PDA

View Full Version : What Should I Do?

Mad Tony
29-10-06, 22:44
I have got a bit of a situation here.

About 5 years ago, my Dad moved to Australia, before he moved to Australia we were always quite close.
But when he moved I missed him a lot, although I visited him in Australia and we had a good time, in 2002.
But since about 2004, when I went to see him again, we haven't got along so well.
I think it's because we don't really know each other very well, seen as I rarely see him now. And the last few times he's come over to England, we haven't had a very good time. He thinks that I'm completely fine with him being out in Australia, but really I'm not. I've been lying to him for the past 5 years and don't want to ruin it for him, he really likes it out there (he currently lives in Sydney)

It just feels like the father and son bond is gone, but he doesn't really know what I feel.
I have been thinking about righting him an email to tell him what I really think and if there is a chance that he could move back to England. (Problem is, he's just got Australian citizenship out there and thinks I want to move out there as well, but I don't, as you all probably know) And I just don't know what to do.

What should I do?

Thanks. :)

jarhead
29-10-06, 22:47
Get him to visit more often, or go out there more often, or slowly get into contact more often :tmb:

I doubt the bond has gone, you proberly feel its not their as you dont see him as much as you should. Best I can say is to email/phone him and have a chat etc, and communicate more. I'm sure he's missing you as much as your missing him

Ada the Mental
29-10-06, 22:47
That's quite a situation.:hug:
I think you should better be honest with your father and tell him hoe you really feel.Who knows,maybe if you both talk to each other you'll be able to get along better.

zantor
29-10-06, 22:48
Hmm, thats a tuff one. The best thing i can say is do what your heart tells you. :)

Melonie Tomb Raider
30-10-06, 01:19