PDA

View Full Version : Now...........


Gabi
13-03-06, 20:27
this i very embarrassing, but I am not able to establish a voice conversation on MSN.
I have downloaded and installed MSN Messenger 7.5 (chat works fine). I do have a combined micro/headphone, plugged into the corresponding (according to David - I would not know for sure) ports.
My friend invites me to a voice conversation. I can hear it ringing. I accept...........and nothing happens :( :confused: . (Volume is up).

Any ideas what I might be doing wrong?


Thanks in advance

scion05
13-03-06, 20:47
this may seem funny, and it got me.
make sure above your volume on msn it isnt muted. ;)

Joseph
13-03-06, 21:09
Hi Gabi. You seem to be not too sure the mic is in the right 'port'. Does it work in this situation --> Start > All Programs > Accessories > Enytertainment > Windows Sound recorder. Press the record button and talk. Do you hear yourself through the speakers?

Check also these:

Start > All Programs > Creative > Soyndblaster Audigy2ZS > Creative Surroudmixer.

Control Panel > doubleclick on Sounds and Audiodevices > tab Speech.

Gabi
13-03-06, 21:26
Joseph :hug:

No 1 does not work, I do not hear myself through the speakers.:(

No 2 + 3: What exactly am I looking for?

Oh, and I get the following message:
Your computer, Internet provider, or network may not support Voice Conversations or video conferences.



:yik: I have just realised that my sound is not working allright: It seems that only my right speaker (when facing the screen) is working and at a very low level, even though I have the volume turned on to the max.
But I honestly have not touched any of the settings, and it was fine yesterday.

Joseph
13-03-06, 21:47
Gabi, your microphone/headset is plugged in where?.

Gabi
13-03-06, 21:51
Well, my microphone is plugged in via an extention cable at the back of my PC. The headphone is plugged in that little box (I don't know what you call it) that is sitting on my desk and came with the speaker system.

Simulation
13-03-06, 21:53
Hi Gabi,

I use VOIP alot at work as two members of my team work in Brazil. If you are going to have audio/webcam conversations I would recomend Skype (http://www.skype.com/helloagain.html) as the clarity is much better and the setup is easy.

Gabi
13-03-06, 21:54
Thanks Sim,


but my friends use MSN. Is it compatible?

Joseph
13-03-06, 21:57
Good! :tmb:

Now will you check if the connection at the 'backside of the pc' is done right?
The plug must be put into the Audigy card.
In this picture, the topside of the card is the LEFT of the pc. So it is the 3d plug from the leftside of your pc.

http://www.jozefdekkers.nl/Trforum/audigy2zs-mic-plugitinhere.jpg

Gabi
13-03-06, 21:58
Wait, I have to move the :cen: desk.


Mine looks slightly different: It is actually the 3rd from the right, directly next to the speaker port.

Joseph
13-03-06, 22:01
I personally have a Logitech webcam with inbuilt microphone. It is sold as "MSN-compatible", and it sure is! I payed €19,95. It sits on my monitor. I can speak freely, as its little inbuilt mic is very sensitive without recording noise (no hissings), just the voice. Very clear!

This one (http://www.logitech.com/index.cfm/products/details/GB/EN,CRID=2204,CONTENTID=10860). :)

This one should be even better: better image quality. (http://www.logitech.com/index.cfm/products/details/GB/EN,CRID=2204,CONTENTID=10700)

Simulation
13-03-06, 22:05
but my friends use MSN. Is it compatible?

It's similar to MSN in that it has chat, voip and webcam.

There are other advantages in that you can also call landline phones as well. The international calls are pretty cheap.

We tend to use MSN for chat and Skype for Voice and Webcam. Most peeple have both MSN and Skype acounts these days. For example, today Brazil MSN kept cutting out and we just switched to skype to continue our conversations.

Joseph
13-03-06, 22:06
But Skype is not free, is it Sim?

Gabi
13-03-06, 22:09
Thanks Sim, I'll give it some thought.

Joseph, mine looks slightly different: It is actually the 3rd from the right, directly next to the speaker port.

