PDA

View Full Version : What are my chances, Hollywood?

Sifo-Dyas
29-08-10, 22:29
Hey

I have this crazy idea which might not bring me the fruits that I desperately hope it will, BUT ... sometimes it's better to know you failed than nót to know at all!

I'm planning on writing a movie script and send it to Hollywood, hoping that one of the many, many directors or producers out there might see something in it. Naturally the project is going to be a very commercial movie (maybe someday - if I have the talent and the stomach to do so - I might try some darker crime thriller-drama or something) with the intent of making as much money as possible.

The catch is ... I have never written a script before. I've seen a few, but that's about it.

My question to you is quite simple:
Has anyone out there tried a similar thing ánd ... what are my chances? I mean: what are the chances of a Belgian guy who lóves movies and has quite a bit of imagination (and a pretty solid knowledge of the English language, I might add) breaking through into the mainstream (of B-movie world would also suffice actually, lol) movie business?

Is it plus that the movie business in America is so big, making it easier to release something? Or is it a big, fat minus? :)

Many thanks for any thoughts ... :)

Bye for now

voltz
29-08-10, 22:33
You have to remember with Hollywood, the word is "don't call us, we'll call you". Beyond that, everyone's pretty much a money tossing consumer in their eyes.

Best bet is to write a book and see if you can get it published. Your chances improve if anyone in the film studio's pick up on it.

just croft
29-08-10, 22:54
:( you sure you want hollywood? I mean if you like films so much then you should know that you can probably find better cinema and higher chances in Europe.

Thorpe
29-08-10, 23:20