PDA

View Full Version : Laptop Kyboad Poblm!


SpArKy
28-11-04, 12:08
No i nv splt it ong, this shold b a challng. My kybod has gon on this laptop :S

And i dont kno if i am abl to pll laptop kys off?

O if indd yo can, i dont kno hats ong, bt i think somthing has bn spilt on it.

Mark Garcia
28-11-04, 12:15
:D I don't really know if you are joking or not. Anyway, you can use the Character Map until you fix the problem. Go to Start Accessories System Tools Character Map.

SpArKy
28-11-04, 12:18
I wish i was http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/yikes.gif

JUst foUnd it thanks!

SpArKy
28-11-04, 13:16
Well as temperary solution i have just nipped out and bought one from Maplins for 4.99, i also bought a PS2 - USB convertor as my mouse already uses the PS2 port, but unfortunately windows does not recognise the device so i will try find some drivers online now.

SpArKy
28-11-04, 19:17
Can anyone find me a driver for this device;
PS2 - USB converter, its at bottom of the list! (http://www.maplin.co.uk/Module.aspx?ModuleNo=33543&TabID=1&source=15&WorldID=&doy=28m11)

Neteru
29-11-04, 04:36
If it needed a specific driver it would come with a disk surely. It's just an adapter yes? So the only drivers would be for the keyboard and/or mouse you plug in (which would most likely be generic drivers that XP would install when it recognises that you've plugged such devices in).

Simulation
29-11-04, 11:42
Hi Sparky,

If yoy are still having trouble try this:-

Open the Hardware Device manager and open Keyboards. Right mouse click on the keyboard and select Uninstall from the context menu. Reboot the PC and Windows will "Find new hardware" and reinstall the drivers.

SpArKy
29-11-04, 16:58
Thanks no it doesnt work, everytime i stick the device in it says that it has malfunctioned and windows does not recognise it!

Faulty maybe?

SpArKy
29-11-04, 17:00
Infact the keybaord in which i am using right now is not displayed in the hard ware tab, but is working fine, but it was very cheap from maplins, like 4.99.

Its just annoying having to lean over to use my mousepad as my mouse is PS2 also, and i also have only have one PS2 connection.

SpArKy
29-11-04, 17:03
Is there a way to pull the laptop keys off, maybe i could try clean them, it is only the QWERU buttons affected. I have found a new keyboardon ebay which looks good, but do i dare take my laptop apart, it is still under warantee i think, but not insurance, i dont know if it is malfuntion or something has been spilt on it, would the technician fixing it know if it were, and could i deny it, as so i dont have to pay for it to be repaired, i really cart afford to pay for it to be fixed.

Simulation
29-11-04, 20:03
If you think it might just be dirt under the keys try an air spray (http://www.office-world.co.uk/livp/webliv.pgm/wwgoto=web503/wwsku=135829/wwtab=SHOP/wwsubmenu=1/wwcatg=001090000000/wwsearch=air), but to be honest it sounds a little more serious.

SpArKy
29-11-04, 20:22
Originally posted by Simulation:
If you think it might just be dirt under the keys try an air spray (http://www.office-world.co.uk/livp/webliv.pgm/wwgoto=web503/wwsku=135829/wwtab=SHOP/wwsubmenu=1/wwcatg=001090000000/wwsearch=air), but to be honest it sounds a little more serious.Thanks, but i think you are right, i just hope it is not going to cost much to repair.

Neteru
30-11-04, 04:41
Well if it's still under warranty and it's a fault not of your own causing, it won't cost anything (but postage if you have to post it). Otherwise, well, it won't be as much as a new laptop.

Scottlee
30-11-04, 12:16
Hey! Mine is working fine again this morning! Can't believe it!

SpArKy
30-11-04, 12:40
Originally posted by Scottlee:
Hey! Mine is working fine again this morning! Can't believe it!Hey stop rubbing it in and get out my thread, lmao. :eek:

http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/tongue.gif

Tut. carnt believe it, i dont know if it were my little sister who spilt something on it, i honestly am un-aware as she is obviously not going to own up. Would they now, if something had been spilt on it, i think they would wouldnt they.

