PDA

View Full Version : How do you make a video?


Celephais
18-10-05, 11:31
I couldn't help but notice that there are various fan videos dotted throughout this board, and I'm basically wondering how I would make one. Would it require special software?

Nicky
18-10-05, 11:37
If you have XP, then you also have Movie Maker (it gets installed with the OS). Go Start --> All Programs --> Windows Movie Maker to open the program or C:\Program Files\Movie Maker to open its folder and find the program in there.

Actually it's very easy to use, but you can do some really cool stuff with it.

Celephais
18-10-05, 11:45
Ah. I have Windows Me and after 5 minutes surfing I discovered that ME also has a Movie Maker hidden somewhere. But I've found it. Now the only problem is learnig how to use it.

Celephais
18-10-05, 14:03
Okay I'm getting the idea of how to use it now but my expertise is limited to still pics and sound clips. Is that alright for a video clip?

[ 18. October 2005, 15:06: Message edited by: Celephais ]

amlai
18-10-05, 14:48
Originally posted by Celephais:
Okay I'm getting the idea of how to use it now but my expertise is limited to still pics and sound clips. Is that alright for a video clip? Of course Celephais, The masters are made by practice http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/thumb.gif
Show us what you get :D

[ 18. October 2005, 15:54: Message edited by: amlai ]

Celephais
18-10-05, 15:16
Okay, but I'll need some advice on how to actually publish it. I don't have a website and all my pictures were published using a free trial, and I can't upoad anything over 2 MB.

I haven't finished anything yet and I can't promise anything. But I find the video making process quite interesting :D

Apofiss
18-10-05, 15:37
Celephais, you can upload your video here - www.filefront.com (http://www.filefront.com) ;) (you just need to register there before to start uploading any files)

ben croft
18-10-05, 15:43
Okay, but I'll need some advice on how to actually publish it. I don't have a website and all my pictures were published using a free trial, and I can't upoad anything over 2 MB.Celephais, you can upload your video here too:

GIGASHARE (http://www.gigashare.com)

PUTFILE (http://www.putfile.com)

http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/wave.gif

[ 18. October 2005, 16:44: Message edited by: ben croft ]

Celephais
18-10-05, 17:13
Thanks :thb: Does anyone also also know a way to edit MP3s? I've seen some MP3 editing software available for download on the internet, but I'm always wary of download sites, since they can give you a virus and spyware.

Celephais
18-10-05, 17:18
Actually I don't think I need it now. The Windows movie makerr allows you to edit sound.

Celephais
18-10-05, 21:08
Okay I've finished a primitive video but there's something I'm wondering about. My video is simply a collection of Tomb Raider pics I got from the net set to music. Is it "legal" for me to publish it?

T.Onix
18-10-05, 21:28
As far as I'm concerned, yes. But you can also specify that the video is not yours...

Celephais
19-10-05, 10:23
Does anyone know where I can get a utility to convert onscreen images into a video like "Fraps" does? I was searching rhe video threads and someone mentioned Fraps. Unfortunately Fraps won't work with Windows ME. I tried another one called eBooks Compiler but when I tried to run it got an error message ( a missing file seemingly). From surfing it there's many "video capture" utilities but I don't know if they're talking about capturing video footage when playing a game. Appreciate any help.

Nicky
19-10-05, 10:39
You can try > CapturePad < (http://www.capturepad.com/) http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/wave.gif

Tomb Raider Master
19-10-05, 21:44
Or, you can also try Fraps. Click HERE (http://www.click-now.net/downloads05.htm) and then scroll down to Fraps 1.9 FREE. http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/smilies/wave.gif

Celephais
19-10-05, 21:50
Thanks but Fraps just won't work with Windows ME , which I have on my computer.I tried CapturePad by the way, and it seems to work fine, athough I've ony got a time limited demo. The onyl puzzling thing about CapturePad is that if I take a full screen video capture of say, 1 minute duration, it says that the resuting video is about 700 Mbs! I have trouble believing that!

[ 19. October 2005, 22:51: Message edited by: Celephais ]

T.Onix
19-10-05, 22:43
How do you use that capture pad??

Celephais
19-10-05, 22:53
Hmmm... Well I didn't read any instructions, but from one day's experimentataion I found that if you click on the "Screen" tab of the Capture Pad console, select the "Screen area" option. Then put your cursor over the "Window Finder" icon in the middle of the Capture Pad console, click it and drag to a corner of your monitor so that a dark rectangle appears around the edges of your monitor. I suppose this tells the program what screen area is to "video captured". Then when that is done, click the start button in the lower right. It will then commence to take video capture images , and they will be saved in the VRentertainment folder. That's the way I did it anyway and it seems to work. Although I had to use the "Alt-Tab" function a lot to minimize Tomb Raider so that I could use Capture PAd.

[ 19. October 2005, 23:55: Message edited by: Celephais ]

Celephais
19-10-05, 22:57
However many of the captured images seem to be simply of your desktop, so you'l find that you'll end up with a lot of unwanted video captures.

T.Onix
19-10-05, 23:02
Ha!

tombfan91
23-10-05, 22:35
hey i was wondering when i put the music in there therea a song in the clip i am using and i can hearing the song i want and the song from the clip does that just go away

tombfan91
24-10-05, 21:42
yea see the clip from the video still has music and i want my own music but when i play it the song i want isplaying and the song from the clip is palying anybodyklnow how tog et rid of that?

Celephais
24-10-05, 21:51
I think if you change the audio settings so that the slider is FULLY towards the "audio track" rather than "video track"

tombfan91
25-10-05, 00:33
ok thanx my video is almost ready all i need is a sitse that will host it......