PDA

View Full Version : Anyone notice the new Windows Update?


tlr online
30-07-05, 21:31
MS now requires live authentication of your product before it allows you to download updates. Or does it?!

Windows Genuine Advantage cracked (http://www.theregister.co.uk/2005/07/29/wga_cracked/)

Apofiss
30-07-05, 21:49
If you use 'avast! SE' then there is no need for any security updates at all, LOL. :D

Interesting news.

[ 30. July 2005, 22:51: Message edited by: Apofiss ]

tlr online
30-07-05, 22:03
Avast? Is that an o/s?

Apofiss
30-07-05, 23:00
Originally posted by tlr online:
Avast? Is that an o/s? No, it's anti-virus program. I'm using it for 4 months now and NONE virus, spyware, worm, trojan or anything else hadn't get through it, AND I mean NONE.

Neteru
31-07-05, 10:38
Yes, I noticed the day before yesterday when I went there.

ELEN
31-07-05, 11:14
I have a question. The last time I installed Win XP, it didn't let me to activate the product via the internet. I got a message that said that I exceeded the amount of times I could do that and I should buy a new product key. Is this normal? :confused:

Mark Garcia
31-07-05, 11:23
Sounds like someone has used your product key before. I recsll reading somewhere that you can install WXP only a few times.

ELEN
31-07-05, 11:31
No-one had my XP CD. I used it though about 4 times, which means I activated the product online about 4 times (maybe 5). But my PC had a problem and I had to format. This is not the case... Why do I have to buy a new product key again? This is not fair... :(

Mark Garcia
31-07-05, 11:34
Perhaps someome used a keygenerator and it generated the same key as you have in order to install an illegal copy.

[ 31. July 2005, 12:36: Message edited by: : Mark : ]

ELEN
31-07-05, 11:40
wtf? http://instagiber.net/smiliesdotcom/cwm/3dlil/eek13.gif

Mark Garcia
31-07-05, 11:47
http://support.microsoft.com/

Neteru
31-07-05, 11:59
You don't have to buy a new key Elen. Contact Microsoft.

ELEN
31-07-05, 12:05
I hope so Net. Thanks Mark http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/wave.gif

Mark Garcia
31-07-05, 12:09
No problem Eleni. I hope you can install WXP again for free, if you plan to phone them, do it when you get desperate, because you will have to pay for the support request (my father had to call several times at work).

ELEN
31-07-05, 12:22
I'm not going to pay, even a cent :mad: They will better activate my product, or I'll.... umm... I'll... never use a Microsoft product again!!!! Oh God.... I'll have to get rid of my keyboard and mouse too :D

[ 31. July 2005, 13:26: Message edited by: ELEN ]

Mark Garcia
31-07-05, 12:43
LOL! I installed Linux on my other HDD. It's pretty good, like Windows in some aspects. You can even execute Windows applications with an emulator. But the best of all is that Linux is free.

BTW. There is a Tomb Raider version for Linux too. http://openraider.sourceforge.net/

Nicky
31-07-05, 13:59
Elen, yesterday I installed my XP for a fourth time (after one more format). Because I didn't have an internet connection on the PC yet, I did the activation via the phone, calling the telephone number of Microsoft Hellas for activating programs. It's a very easy automatic procedure and it's free of charge. Maybe try doing this.

They are giving one more number (which is with charge), but there's no reason to call that one http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/wave.gif

[ 31. July 2005, 15:11: Message edited by: Nicky ]

ELEN
31-07-05, 14:26
Nicky, I know you can do it via phone too (it was the second option apart from internet), but I was thinking that if my first product key is "blocked", they will know.

Also, if what tlr says at the beginning is true, I'll definitely need the online activation.

Anyway, I'm not going to do anything atm. This PC is old and I'm getting a new one (once I return from my vacations). So, I'll contact Microsoft and ask them.

Thanks everyone http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/wave.gif

[ 31. July 2005, 15:28: Message edited by: ELEN ]

Henhead
31-07-05, 16:46
I have had that a few times after reinstalling mine, I got it working by registering at the same time of activating.

I installed a virtual CD7 the other day and I got a message that I have changed the hardware significantly since I first installed windows, and had to reactivate windows within 3 days.

All I added is a TV card, and installed two different DVD writers as the first one died after a few months, plus installing a virtual drive. Itís not as if I changed my motherboard or processor, Microsoft sucks!

Thorn
31-07-05, 16:59
Windows is the devil. Switch to OSX. http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/tongue.gif

Mark Garcia
31-07-05, 17:20
Yeah, I've heard Apple is going to release an OSX version for Intel processors. I'm seriously thinking of getting OSX now.

Joseph
01-08-05, 00:36
Elen, your pc broke, didn't it? And i guess recently you installed your Windows XP cd onto another (older) pc (while you're awaiting your newest pc)?
If so, the reason is this: on your current (older)pc, all hardware has changed since the last time you activated (your previous, broke pc). Therefore a telephone (personal talk) activation is required, normal procedure.

[ 01. August 2005, 01:41: Message edited by: joseph ]

Joseph
01-08-05, 00:40
Windows XP activation is exclusively related to your hardware. Not to your person.

If i would change my motherboard, cpu and memory in this pc i am using right now, i would probably have to activate by phone also. There is a list explaining, it is based on 'points' for hardware changes.

Meaning: installing the same XP version (code) onto another pc = 100% hardware change. So, no automated activation possible, but personal (explaining) telephone procedure.

[ 01. August 2005, 01:45: Message edited by: joseph ]