PDA

View Full Version : Best Antivirus software?


Anubis_AF
02-01-05, 12:08
I have bought McAfee VirusScan on CD and installed it since you can only download the free trial from the internet. But is there a better Antivirus software?

[ 02. January 2005, 13:09: Message edited by: Anubis_AF ]

Zebius
02-01-05, 18:05
I use the best free antivirus - Avast! Home Edition.
http://www.avast.com
You just have to register for free.

I love free software. http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/thumb.gif

Quiver.
04-01-05, 20:21
I use Norton Internet Security.....

And it make my computer very SLOW :mad:

Apofiss
04-01-05, 20:49
Norton AntiVirus 2005 - very good one! http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/thumb.gif

Chug a Bug
20-02-05, 13:55
Kaspersky is probably the best around with it's holistic approach to virus detection but it's expensive. AVG is very good and it's FREE. If you just want to scan for viruses you can do it online via Trend or Panda. http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/smile.gif

[ 20. February 2005, 15:09: Message edited by: Chug a Bug ]

Apofiss
20-02-05, 18:57
I must admit that the best is 'AntiVir', it's for free (I think, it came with MB's installation disk), it doesn't use a lot of PC resources (I noticed that NortonAV 05 uses a lot of RAM), free updates and almoust 100K protections [in its database] from viruses, worms and stuff like that.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v258/Rihards/antivir.jpg

Anubis_AF
20-02-05, 19:23
Thanks for advices. http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/hug.gif

ELEN
20-02-05, 20:00
I'm using Norton (Corporate Edition specifically). It's very good.

Good chance to update now :D

Grandizer
20-02-05, 20:10
I use AntiVir Personal Edition like Apofiss.
Free, doesn't consume much resources, on duty since more than a year on my PC and never failed http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/smile.gif

Joseph
20-02-05, 21:46
I use Norton, just like ELEN. I use it for 4 years now. Before that, i used McAfee. Both top, very reliable, very good program interface, very good service, they cost some, and are a heavy load on the Operating System. There you are. :(
Grandizer's Anti-Vir, seems to be very good as well (he says so. ;) ). And is very light to the system. Btw i don't know why these programs differ in these.

Now to the topic's question i'd like to say this. I've seen some tests on antivirus applications. I'm remembering a test of mid-last year. The results gave winners and losers of course, because of the test's subject: 'which one is the best overall?'

How did they do the test? They did it in a 'laboratory' (it's their word :D ), and bombarded the test-systems with ALL known varieties of viruses, worms, activeX sneekies etc, you name it. I mean: including all types of malicient code known to man.
Sadly for the freeware: they scored not very good, they didn't see the nastiest (and the rarest). Norton and McAfee came out as 'average' (they caught 80 - 85 %) I believe Kaspersky and Panda scored better, and the winner was Denda which caught 100%! But was the heaviest to the system of all!
Moral of my story: don't rely 100% on the software and start acting cautiousless 'because you have a virus-scanner', but always use the combination of a virus scanner (having NONE would be totaly rediculous) and sensible behavior. The 'laboratory' situation is not an avarage situation. That way, all virusscanners will do their job to a very good extent of reliability. Plus: Anti-Vir (and some others) are light to the system and that's a great pré.

When my account with Norton is over in a few months, i think i'll switch to a free one. I hate the slow booting Norton causes.

Apofiss
20-02-05, 21:54
"I hate the slow booting Norton causes"

[I meant] 'AntiVir' boots fast and it uses only 7869 KB of RAM. http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/whistle.gif

How much Norton eats? (I had it before, eh used it only for 2 days...don't remember how much MBs it exactly eats)

[ 20. February 2005, 23:26: Message edited by: Apofiss ]

Joseph
20-02-05, 22:15
It's not the Ram, Apofiss. It's the slow booting, the starting up of Norton.

In a normal started up situation like on this moment (sitting still and quiet in the task tray), it says it consumes:
NAVAPSVC.EXE: 4.528 Kb.

So that is not too much.

[ 20. February 2005, 23:17: Message edited by: joseph ]

Apofiss
20-02-05, 22:24
Strange, Norton AV 2005 used atleast 15MB or RAM on mine PC http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/privateeye.gif

Joseph
20-02-05, 22:49
I expanded the columns in TaskManager/Processes. We're now some 30 minutes later, and the Ram usage gives another result. It now says:
NAVAPSVC.EXE: - 8524 Kb and Peak-usage: - 13.368kB

............ http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/privateeye.gif ...........
Anyway, it is obviously not constantly the same value.

