PDA

View Full Version : HELPP !! CAN'T RUN PROGRAM


chronicles
13-09-03, 04:22
I bought the Tomb Raider: Angel of Darkness and I installed EVERYTHING. Then when I want to actually RUN the program, it gives me this error that says:

The Following Error has occured

SYS_ERROR_D3D_CREATE_DEVICE

WHAT IS THAT SUPPOSE TO MEAN?! I paid $50 bucks for this!!

ELEN
13-09-03, 04:29
Hello Chronicles http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/wave.gif

Long time to see!!! http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/smile.gif

No need to get mad. Download and install the patch (ftp://ftp.eidos.co.uk/pub/uk//tomb_raider_AOD/patch/TRAOD_PC_PATCH_V49_ALL_LANGUAGES.exe). Post back the results http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/smile.gif

chronicles
13-09-03, 04:49
UGH ELEN ! YOU'RE MY GOD. Haha well I clicked on the link and it gave me this javascript that said too many people were on it. But once I install it, i'll give you back the results. What is it by the way?

chronicles
13-09-03, 04:57
Thanks for the help ELEN but it still has that same error report!!

ELEN
13-09-03, 04:58
It's the latest version of the exe file (V49). Once you download it, replace the one you have.

I tried to download it, but I didn't get the message you got. You can also try from here (http://www.tombraiderchronicles.com/tng/updates.html) (V4.9)

ELEN
13-09-03, 05:07
Umm.... Click here (http://www.eidos.co.uk/support/index.html). It's the main page of Eidos with the downloads. The patch is the first one in the list. Try from here.

chronicles
13-09-03, 05:25
Maybe I did something wrong. [where do i save it to?] Once I download the V.49 file, what do I do with it? Open it right? And after I open it... then what?

chronicles
13-09-03, 10:14
Does anyone know anything I can do?!

Bokkie
13-09-03, 12:56
Download the patch. Double click on TRAOD_PC_PATCH_V49_ALL_LANGUAGES.exe and wait a fuew moments while the patch is unpacked.

When the patch asks to to update the AOD, answer YES http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/smile.gif

chronicles
13-09-03, 22:13
I did that TWICE and it still has that message -_- Am I doing something wrong? Did I save it in a wrong file? I really want to play!

chronicles
13-09-03, 22:15
Is it possible that my computer doesn't have one of the AOD requirements? It should because I've played all the other Tomb Raiders on the same computer. And I have a load of memory left...

chronicles
15-09-03, 00:17
help anyone?? its an emergency

TombCrow
15-09-03, 03:24
First, make sure the checkbox 'enable' is filled in the graphic tab.
Second, set your desktop color depth and "TRAOD-SETTINGS-your graphics card options-Color Depth" to 16bt.
Third,make sure your graphics hardware acceleration slider is set to full.

If these don't work, have a look at here (http://www.eidosinteractive.co.uk/support/faqinfo.html?fqid=226&gmid=134)

I hope these will help. Good luck!

chronicles
15-09-03, 05:57
THANK YOU! I will try and see if this works although I'm not sure I know exactly what you are talking about. THANK YOU though http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/smile.gif

chronicles
15-09-03, 05:59
Where is everything you're talking about? Like, where is the graphic tab? and everything else you said. Its not in the AOD settings. Sorry, I just suck at this.

chronicles
15-09-03, 06:31
I found out it's suppose to be in the AOD SETTINGS but I don't have the graphics card options.

If you want to see what it looks like click these three URLS on the bottom:

settings001 (http://www.angelfire.com/blog/xanguh/TRAOD_settings1.jpg)
settings003 (http://www.angelfire.com/blog/xanguh/TRAOD_settings3.jpg)
settings004 (http://www.angelfire.com/blog/xanguh/TRAOD_settings4.jpg)

TombCrow
15-09-03, 08:56
What's your graphics card? Maybe you need to update your driver first, and reinstall DirectX9 then.

chronicles
16-09-03, 01:33
I don't know where my graphics card is. If it's suppose to be in the settings, then I don't have it. (as you can see in the links. on the tabs, there is no graphics card) and how do I reinstall DirectX? Is it on the CD or the website?

ELEN
16-09-03, 05:00
Chronicles, right click on your desktop, select "Properties", then "Settings" tab. Click on the "Advanced" and then select the "Adapter" tab. Post what it says in the "Adapter Type" and "Adapter Information".

[ 16. September 2003, 06:02: Message edited by: ELEN ]

chronicles
17-09-03, 05:38
it says VGA and the information says unavailable...

TombCrow
17-09-03, 06:34
It seems that your system cant find the graphics card. I'm afraid you can do nothing until you find out what graphics card you are using.

ELEN
17-09-03, 13:21
Ok, right click on "My Computer" and select "Properties". Then, "Hardware" tab and click on "Device Manager". Check the list and locate the "Display Adapters". Click on the plus symbol (+) and right what it says.

