PDA

View Full Version : New VIA AGP Drivers (or Not?)


Paulie
11-10-04, 13:18
On my usual stroll around the Internet I decided to see if VIA had updated their Hyperion 4in1 Drivers (www.viaarena.com). They have, and the latest version is 4.53 ( I am currently using 4.51).

On the driver download page I was advised to read the article reproduced below. This could provide some useful information for people like myself who are using Windows XP SP2 and a VIA Chipset.

The main thrust of the article seems to be that if you are using Windows XP SP2, with any 4in1 drivers previous to 4.53 you should expect to have graphical problems. http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/yikes.gif

The Article:-

Microsoft Windows XP Service Pack 2 (SP2) users - please note:

AGP driver recommendation:

To deliver a quality user experience, a universal standard for AGP drivers, UAGP35, is being adopted by all chipset vendors with AGP 3.5-capable hardware. VIA have worked with Microsoft on this issue for a long time and continue to do so. There are many VIA AGP3.0/3.5 devices which are supported in SP2. VIA's AGP driver contained in the latest Hyperion 4in1 drivers will work properly with Windows SP2, however, the default Microsoft driver is recommended. Please follow the advice below, depending on whether you are installing WinXP and SP2 on a clean system or installing SP2 on top of WinXP SP1.

Clean system install:

(1) Install Windows XP

(2) Install SP2

(3) Install VIA Hyperion 4in1 4.53 driver but untick the AGP driver so that it is not installed.

System Upgrade:

If your system already has Windows XPSP1 installed and the VIA Hyperion 4in1 4.53 driver then:

1) Install SP2

2) Install VIA Hyperion 4in1 4.53 driver

3) Uninstall the VIA AGP driver. Go to Control Panel > System > Hardware > Device Manager > VIA CPU to AGP Controller > Driver > Uninstall.

4) Restart the PC. SP2 will automatically install the UAGP (Microsoft default driver).

By removing the VIA AGP driver you will then be using the recommended Microsoft default AGP driver from SP2.

More information:

Microsoft has initiated a standardized way of programming and manipulating the AGP driver. In summary, Microsoft are concerned that vendor-specific drivers may define different page table entry (PTE) formats for GART, choose different register layouts for their AGP target (motherboard) devices and invalid GART entries could cause AGP-related system instability, such as memory corruption. Detailed information can be found here. VIA continuously works with Microsoft to provide the best possible experience for users of both products.

Bokkie
11-10-04, 21:12
I have installed Via Hyperion 4.53 on Windows XP SP2 without any problems. However, my friend had a lot of problems on his laptop with Via 4.53 and XP SP2, so he had to back to Windows 2000 http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/yikes.gif

Simulation
11-10-04, 21:46
Thanks for the info Paulie http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/smile.gif

One of my pc's at work uses 4in1 and I recently updated to SP2. I haven't seen any problems, but it's worth knowing.

SpArKy
11-10-04, 22:41
Sorry fro my ignorance, but whats Via 4.53?

Bokkie
11-10-04, 22:51
It's a VIA chipset driver version 4.53 ;)

Paulie
11-10-04, 23:10
Like I said I came across the info more or less by accident.

I am having a little trouble with my graphics at the moment. PC applications cause me no problems but games are a different matter.

I have an nVidia GeForce FX5700LE 256MB and on TR2-5 I get spurious green flashes which I take to be corrupted lighting effects. And if I dare mention them (lol) Broken Sword 3 won't run at all and Indiana Jones and the Emperor's Tomb stutters and stalls all over the place and loses textures.

I was hoping that the info I found would help me out but it didn't. :(

Since I had exhausted all of my other ideas, I pulled my FX5700LE out and fitted an old GeForce MX400 128Mb that I had in the garage. This cured all of my problems.

What does this prove? That my 5700LE is faulty or simply that the games I am playing are not compatible with the 5700LE.

It's not a problem for me to get a new card, but is there a newer nVidia card that could do the job for me? :confused:

[ 12. October 2004, 00:10: Message edited by: Paulie ]

Paulie
12-10-04, 09:55
After careful consideration I've decided to get an nVidia GeForce 6800 GT 256MB.

I'll let you know how I get on. http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/smile.gif

[ 12. October 2004, 16:49: Message edited by: Paulie ]

Paulie
13-10-04, 14:20
My nVidia 6800GT is superb, in fact I'm running it overclocked so that it is better than an Ultra. :D

TR2-TR5 working fine. TR1 (under Glidos) will get to the menu screen but crashes to a black screen if I try to load a game or start a new one. Oh well! :rolleyes:

Paulie
17-10-04, 11:39
I've solved the problems I was having. It wasn't a Glidos problem, it was nVidia's problem.

I downloaded and installed the latest beta driver (66.81) from ftp://download.nvidia.com/Windows/ and now everything is fine. http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/jumper.gif