[ 20. February 2005, 23:52: Message edited by: joseph ]

Joseph
20-02-05, 22:53
But it is not 'at least 15 Mb' like you say, Apofiss.

Joseph
20-02-05, 22:58
And, at THIS VERY MOMENT, it says again:
NAVAPSVC.EXE: - 4.520 kB (of course, 'Peak level' stays the same because it's history)

What!!! http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/yikes.gif I have only been typing this message, and i see within a few minutes NAVAPSVC.EXE has grown to: - 8.524 kB again!

......... http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/privateeye.gif

Apofiss
20-02-05, 23:03
Originally posted by joseph:
But it is not 'at least 15 Mb' like you say, Apofiss. Yes. It's not, it was for mine PC back then. (it may depend on Windows condition or how new is your NAV05 version (last update), or something else [like beta version which I maybe had])

Anyway 'AntiVir' uses from 7862 - 7892 (KB) during 2 hours.

[ 21. February 2005, 00:04: Message edited by: Apofiss ]

Joseph
20-02-05, 23:14
I see now, my Norton is switching with interval of some 10 minutes from around 4520 kB to 8.500 kB...

(6.836 at this very moment)

Nicky
21-02-05, 04:22
I'm using AntiVir Personal Edition (free). It's light, fast, accurate and never interferes with the system while being on guard all the time http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/thumb.gif

Oh, and it co-operates well with SP2 http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/smile.gif

Joseph
21-02-05, 04:53
Good Morning Nicky. http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/smile.gif

Q1. What do you mean: "never interferes with the system"?
Q2. Do you know such program that does?
Q3. And what might be the reason it does that then?

Nicky
21-02-05, 05:15
Morning, Jo http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/wave.gif http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/smile.gif

Q1. What do you mean: "never interferes with the system"?It's on guard all the time when the PC is working, but it doesn't cause any slowness, it doesn't prevent programs from opening and you don't have to deactivate it in order to do some tasks (like, with some antivirus programs, you have to deactivate them when you want to install or run a game, for instance).

Q2. Do you know such program that does?Yes. Norton Antivirus http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/whistle.gif I know quite a few people here who had it, and it made a mess of their PC. The problems it caused were so many and so serious, that some of those people had to format their HDD and install everything anew - including a new antivirus.

Q3. And what might be the reason it does that then?I don't know. Maybe it requires a specific system configuration so as to work properly?

http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/smile.gif

Joseph
21-02-05, 05:48
Originally posted by Nicky:


It's on guard all the time when the PC is working, but it doesn't cause any slowness, it doesn't prevent programs from opening and you don't have to deactivate it in order to do some tasks (like, with some antivirus programs, you have to deactivate them when you want to install or run a game, for instance).Nicky, i know of NO antivirus program that prevents programs from opening. And it is advisable to always temporarily deactivate the antivirusscanner (be it AntiVir, McAfee, Panda, Kaspersky, Norton, etc) before installing a program or game, not only to free all the Ram, but also because those new programs create changes in the system, places files in Windows that the antivirusscanner might not approve or just hold, which you may not notice depending on the settings in the options of your scanner. I have never seen it prevent. If you talk about a firewall, then you're right: it will raise its voice in error-menus or refuse to give permission for some connections to the internet because many programs will try, or make the browser act strangely (a windows98 problem with "hosts" i know of). Also: depending on your settings in the options of the firewall. The people you're talking about may have had Norton Internet Security (which is a suite of antivirus + firewall + some tools)?

Yes. Norton Antivirus http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/whistle.gif I know quite a few people here who had it, and it made a mess of their PC. The problems it caused were so many and so serious, that some of those people had to format their HDD and install everything anew - including a new antivirus. I have Norton 2004. Never a mess. Had no problem with N2003 as well. Now i remember that version 2002 (or was it 2001?) had a problem adapting to XP, there were some conflicts, issues at that time. Maybe is that it?

I don't know. Maybe it requires a specific system configuration so as to work properly?

http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/smile.gif Really Nicky, since the XP-compatibilty problems of before are solved, all antivirusprograms will work correctly on a well maintained Windows system.