Thing is i carnt afford to have it sent away, i have important files i need and am working on currently. Tut i hate dilemmas, i am one to just think to hell with it all, but in htis situation i suppose i just cannot http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/bash.gif

SpArKy
16-12-04, 20:44
Hi guys i still need help with this Converter device above, i just need a driver, people keep telling me left right and center windows should just detect it but it doesnt, it needs a driver, and i just carnt find one on the web. with my stupid research techniques.
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v305/SpArKy18/driverproblem.jpg

SpArKy
17-12-04, 16:31
Orr my dad bought me a wireless keyboard and mouse from Netto, lmao. For 20...right bargan, now i am on the dole.
But guess what, the wireless bass station thing is two PS/2 connectors, lmao. And i only have on for my Laptop. FIGURES

SpArKy
17-12-04, 17:05
Does a device exist out there that would intake two PS/2 units then out put to one USB connecion, there must be. Does anyone know of one out there? http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/c-3.gif

Neteru
17-12-04, 19:04
Yes, they're called USB hubs. You can get them pretty cheap now too. I have a Belkin 7 port hub.

SpArKy
17-12-04, 19:12
Mmm, i have two USB - USB 4 port hubs, so would i need a PS/2 - USB Hub maybe, could you show a linky?

Neteru
17-12-04, 19:39
Sorry Sparky, thick moment. I only read 'USB' and didn't see PS/2 at all :rolleyes: Ignore my previous post. I know of no such device you ask about, and I doubt such a one exists.

[ 17. December 2004, 20:41: Message edited by: Neteru ]

SpArKy
17-12-04, 19:56
Originally posted by Neteru:
Sorry Sparky, thick moment. I only read 'USB' and didn't see PS/2 at all :rolleyes: Ignore my previous post. I know of no such device you ask about, and I doubt such a one exists.Well sparkys found one on Ebay;
i have stolen your IQ, haha http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/tongue.gif

USB - PS/2 Convertor (http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=5148522872&fromMakeTrack=true)

Neteru
17-12-04, 20:11
I think you must have. You know what's even worse? How do you think my cordless desktop connects? http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/redface.gif :D

SpArKy
18-12-04, 12:28
Originally posted by Neteru:
I think you must have. You know what's even worse? How do you think my cordless desktop connects? http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/redface.gif :D Ha ha really, i went out last night, and this manager, was flirting with me, he asked if i could "be the star on his christmas tree", tut please.
Anyway where did you get your adaptor from ihave been hunting all day and cannot find one. Been to Maplins Currys Dixons, PC world.
I will just have to buy he one above and wait, but i am so impatient!

SpArKy
18-12-04, 13:14
Back to he first problem, Net please could you find mea driver for the Little PS/2 - USB convertor, it just keeps saying this, and i have replaced the item once, i just need a driver, it says in device manger that i need driver, because there isnt one installed for it.
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v305/SpArKy18/driverproblem4.jpg

Neteru
18-12-04, 19:38
My adapter came with my desktop set.

About the driver. I can't find one. I looked when you first posted, and again when you posted again. I honestly don't get why you need a driver at all.

Joseph
18-12-04, 22:24
I don't get t either. I'm only guessing that it is a device that is connected to your computer VIA this cable that needs drivers.

Joseph
18-12-04, 22:26
And that is what Windows says (according to your pics): the device needs drivers, not the cable. I have never heard of a cable needing drivers before.

SpArKy
19-12-04, 10:32
Mmm would screen shots or anything help?
It seems when i just plug the little device in, with no leads attached it doesnt work and i get these messages that pop up constantly as shown overleaf.

So when i go to Device Manager, i get this;

IMAGE (http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v305/SpArKy18/unknowndevice.jpg)