: never used>
ZonaFlyCameras memory is full at 0.16 (Used 0x20 bytes)
VetByteFlyCamera memory <EMPTY: never used>
VetFlyCameraByteAltro memory <EMPTY: never used>
Ptr_MemBufferLivello memory is full at 40.18 (Used 0x7A9F48 bytes)


------------------------------------------
Lara: x=51712 y=0 z=29184 StateId=2 NextId=2 AnimNow=11 Room=0

Stack=0x2AEFE34 pContesto=0x2AEFB68 pInfoEccezione=0x2AEFB4C
PRIMARY_STACK:
ESP=0x2AEFE34
STACK_TRACE:
0x44EB12
0x44E964
0x44E294
0x100697FF
0x451F85
0x451166
0x45EC81
0x475155
0x49E67C
0x49DF08
0x49E61D
END_STACK_TRACE

SECONDARY_STACK:
ESP=0x13B12C
STACK_TRACE:
<CRASH DURING STACK TRACE>
END_STACK_TRACE

OTHER_STACK:
ESP=0x1DBB194
STACK_TRACE:
<CRASH DURING STACK TRACE>
END_STACK_TRACE


Can someone please help me?

KurtisandLara
07-07-09, 04:09
Hello :wve:

I have an object which is in a static slot (ROCK 7). It is a custom made object and it keeps reacting to the light which I do not like because it makes it look ugly. So I exported it in Strpix, and then imported it again as a static (it was previously imported as a moveable) Now it makes my level crash!

I do not have any shiny/transparent textures on it. I do not know what is causing it to crash.

Here is my crash report (I doubt anyone can read these though)

script


Can someone please help me?

Last directX error: No palette object is attached to this surface.
Maybe that means something? I dont know never happened to me i hope someone knows because i dont want this to happen to me.

God Horus
07-07-09, 14:50
That usually comes up when I experience whatever type of crash.

But what is causing the crash is when I switch my moveable object to a static slot so that I can light it the way I want and it won't auto-light.

God Horus
20-07-09, 15:04
Well... I don't want to bump but I still have this problem!

I want to import objects which are in static slots (Plant1, etc) in as a STATIC, not a MOVEABLE, so I can light them myself. But if I import it as a static it crashes.

Kevin
20-07-09, 15:54
Has the object shiny?
If one texture has, then it crashes imported as static.

God Horus
20-07-09, 16:14
Nope. One of them is just a simple stair object which is textured with TRL textures and I downloaded it from Trsearch. It was in as a moveable so when I changed it to static my level crashed.

God Horus
26-07-09, 15:35
I've had to bump this thread twice :o But since it's at the end of the second page, I doubt it will get much attention.

Can someone please help? :)

Titak
26-07-09, 16:15
I guess nobody knows what could be wrong. :(

I don't. All the things I know of have been mentioned already.

When you say you imported it as static, I'm assuming you mean you imported it over an object in a static slot?

Btw, do you work in your actualy levelwad or do you work in a seperate when doing/trying this sort of thing?
Just wondering. I always use a seperate wad with only a few objects in it.

God Horus
26-07-09, 16:46
I export the banister object, then import it over the same slot, as a static. But I am doing this in my normal wad which is pretty full (I will try doing it in my test room + wad)

Piega
26-07-09, 17:35
Is there a vertex limit maybe? Dont know, trying to find a cause.

deskj
26-07-09, 17:40
have u tried to import the "white" mesh again from meta (as static) and texture it again?
whoknows... sometimes the game goes crazy for really strange things