Also, what's the Operating System you are running, what's the processor and what's the version of your DirectX??

chronicles
17-09-03, 23:20
I got my VGA graphics card fixed but when I go on AOD settings, it still doesn't give me the Graphics Card Options that the eidos faq site to go on.

After I got my VGA (graphics card) fixed, I tried running the game again but the same error message appeared...

elen; it says SG prosavage... and I just downloaded the DirectX 9.0 from the Eidos website.

steelmartin
17-09-03, 23:28
Hi,

seems like you're one of those with a graphics card that doesn't support T&L. Read this FAQ (http://www.eidosinteractive.co.uk/support/faqinfo.html?fqid=229&gmid=134), the Pro Savage is on the list of cards that can't run AOD. You'll need to get a newer graphics card. Sorry. :(

TombCrow
18-09-03, 02:57
What graphics card do you have,chronicles? Check the manufacturer's website and download the latest drivers there. Don't forget to reinstall DirectX9 after updating your drivers http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/smile.gif

chronicles
18-09-03, 05:54
do i download direct X from the eidos website?

TombCrow
18-09-03, 06:06
You can get directX9a from Disk2 of AOD, or download directX9b from microsoft (http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?FamilyID=141d5f9e-07c1-462a-baef-5eab5c851cf5&displaylang=en). As far as I know, either of them will work.

steelmartin
18-09-03, 15:49
Hello again, Chronicles (and TombCrow)!

I get the feeling my previous mail was overlooked... http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/smile.gif I thought you found out you had a Pro Savage? And in that case I'm afraid Eidos support says it can't run AOD, in this FAQ: TnL Information and Graphics Cards Compatability (http://www.eidosinteractive.co.uk/support/faqinfo.html?fqid=229&gmid=134). Of course you should update all drivers, DirectX etc anyway, just don't get your hopes up to much...

If you need to buy a new graphics card, cheap ones available now are the Geforce FX5200 and the Radeon 9200, and there'll probably be more to choose from from Nvidia and Ati soon. Or maybe from new players, such as a Volari from XGI or a DeltaChrome from S3.

Good luck! http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/smile.gif

/ M

zozo
18-09-03, 16:46
:D chronicles :- sg prosavage is a third class card that can barely play old games. It may be onboard. it is too old to handle AOD. AOD requires directX 9 compatible graphic card. There are many low cost graphics cards available in the market that you can buy. But first of all check for the AGP slot on your motherboard and also check if it is at least 4X. If u don't have the AGP slot, then u must upgrade your system.
Anyway Good Luck :-
http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/music2.gif

chronicles
18-09-03, 22:37
Oh I see. Oh SHUCKS! Well I'll do my best to get a new Graphics Card. No wonder things arn't working. But I really appreciate all of your help. I'll post updates.

chronicles
18-09-03, 22:42
Oh I see. Oh SHUCKS! Well I'll do my best to get a new Graphics Card. No wonder things arn't working. But I really appreciate all of your help. I'll post updates.

But thats weird because I'm able to play all the other Tomb Raiders. Are they older or something?

Simulation
18-09-03, 23:07
They are much older and don't use dx9 and TnL.

chronicles
18-09-03, 23:16
I upgrade the pro savage and now I have the graphics card option. But instead of my previous error message, I have a new one: Build Aug 6 2003 11:12:23

The Following Error has occured

Generic Game Error

0xAE8968FF <unknown module>: <unknown symbol>

chronicles
18-09-03, 23:37
Simulation: What do I use if you suggested for me not to use DX9 and T&L?

chronicles
20-09-03, 18:41
It looks like I can get another graphics card, but I'm not sure which one. Any ideas? Perferably one that works with AOD. Gracias

Simulation
20-09-03, 23:52
It looks like ATI have the upper hand over nVidia at the moment, but a new set of drivers might sort that out.............

Best bet is to check out http://www.tomshardware.com/graphic/index.html they give good graphic card reviews and benchmarks. I would say it is worth getting a DX9 compatable card.

GeForce FX5200 - 45 - OK card
GeForce FX5600 Ultra - 130 - Pretty good card
GeForce FX5900 Ultra - 400 - Pretty damn fast (how much!!!!)

ATI's Radeon cards have the same price/performance range give or take the odd fps/

Personally I generally use nVidia cards, but it's worth knowing that Eidos has removed the v49 patch from their .com website because the benchmarking option showed nVidia in a poor light. Have a read of this posting. http://www.anandtech.com/news/shown...VAR_START=1&p=1

Good luck........ It's a mine field out there

P.S. If you do go for an nVidia card there are updated cg files that you copy into your TRAOD\BIN folder. You can download them from here:- http://www.beyond3d.com/downloads/traod/cg_files.zip

chronicles
22-09-03, 02:35
Thanks for the feedback. I'll post my response in a little while later. It will take me a while to get the graphics card. You've been great help.

EVERYONE HAS BEEN GREAT HELP. EVERYONE THAT RESPONDED IN THIS TOPIC AND EVERYTHING. THANK YOU SO MUCH.