PDA

View Full Version : no scene music at all even with glidos 1.30


ndavey1
04-11-04, 18:36
Hi,
I love tomb raider 1 and I have the sold out version but there is no music throughout the game and the music is essential. I have the audio pack installed in the glidos 1.30 folder but when I run the game the normal sounds work, but no ambience music.
Please help!!!!!
Thanks,
Nathan.

Joseph
04-11-04, 18:46
Hi ndavey1. You mean the Playstation audiopack (http://www.glidos.net/audio.html) ?

ndavey1
04-11-04, 18:56
Hi,
Thanks for your reply. Yes the playstation audio pack. I have unpacked it and it is in the glidos folder but still I have no music. I really want the music. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks,
Nathan.

Joseph
04-11-04, 22:13
Ndavey1, which Operating System you use? WinXP? ME? 98?
Did you install TR1 with the Advanced installer and VDMSound before you installed Glidos?
And have you enabled digital audio?

http://joseph.tombraiderforums.com/Images/cdplayer2.gif

ndavey1
05-11-04, 06:46
Thanks for the reply. I am an advanced user running xp home sp2. I used the windows installer for tomb raider and installed vdm and glidos 1.30. All the files from the playstation audio pack are in the glidos folder and are working (in wmp), but when I run Glidos, there are just sound effects and no music.
I can't work it out.
Thanks,
Nathan.

Neteru
05-11-04, 10:25
From THIS (http://www.glidos.net/audio.html?lang=en) page:

"You will need v1.29 of Glidos to make this work. There may also be some teething problems with the scene descriptions. They may get missed in some circumstances, and may get spuriously triggered in others; let me know, giving save positions if possible, and I can enhance them until the work flawlessly."

Whether the first part means you have to have version 1.29 or that as a minimum version is debatable, but the rest of the text would seem to imply that the sounds are not guaranteed to work (even with the correct version of Glidos).

Joseph
05-11-04, 10:57
Good Morning Net http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/wave.gif ndavey1 http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/wave.gif
The strange thing is, the soundpackage worked on my pc! I don't have the SoldOut version, i use the original TR1. Glidos version 1.29.
I don't really like this soundpackage, as there are too much howdeyasay, mmm..., announcing, illustrating music effects. I absolutely prefer the more austere original pc version sound. I cannot agree with the people who miss the playstation sound. But that's not the issue here, the issue is that ndavey1 doesn't hear the music sounds even though he has installed them.
I am checking right now, if i still have this package installed or have to do it over... i'll be back. http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/wave.gif

[ 05. November 2004, 12:51: Message edited by: joseph ]

Joseph
05-11-04, 11:33
Well, it just works here. Playstation sound n'all. http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/thumb.gif http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/c-3.gif
I must say now, hearing these extra sounds again, i am beginning to like them. Hearing them seperately in WMP, i like them very much, they ARE beautiful sounds & music. Maybe it is the two "Tension" tracks i don't like to appear in the game: when they appear, apparently to 'heighten' the tension before an attack, their effect to me is just the opposite, 'overdone'. I just liked the silence there, it's more spooky.
Now back to your problem, ndavey1.
errrh....
Well the SoldOut version does not HAVE the ambient soundtracks. I am confused why Paul Gardiner (Glidos) says that this package is meant for the SoldOut version.
ndavey1, i think you need to read THIS PAGE, (http://www.tombraiderforums.com/tr1walk/trso_sound.html) and follow the steps to burn yourself the audioreplacement cd.
After you done that, you will have:
</font> The ingame sounds that are part of the game data (these are correct and normal working in the SoldOut version)</font> But you will also have the 9 soundtracks that also can be played in WMP (the tracks you will have downloaded and burnt on cd).</font> And this playstation soundpackage.</font>I admit that i'm assuming here, that your playstation soundpackage IS already working, only you haven't really noticed yet because they are only triggered at some places. The LOT that you miss, is the main soundpackage which is missing on the SoldOut version.
But could it be possible that your VDMSound-settings are wrong?
On this page (http://www.tombraiderforums.com/cgi-bin/ultimatebb.cgi?ubb=get_topic;f=11;t=001171;p=11) i describe how to install with the Advanced Installer, and VdmSound.
And on this page (http://www.tombraiderforums.com/cgi-bin/ultimatebb.cgi?ubb=get_topic;f=11;t=001171;p=18) i configure the sound in VDMSound.
On this page (http://www.tombraiderforums.com/cgi-bin/ultimatebb.cgi?ubb=get_topic;f=11;t=001171;p=20) i explain more about the sounds not working on some PC's.

[ 05. November 2004, 12:48: Message edited by: joseph ]

Joseph
05-11-04, 17:51
Oh! And also don't forget to check THIS PAGE (http://simulation.tombraiderforums.com/) too! http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/thumb.gif http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/tongue.gif

ndavey1
09-11-04, 06:29
Hi,
I have now created a music cd as per Joseph's instructions and it has worked brilliantly. Thank you very much for all your help.
Nathan.

Joseph
09-11-04, 07:36
* cough* the credits for that page with the audio-replacement cd instructions go to Simulation (and jjohn). http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/thumb.gif

Congratulations, ndavey1, i'm very happy for you. Enjoy raiding! :cool: