PDA

View Full Version : HD disaster on it's way?


Nandu
23-10-06, 12:38
I'm slightly freaked right now - after turning on the display this morning I was greeted with an error message saying that Windows has detected a hard disk failure and told me to backup my stuff. I then opened Everest, and in the S.M.A.R.T-section, there's a red cross on "Spin Retry Count" and this is what's next to it:

Treshold: 97
Value: 97
Worst: 5
Data: 0 Pre-Failure: Imminent loss of data is being predicted :(

It's a 200 GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.9-drive, and during the 6 months I've had it, it has occasionally made some fairly loud clonking-noise, but I wasn't quite sure what to think of it, since everything has worked normally :D

I made all the backups already, if I need a new drive what should I get? My price range is around 130 at most.

Thank you!!

Joseph
23-10-06, 12:57
IDE or SATA?

SATA: Western Digital Caviar SE16 250GB SATA2 16MB 7200RPM (http://www.komplett.nl/k/ki.asp?sku=309535) € 79,96
If i were you, i'd take two.

Nandu
23-10-06, 13:01
Sata :)

Joseph
23-10-06, 13:04
Western Digital Caviar SE16 250GB SATA2 16MB 7200RPM (http://www.komplett.nl/k/ki.asp?sku=309535) 79,96
If i were you, i'd take 2. Two identical.

Apofiss
23-10-06, 13:06
I had exactly the same situation, 120GB Seagate Barracuda.. had some fairly loud clonking-noise and puhh, dead.

ATM I find Maxtor quite good, it works just fine under intensive workload.

Maxtor DiamondMax Plus 10 200 GB SATA II Hard Drive (http://www.dealtime.co.uk/xPO-Maxtor_200_GB_Maxtor_DiamondMax_Plus10_SATA2_7200r pm_8MB_Cache_6V200EO) Price Range: £44.00 - £49.00

Nandu
23-10-06, 13:10
Right, thanks you two :) Hopefully I manage to install the new HD with no problems, I've never installed one before ;) Oh and how much fun I'll have with re-installing everything! :rolleyes: :vlol:

EDIT: I found the 250 gb WD Caviar SE16 (WD2500KS) very easily, and placed my order. Am I correct in thinking that I simply remove my old HD, then place the new one in the HD bay and then only use the SATA connector? Is there something else I need to do? (besides installing the OS of course) Also, I never found out if this new drive comes with all the necessary cables... heh.

Thanks for helping a technically challenged :vlol:

Nandu
24-10-06, 06:49
Success! The drive installation was easier than I thought, and now everything works like a charm :) And something interesting - with my old HD the disk performance score in Vista was 4,7 and with this new drive it's gone up to 5,3 :jmp:

Joseph
24-10-06, 06:56
Hi Nandu. I missed your edit. :D Else i would have replied earlier of course.

You did well! :tmb:
No surprise your hdd speed has upped!

I use the same hdd's btw. :)