ELEN
21-02-05, 07:21
Thanks for the 'laboratory' thingy, Joseph http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/wave.gif

I guess though that we (the simple users) shouldn't take the results that seriously, because I don't thing we will be bombarded with viruses. I think the companies really need the results of the test. You know what I mean :D

Norton has never caused me troubles. It doesn't slow down my PC (the fact that I don't defrag is worse :D ) and I'm glad to find an "antidote" on Symantec's webpage, every time I get sick http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/tongue.gif Personally, I wouldn't feel better if I used another program. Besides, 80-85% is a good result http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/thumb.gif I've never heard of Denda http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/privateeye.gif

Nicky
21-02-05, 08:08
Hi again, Jo http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/wave.gif

If you knew greek, I would direct you to Techteam.gr, a very good and vivid greek tech community (one of the best here, actually), where you would see how many people do have/had/are having serious problems with Norton (some of them do mention Norton Internet Secutiry, but most of them have Norton itself), and not all of them are XP users (quite a few use 98SE). The majority of the members are people who are dealing with tech stuff professionally, so their input is based on their experience and it's always worthy http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/smile.gif

I'm not saying that Norton is problematic, but that it's not working well on all systems. For the matter, I know many PC users who have encountered problems with it; on the contrary, I've rarely seen any AntiVir user having troubles like that. But the programs may cause problems without this meaning that they have a fault themselves. AVG made a friend's PC to crash tremendously, and bringing back a previous restore point was the only solution then. Now, this doesn't mean that AVG is bad (I know it's one of the best), but that simply something went wrong that probably wouldn't have happened if another antivirus was used in that specific computer; and this was the case, because now that computer has Avast and runs fine.

[ 21. February 2005, 12:19: Message edited by: Nicky ]

EscondeR
21-02-05, 10:12
In the fair battle between Norton AV & Kaspersky AVP wins w/o any doubts... Btw, I use AVP & I'm like it http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/wave.gif

Chug a Bug
22-02-05, 02:58
Originally posted by joseph:
It's not the Ram, Apofiss. It's the slow booting, the starting up of Norton.Which OS are you using Joseph? I used to run Win 2000 and NAV took an age to boot up it was very frustrating. http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/c-1.gif Then when I upgraded to XP the problem disappeared, I just had the usual fast XP boot. http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/privateeye.gif

Joseph
22-02-05, 03:35
I use WinXP Home, Chug a Bug.

Joseph
22-02-05, 03:45
I have 2 application that take much time to startup: </font> The HP Officejet G85/95 software. For this reason, i never let it start up with Windows. When i need to print or scan it still reacts normal anyway.</font> Norton Antivirus 2004. Everything is long ready and present at desktop except one: slowly arrives Norton, like a snake over glue.</font>

[ 22. February 2005, 04:47: Message edited by: joseph ]

Joseph
22-02-05, 06:24
During latest reboot, i noticed that i have been exaggerating here. Norton is not as bad as a snake at all. Maybe it was more the feeling of slowness, because during every boot it is always the last application settling itself next to the clock icon while i'm waiting.

Joseph
22-02-05, 06:27
Maybe install BootVis (http://msdn.microsoft.com/library/default.asp?url=/library/en-us/appendix/hh/appendix/enhancements5_c91a7064-45ec-4e78-bffe-c7327bd28e9c.xml.asp) once again for a report.
http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/privateeye.gif

[ 22. February 2005, 08:30: Message edited by: joseph ]

Anubis_AF
13-05-05, 10:01
I plan on buying Norton 2005.
Meanwhile, does anyone know where I can download free trial from?

Anubis_AF
13-05-05, 11:51
What about WinAntiVirusPro 2005?

» LiNkY (http://www.winantivirus.com/index-pro.php?aid=keyin&lid=keyin)

Zebius
13-05-05, 12:26
HERE (http://www.virus.gr/english/fullxml/default.asp?id=69&mnu=69) is a test of different anti-virus programs.
Pay attention that commercial programs usually require a subscription renewal once a year, which is sometimes quite expensive.
So I prefer using good free anti-virus, and I run on-line anti-virus scanner from time to time. Of course I use firewall and anti-spy software too. I never had any problems with viruses.

Anubis_AF
13-05-05, 13:06
Thanks! :cool: