PDA

View Full Version : TR1 on XP, once again...


Kamrusepas
12-05-05, 06:17
Hullo. I've been reading the threads here, but they haven't been on any help.

So, I have all "regular" TRs from 1 to 6. Only 3 and 6 worked, but I just a while ago got TLR working with one of the patches.

But, as for TR1: I've downloaded Glidos, the Advanced Installer and the vdmsound. It's still not working.

Bokkie
12-05-05, 07:31
What's the problem with starting TR1 on your computer Kamrusepas?

Kamrusepas
12-05-05, 07:53
It won't install it. It gives the same error message as here:

Originally posted by Tichmarsh:

http://img107.echo.cx/img107/7072/doserror3vt.jpg (http://www.imageshack.us)

Bokkie
12-05-05, 08:14
Have you try to restart the computer after installing VDMSound?

Kamrusepas
12-05-05, 10:54
Yah.

Simulation
12-05-05, 10:55
Hi Kamrusepas,

I think you may either be missing the file autoexec.NT or the setting in the file are not suitable.

Start Notepad and open c:\windows\system32\autoexec.nt

If you get the message "File not found" then we need to create this file.
If you do open the file can you paste the contents into a reply post in this thread.

Joseph
12-05-05, 13:59
Kamrusepas, the other thread where you got that image from? Well, i answered Tichmarsh, how can you have missed that?

Anyway, do as Simulation suggests.

Kamrusepas
12-05-05, 18:44
Yeah, file not found.
So what next? http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/smile.gif

Simulation
12-05-05, 21:21
O.K.

You can do one of two things.

Read this page (http://simulation.tombraiderforums.com/trhub/tr2/ms16bit.html) which tells you how to fix the problem.

or

Run this which script file (http://simulation.tombraiderforums.com/trhub/download/16bitdos.cmd) will fix the problem automatically. When asked to Open or Save, select Open to run the script.

Once this is done try installing again.

coSTAR
13-05-05, 16:41
i had this problem myself but with tr2
all i had to do was go to

C:\WINDOWS\REPAIR\AUTOEXEC.NT copy that file into System 32

C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32

coSTAR

Kamrusepas
16-05-05, 05:08
Originally posted by Simulation:

Run this which script file (http://simulation.tombraiderforums.com/trhub/download/16bitdos.cmd) will fix the problem automatically. When asked to Open or Save, select Open to run the script.

Once this is done try installing again. That didn't work... :(

Bokkie
16-05-05, 07:26
Kamrusepas, a new version of TR1 Advanced Installer has been released. You need to download the latest version, it fixes the problem you have. Click HERE (http://www.tombraiderforums.com/cgi-bin/ultimatebb.cgi?ubb=get_topic;f=1;t=000763).

Kamrusepas
16-05-05, 16:26
Oh yay, it worked! Thanks to everyone :D

Next up: TR2.........

Bokkie
16-05-05, 17:44
Great Kamrusepas, well done http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/thumb.gif