And we do have a webcam with inbuilt microphone, but atm it is still sitting on David's PC.

Joseph
13-03-06, 22:12
Gabi, you have Audigy2ZS. The 3d plugin from the right is the line out for the speakers.

You could check what i am saying in the manual: Start > All Programs > Creative > Soundblaster Audigy2ZS > Documentation > Online Manual > Your Hardware > The Audigy2ZS Soundcard.
Or just believe me. ;)

Simulation
13-03-06, 22:14
But Skype is not free, is it Sim?

Yep. It's free and a damn sight more reliable than MSN.

Joseph
13-03-06, 22:17
Is it possible that the microphone is plugged into the connector for the (disabled) onboard soundchip? :)

Simulation
13-03-06, 22:17
An easy way to see if the microphone works is to use the Sound recorder (Start menu > Accessories > Entertainment > Sound recorder.

Just hit the record button, speak into the mic and then play.

It will quickly confirm that the mic works.

Gabi
13-03-06, 22:17
I have SB Audigy 4 (800).:)

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v506/Gabicats/audiocard.jpg

And the microphone is plugged into Jack No 4, the pink one.

Joseph
13-03-06, 22:19
Yep. It's free and a damn sight more reliable than MSN.I didn't know it's free! :confused: And the telephone service is free also? Calling each other via a 'skype' telephone?

Joseph
13-03-06, 22:21
I have SB Audigy 4 (800).:)I didnt know that!:mad: :p
OK. What makes you sure that the 3d plug from the rightside is the right one?

Gabi
13-03-06, 22:24
Because it says so:


http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v506/Gabicats/audiocard1.jpg

Simulation
13-03-06, 22:31
I didn't know it's free! :confused: And the telephone service is free also? Calling each other via a 'skype' telephone?

Yep :) A skype telephone is just a replacement for a headset.

It only costs when you call a landline phone, but the rates are pretty good.

I'll PM you my Skype name if you want to try it out?

Joseph
13-03-06, 22:41
Sim, thanks. I don't need to try it out now, i believe you. :)

Joseph
13-03-06, 22:42
Gabi i see. So your card has a different architecture.
The good thing is that we now know your mic is in the right plug! :tmb:
Now test it using the Creative software.

Gabi
13-03-06, 22:44
Joseph, I need to go, I have an early start tomorrow morning.
Is it ok, if we continue tomorrow? That gives you some more time to think as well.
Did you see my screenshots of the sound card?

Gabi
13-03-06, 22:44
Now test it using the Creative software.

:confused:

Joseph
13-03-06, 22:51
Start > All Programs > Creative > Soundblaster Audigy4 > Creative Surroudmixer.
Click where the red arrow is in my picture. See that it expands to microphone. Select microphone.
Enable it this way: at the bottom of that bar, the speaker icon with the red cross in front means that it is muted. So click on it to un-mute.


http://www.jozefdekkers.nl/Trforum/audigy-mic1.jpg

http://www.jozefdekkers.nl/Trforum/audigy-mic2.jpg

Gabi
13-03-06, 23:02
Done:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v506/Gabicats/audiocard2.jpg

Joseph
13-03-06, 23:09
So? Now the mic works? :)
Try:
Start > All Programs > Accessories > Entertainment > Windows Sound recorder. Press the record button and talk. Do you hear yourself through the speakers?

Gabi
13-03-06, 23:12
No, I still can't hear myself when I replay the recording.:(

Anyway: I really have to go now.
See you tomorrow :wve:

Joseph
13-03-06, 23:13
OK. Sleep well Gabi. We'll solve this tomorrow. :hug:

Gabi
19-03-06, 16:11
5 days later.......................:o (my only excuse is that I have been really busy)

It's working :jmp: . My microphone that is!!! I honestly do not know what was wrong the other day, but just now I did the test again and yes, I can hear myself when I replay.

So that is good.
Now I need one of my friends to be online to try if the voice-mailing works.

I'll keep you posted.


EDIT: I am now having a voice conversation via MSN with my friend in Germany. Thanks for all your help. :hug:

Joseph
19-03-06, 17:13
So good to read that Gabi! :tmb: