PDA

View Full Version : PC problems


aussie500
26-11-06, 03:04
After much trouble with both my PC'a l have finally sorted out what the problems are and will hopefully get them fixed in the next few weeks. The newer PC which worked like a dream until l upgraded the PSU and graphics card in order to play Legend has a faulty PSU. As much as l would have liked to have blamed AOD for the computer restarting it seems in this case the game was blameless. The PC turned itself of while l was trying to get some Tomb Raider 1 screenshots the otherday and refused to start up again. It happily played Legend on next gen settings for over 3 hours so the problems seems to be intermittant. l have it working again at the moment and am going to back up and clear all my passwords and back up some data, it will then be returned to the shop tomorrow and they are fixing it, l would prefer to have a better quality PSU this time if possible though. The present one is a Usicase 500w model no.350U-GCD, most likely the shop only has limited choices, but what would be considered a reliable brand?
Next question is when clearing my passwords do l only need to clear the temp internet files history and cookies and favorites, the last time my PC went to the shop it took 4 days to put a new PSU in and they were not busy at the time (when l talked to the technician before taking it down l was told it would take 3 hours tops), the only way l got it back then was that l threatened to put it in myself if they did not get a move on, Perhaps l am paranoid but l suspect they were copying the files on my PC. l recently started using the new PC for some of my internet stuff l usually only use the old PC for, this includes moderator and admin access on a few sites and forums, l want to be sure these people cannot get my passwords, the old shop has been closed down so maybe l am unfairly maligning these new people, but l need to be sure, l will remove the hard drive which has most of the digital comics on it in the hope my PC will be ready a bit quicker this time. Next question concerns the old PC, which unfortunately not only has a bios that seems to be incompatible with windows XP, but also has a dying CPU fan, when turned on it is only slightly less noisy than a lawnmower. it returns to normal after a while, although occasionally it tends to get a bit noisy. l have cleaned it out with a brush and PC vacuum cleaner, but it made no improvement, l have buckley's chance of getting the heatsink of, is it OK to just unscrew the fan and replace that? It is a Duron 850Mhz chip. It has only errored twice since l changed the operating system in the bios to non PNP, and has been happily going for over 24 hours with no strange sounds (l am frightened to turn it of now after the racket it made last time l started it) how soon do fans usually pack it in once they have started to go? l really need it to continue going for 4 more days at least, the noise only started about a week ago :( Thanks for any help

Joseph
26-11-06, 03:19
Hi Aussie. Rule 1: learn to do it yourself!!!! Then you only pay for the hardware. It's not that difficult.
The fan's noise: the default ones are very noisy, replace by a Zalman 9500 and you'll hear the difference (or better: you won't hear much exactly).

About your passwords: they are not stored in Temp Internet files nor cookies, but in Registry. No reason to think that the shop would be interested in them, but OK, if you want privacy: learn to rebuild and modificate hardware yourself so nobody has access.

Recommended PSU from own experience =
Cooler Master Real Power 550W w/Power indicator, SLI, ATX/EPS, 20/24pin (http://www.komplett.co.uk/k/ki.asp?sku=315160)

aussie500
26-11-06, 03:48
l know l should have done it myself but l was too chicken, it looked a bit more complicated than the old PSU setups, l have learned my lesson and next time will do it myself, at least then l would have still had the old PSU l could have put in :(

Joseph
26-11-06, 04:10
Too bad you aren't living near me, cuz i'd happily fix it for you!! :)
When you buy retail hardware components, they always have manuals, so it's easy for anybody to learn from them, just read them carefully and do what they say.

Was the old PSU so good?

aussie500
26-11-06, 06:00
At least the old one worked, l only needed the more powerfull one to run the graphics card. The old PSU and onboard graphics ran AOD fine, and l could play Legend, although in next gen mode it was very slow in places. l did have trouble running the Tomb Raider 1 FMV's with the onboard graphics though, l had to have the extra bat file for them to play ingame. It is still under warantee so they can just replace it with something that does work, if they have something better l will pay the extra for a more reliable PSU, l have fallen behind on a lot of my projects and would like to catch up, before Christmas

