PDA

View Full Version : Can't Play TR1 on XP.


JackieO
04-02-05, 05:57
Hey. I'm new, so hi to everyone. :]

I have a major issue here. I've tried Voodoo, I've done Microsoft's tips for the .nt files, I've changed the compatibility to pretty much everything on the list, and I don't know what else to try.

With Voodoo installed, it gets to the part saying it's loading "Tomb Raider Original," but then there's an error that flashes away before I can read it at the bottom of the screen, and I'm back at the desktop.

Without Voodoo, it's a black screen that flashes for half a second and then it's back at the desktop.

Now, even WITH Voodoo, it's just a black screen with a white line at the top that flashes away before I can read it.

Help please! :[ I love TR1 and I'll be so upset if I can't play it again.

[ 04. February 2005, 07:01: Message edited by: JackieO ]

EscondeR
04-02-05, 06:35
Hi & welcome (better write also HERE (http://www.tombraiderforums.com/cgi-bin/ultimatebb.cgi?ubb=forum;f=22) ) http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/wave.gif
As fo your prob http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/smile.gif
You must download the following:

VDM Sound (http://www.tombraiderchronicles.com/cgi-bin/downloads2/dl.pl?fx_tr_vdmsound)
Advanced TR Installer by Bokkie (http://www.tombraiderchronicles.com/cgi-bin/downloads2/dl.pl?fx_tr1_installer)
dgVooDoo 1.31 (search for) or Glidos (http://www.tombraiderchronicles.com/cgi-bin/downloads2/dl.pl?tr1_fx_glidos)
And see THIS (http://www.tombraiderchronicles.com/windowsxp.html) page for instructions! http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/wave.gif

Joseph
04-02-05, 10:13
JackyO, which version of TR do you have (the cd)? Original? Gold? SoldOut?

And see THIS PAGE (http://simulation.tombraiderforums.com/) for instructions, rather. ;)

[ 04. February 2005, 11:15: Message edited by: joseph ]

JackieO
04-02-05, 13:42
I used VDM Sound, the advanced installer, and Voodoo, and I used the site EscondeR links to, but I still had trouble.

I have the original CD, I think - I know it's not Gold, and it came in a blue package and it said nothing about being the SoldOut, so I'm pretty sure it's original.

Joseph
04-02-05, 15:14
JackyO, see THIS PAGE (http://www.tombraiderhub.com/tr1/faq.html) http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/thumb.gif

JackieO
05-02-05, 02:45
Thanks again Joseph, but I just decided to install it on my other PC. It works fine, there, the only annoyance being that I have to restart before and after every game play.