PDA

View Full Version : And another question....


Gabi
09-12-04, 14:34
I just wanted to free some space on the hard disc and noticed various unticked options:

Office Setup Files
Old Chkdsk Files :confused: (what on earth are these???)
Window 98/ME Installation Files
Backup Files for previous Operating Systems

Is it possible to safely delete those, or will I permanently get rid of something that we might still need at a later point? http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/redface.gif

Joseph
09-12-04, 17:00
</font> Office Setup Files. Delete them. If Office is running OK, these 'setup files' (used during the installation process) are not needed anymore. When deleting, a menu will come up saying: "this is a setup file, very important or the program cannot be installed.." or similar. Don't worry: you already HAVE it installed. Delete.</font> Old Chkdsk Files (what on earth are these???)these are copied files "Checkdisk" made before fixing bad files it found, and / or logfiles. If your pc is running ok and you are not interested in these files, delete them.</font> Window 98/ME Installation Files. You are running XP as an upgrade over WindowsME. If you ever decide to go back to WinME (for some reason, -which you don't have- ;) ) these files will be used. So, delete.</font> Backup Files for previous Operating Systems. idem. Delete.</font>http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/wave.gif

[ 09. December 2004, 17:02: Message edited by: joseph ]

Joseph
09-12-04, 17:03
Oh, and GABI: empty you garbage bin!
And delete your Temporary Internet Files.
http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/wave.gif

Gabi
09-12-04, 17:05
Thank you, Joseph

I thought so, but I wanted to be sure before I did something irreversible.
http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/wave.gif

Gabi
09-12-04, 17:06
Originally posted by joseph:
Oh, and GABI: empty you garbage bin!
And delete your Temporary Internet Files.
http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/wave.gif Oh, these were already ticked, ready to go ;)

Neteru
09-12-04, 17:20
By using the Disk Cleanup utility (Start Menu/All Programs/Accessories/System Tools) you can delete all but your last System Restore point (and often save a good deal of space - I just saved 2GB the other day).

[ 09. December 2004, 17:21: Message edited by: Neteru ]

Joseph
09-12-04, 18:21
O yeah, very good point Net! http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/thumb.gif ( 2 GB! :eek: !!!)

Neteru
09-12-04, 18:53
hehe, well, I make lots of Restore Points Joseph. Before every installation, and program update and before and after (if I make changes) every scan I perform. That way, should anything go wrong, I can really choose the optimal Restore Point. :D Um, maybe a bit too efficient, but hey, better safe than sorry. http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/smile.gif