PDA

View Full Version : Intel 950

only Croft
06-10-06, 18:01
Hi :wve:

My parents bouth a portable pc and as a graphic card they puted the Intel 950. I'm no expert so I ask you is this a good card, and will it run Legend.

Tnks in advanced

Joseph
06-10-06, 18:33
Onboard Intel chip will run Legend normal version, not Next Gen.

only Croft
06-10-06, 19:10
:hea: Damit tnks for the help anyway

abraham
07-10-06, 03:53
wait! do those cards have vertex shader and shader pixel on those cards?

jamieoliver22
07-10-06, 09:24
I really wouldn't have thought so. They arnt actual graphics cards but just a single graphics chip. They are only really basic and no designed for gaming at all.

The best thing to to is actually try it and see if Legend plays on it, but I wouldn't have thought it would play well if it did.

Jamie.

only Croft
07-10-06, 10:41
Well it has vertex shader 3.0 and pixel shadre 2.0 and that's all I can find about shader thingis.

Here's the link: http://www.intel.com/products/chipsets/gma950/gma950.pdf

The guy in the store sayd the card was the best for games, I dought it since he sayd a ATI Radeon (my old one) coud run every game with no problem. Wicth of course it can't

Joseph
07-10-06, 17:15
Yes, the chip uses shader model 2.0, but Legend next Generation requires shader model 3.0.

Apart from this, the onboard chip is intended for Office application and normal internet use.
It is absolutely insufficient for gaming which is one of the most demanding tasks of a PC. Gaming requires a real graphic card. You may see a graphic card as a PC in itself, the GPU (graphic processor unit) and the GRAM (graphic random access memory) are completely dedicated to this enormous complex and extremely heavy task.

Oh, and learn to never believe sales promotion fairytales from manufacturers themselves: read test-reviews about graphic cards capabilities -or ask on this forum, we know all about it- before you buy one.

Cochrane
07-10-06, 18:38