PDA

View Full Version : TR2 Music tracks damaged


JasonDavies15
26-11-04, 14:15
The title tracks of TR2 and some ambient music files are corrupt when played to the end. Does anyone else have this problem? It sounds so scratched and unpleasant :(

Zebius
26-11-04, 14:41
Hi! I suggest to make a back-up copy on CD-RW disc by Nero or another CD recording program and check if there is any difference. If you will not be able to make a copy (due to some error during copying) - your disc is damaged, scratched or dirty...
If you hear no change - maybe something's wrong with your soundcard drivers.
Another possible explanation: TR2 doesn't work with Windows XP perfectly. On my system I can hear some cracks during playing movies. This happens also in TR1 movies.

Joseph
26-11-04, 16:35
Jason, do you have the Sold Out version or the original version?
Zebius' suggestions are very good. http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/thumb.gif

May i add: TR2 in XP has to be played in Compatibility mode.
Start / All Programs / Core Design / Tombraider2 / Play. Rightclick on the Play shortcut, choose Properties / Compatibility tab, and choose "Win 98/ME compatibility mode".
Also, to play the game: when cd is in tray, always exit the autoplay, en start the game via the abovementioned path, -or copy the shortcut to your desktopand play it from there. Never via autoplay.

It should play ok now.

[ 26. November 2004, 19:27: Message edited by: joseph ]

Simulation
27-11-04, 01:13
TR2 is a mixed mode CD, so you can play it just like a normal music CD. Try it out on a normal CD player to see if it plays OK. You can also use Windows Media Player.

Assuming the music tracks are damaged there are instructions (http://www.tombraiderhub.com/tr1/trso_sound.html) available on how to create a replacement by downloading the music and burning a new CD. Perhaps just download the Audio files to compare the quality?

P.S. Sold Out TR2 are normally OK.

JasonDavies15
27-11-04, 11:32
Nope I have the Tomb Raider II Golden Mask premier collection, the disc is not scratched at all, and yes i once had the sold out version of the game and i do remember that the title track was buggy as well, I must think that it was somekind of recording error! Try making an audio cd at 8x and you will see what i mean! all the songs will play buggy and rushed in some parts! My tomb raider collection has 2 sold out versions TR1 and TRChronicles, the rest i have premier collection Lost artefact, and last revelation. TR1 gold, however, runs of the TR1 disc. Not to mention that there are blank audio tracks on the cd, so no title music! I have always played TR1 on the PC with just SFX running from VDMSound, i don;t have glidos because it just doesn't work!

TR2 i think is just a recording error IMO

Zebius
27-11-04, 11:59
Hi! Have you read all previous posts? Have you tried all what we've said? What are the results?

Now about TR1:
Click on the link in Simulation's post and you will find out how to make TR1 replacement CD with audio tracks included. It's much better to play with those atmospheric sounds. And if Glidos is not working for you, try freeware dgvoodoo. I wrote an instruction how to use it in 'TR1 on XP and free 3D acceleration' thread.

JasonDavies15
27-11-04, 12:07
Yes i have, i have already done compatibility mode, and yes even TR2 works on media player and my walkman with buggy recording errors.

With TR1 i had a cd with tr1 music on, but the game would not play the music whatsoever. Even i could play the tr1 music from the disc in media player and play tr1 and the music would still be playing. I think the game wont allow tr1 to work with music, i have everything in the book, changing drive letters, installing vdmsound numerous times, inserting an audio cable from my top cd drive to my on board sound card, installing the game though advanced installer, and nothing works!!!! I don't play TR1 in glidos so to me this is just a miracle to get the game to work with music!!

Zebius
27-11-04, 13:42
Do you still have that TR1 CD with music?
Check if you have sapucdex.exe and sapucdex.dll in your VDMSound directory, they are necessary for most computers for playing music in TR1. If you are interested I can help you with that.

Joseph
27-11-04, 15:13
This thread's topic is about TR2... http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/whistle.gif
But now we are talking about TR1: on this page (http://www.tombraiderforums.com/cgi-bin/ultimatebb.cgi?ubb=get_topic;f=11;t=001171;p=11) i describe how to install with the Advanced Installer, and VdmSound.
And on this page (http://www.tombraiderforums.com/cgi-bin/ultimatebb.cgi?ubb=get_topic;f=11;t=001171;p=18) i configure the sound in VDMSound. You NEED to configure the sound, because you will have 4 - 6 options for sound, not all working well.

Note that i used the latest version (2.1.0) of VDMSound , which includes Sapucdex.exe and Sapucdex.dll.