View Full Version : Image

15-11-03, 18:39
Should I add bottles? i've been trying to but the program won't render it; the ray trace reflections and so on confuse it and it crashes, so I'd have to do them separately then edit them in in Adobe Photodeluxe, looking somewhat messy http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/privateeye.gif
Constructively critical comments, anyone?

(edit: visual typo)

[ 15. November 2003, 19:50: Message edited by: Geck-o-Lizard ]

15-11-03, 18:43
I wonder where Gav is?????

15-11-03, 20:34
Hiya Geck http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/wave.gif
comments? well, not bad, You seem to understand the basics of 3ds (?) ;) all i can do in 3ds max is some box editing with the smoothmesh thingie... i dont even know how to insert an infinate plot, set up lighting, use shaders and stuff... im a complete novice. i do know a lot about carrara though, so i actually do have some suggestions.
first i think You should work on lighting. try global illumination. realistic lighting is very important. secondly, try tweaking the shaders. i really think the reflections are set too high. sometimes a very hardly noticeable reflection looks perfectly (the golden mean, hehe http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/tongue.gif ). try downloading some textures from the net. they usually look much more realistic than the ones which come with the software. or You can just work really hard and try to get a super realistic shader on Your own, but thats the hard way http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/tongue.gif

well i hope this helps You http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/wave.gif

15-11-03, 20:38
Thanks TC! http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/wave.gif
Actually, it's a different program: I doubt I know as much about 3DS max as you, because I've only ever messed around with it for about four hours altogether http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/tongue.gif It's S3D, the S being the confusing bit: Simply3D. It's incredibly difficult to get realistic effects with this, because it's both quite old and it's very basic. And being old, it takes up more RAM than is necessary and so I can't get decent renders. I'll follow your advice though, I wanna make this one half decent at least! http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/smile.gif

15-11-03, 21:12
no problem mate http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/wave.gif im workin on another TRF wallpaper now! sadly its a carrara studio project again :( i wanna learn 3ds, but its soooooo confusing! if only i knew the basics! :( i guess ill have to download the tutorials from discreet's site... the sad thing is that my trail version of max 6 will probably expire before ill actually learn how to use it properly ... http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/privateeye.gif

15-11-03, 21:18
ooh... expiration trial. http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/yuck.gif Can you not just totally wipe it from disc then reinstall it when the time's up? :confused: That's what I do with downloaded programs when they expire, anyway

15-11-03, 21:23
doesn't always work Geck

[ 15. November 2003, 22:31: Message edited by: neil4768 ]

15-11-03, 21:25
click here (http://www.3dkingdom.org/modules.php?op=modload&name=PNphpBB2&file=viewtopic&p=12243)
i know its possible, but i dun wanna do that. its knida unfair. on the other hand im not gonna get any profit... well ill consider that ;) (damn im turning to a baddie http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/tongue.gif )

15-11-03, 21:31
If you can't see it now, you'll have to come back later I think. I've got 5MB bandwidth with my image hoster, and this is about 80KB, and it's also posted elsewhere. So be patient, or give up. I don't really mind which you do. ;) http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/bash.gif

15-11-03, 21:33
LOL your picture does work Geck ,I was refring to delelting the trial program and reloading it again.

15-11-03, 21:34
lol OK, but I'm just warning about the picture to those who come on later ;)

16-11-03, 07:01
I'm making Lara's MANSION on 3ds max4!!! Soon I'll
post some images! The mansion style is TR3 house+Tomb Raider Movie house, but its look great so far, I'm working on first floor now! http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/wave.gif
(so far there are used 917 planes)

16-11-03, 10:04
COOL!!! http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/jumper.gif I hope your computer's fast enough to do it! :eek:

16-11-03, 12:22
YES it is! AMD Athalon XP 2100+ with 1800Mhz!!!
So far its allright! (now there are 1102 planes)
I made stairs! http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/smile.gif