PDA

View Full Version : layout coding


~*Chloe*~
23-03-06, 16:11
can anybody please help me out with layout coding?

stereopathic
23-03-06, 16:24
i'm not too sure what you're talking about. what kind of layout are you trying to code and what language are you trying to code it in?

~*Chloe*~
23-03-06, 16:27
well i have a template for my site and i want to make the navigation work and stuff

stereopathic
23-03-06, 16:31
ok, so you're doing a website? cool. that's my specialty. you just need to link to other pages in your site, then? here's the code for a link:

<a href="web address">text</a>

web address is the address of the page you want to link to. text will be what people see and can click on. did this help?

stereopathic
23-03-06, 16:32
if you have a template, the code may already be in there. hmm.. what program are you working in?

~*Chloe*~
23-03-06, 16:33
i mean the navigation :)

~*Chloe*~
23-03-06, 16:34
and i am using freewebs

Titanium
23-03-06, 16:38
So what do you want from the navigation? :)

stereopathic
23-03-06, 16:38
okay, i know three programs (dreamweaver, pagemaker, frontpage), but not that one. this is no big deal though.

what are you trying to code? specifically. navigation is pretty broad.

~*Chloe*~
23-03-06, 16:39
i'm trying to change the template and keep the navigation working

stereopathic
23-03-06, 16:43
ok. you're going to need someone who knows freeweb then. sry.

Titanium
23-03-06, 16:44
So you want to keep the navigation code which you then want to use on the new template?

~*Chloe*~
23-03-06, 16:45
So you want to keep the navigation code which you then want to use on the new template?

Yes!!!

Titanium
23-03-06, 16:46
Aha now were getting somewhere :D

Okay, do you know which part of the HTML code belongs to the navigation part of the site?

And does this new template have its own navigation code? but you want to change it to the other one

~*Chloe*~
23-03-06, 17:12
yes i have the HTML code done i just need to learn how to link it to the new template which does not have its own navigation code

Titanium
23-03-06, 17:18
Okay, firstly just paste the code into the template and tell me what happens, do the links work succesfully?

~*Chloe*~
23-03-06, 17:23
place the code into the template? i dont get you

Titanium
23-03-06, 17:26
Okay, paste the HTML code of the navigation thingy, into the HTML code of the template :)

~*Chloe*~
23-03-06, 17:30
do u wanna do this for me?

Titanium
23-03-06, 17:33
Well I would but I have no experience of freewebs website making. I only have experience with HTML code. Is there anyone on this forum that you know uses freewebs that could possibly help you more then I can?

~*Chloe*~
23-03-06, 17:34
i'll pm u the details

Titanium
23-03-06, 17:36
i'll pm u the details

Fair enough, please be as descriptive as possible :)

~*Chloe*~
23-03-06, 17:40
pm sent