Joseph
26-11-06, 06:30
It is still under warantee Oh that's a relief! :tmb: :) But sad that this costs you a lot of time on your projects though. :(

aussie500
26-11-06, 07:05
Yes l have people waiting for me to do things all over the place, moved to the old PC when l had that up and running again (yes it had power supply problems as well) upgraded it to Win XP because 98 could not run some of my programs, and thought l was finally going to get to play a few games on my new PC, did not work out though, having finally managed to get all my Tomb raider games running, now neither PC is working properly. l am thinking l should just retire the old one permanently, in the last 4 months it has needed the PSU replaced (took me 3 months to get around to that), the floppy replaced, data recovered and hard drive reformated because when the floppy failed it somehow wipped out the hard drive, and now it needs a new fan, as well as the problem with the bios not being compatible with XP... l am starting to think it is more trouble keeping it going than it is worth. But l really hate the idea of my expensive PC being on the internet all the time, and l am still waiting to play my Tomb Raider games, and a few others that have been gathering dust on my shelves.

Joseph
26-11-06, 13:01
Ahh.. don't waste your time with the old machine. But l really hate the idea of my expensive PC being on the internet all the timeWhat you need is Norton Ghost 10 (http://www.symantecstore.com/dr/sat5/ec_Main.Entry17c?SID=27683&SP=10023&CID=204270&PID=765231&PN=1&V1=765231&CUR=978&API1=65&API2=GOOGLE_NL&API3=norton_ghost_10_exa&API4=Search&API5=www.google.nl&DSP=&PGRP=0&ABCODE=&CACHE_ID=204270). Make sure you have a good antivirus and anti spybot/adware programs running. If still anything goes wrong, you recover with the Image.

aussie500
26-11-06, 14:07
Both PC's have all the antispyware programs,software firewall, hardware firewall and antivirus, the old one is usually used for internet downloading and chatting, and the new one for editing, email, encoding, forums and games (it has a better monitor) Have not had anything nasty escape on either PC for a few years, last was a trojan Norton antivirus let past, l got rid of the program and changed to AVG. For something that costs a fortune and takes up so much resources l was not happy it did not perform better, AVG had no trouble recognising the Trojan. There are now no Norton/Symantic products allowed on my PC's so l do not think l will be trying the Norton Ghost somehow, but thanks anyway Joseph, it does not normally take me long to reformat and setup anyway
(http://www.symantecstore.com/dr/sat5/ec_Main.Entry17c?SID=27683&SP=10023&CID=204270&PID=765231&PN=1&V1=765231&CUR=978&API1=65&API2=GOOGLE_NL&API3=norton_ghost_10_exa&API4=Search&API5=www.google.nl&DSP=&PGRP=0&ABCODE=&CACHE_ID=204270)

Joseph
26-11-06, 16:28
There are now no Norton/Symantic products allowed on my PC's LOL! :D In fact it is: Powerquest Drive Image, a much better product than Norton Ghost has ever been, but Symantec bought Powerquest so the new version of Ghost (10) is in fact Drive Image 10. It is a very very good and easy to use product. It makes an image of your Windows partition while Windows is running and is fast. To restore image is done in 20 minutes, saves a lot of work: reinstalling Windows, chipsetdrivers, all the tweaking, all my programs, usually takes more than a day so HIGHLY recommended!

I agree about Norton antivirus slowing the PC down; however it does its job excellently for years on all my PC's (and never has let any trojan pass) it also is such a sloggish program i want to switch to another, so tell me: is AVG not a slowdowner? :) do you have the paid version?

vectra3000
26-11-06, 16:35
I run the paid version of AVG and can honestly say it doesn't appear to cause any slowdown on my system..very recommended!

Joseph
26-11-06, 16:43
Thanks Vectra! :)
I just read AVG Free 7.1 version will be discontinued on 15th of Jan 2007.

aussie500
26-11-06, 21:13
They are discontinuing the old 7.1 version. 7.5 will still have a free version
http://free.grisoft.com/freeweb.php/doc/2/

Joseph
26-11-06, 22:02
What you do not get

http://free.grisoft.com/templates/v5/images/no.gifAnti-Spywarehttp://free.grisoft.com/templates/v5/images/no.gifAnti-Spamhttp://free.grisoft.com/templates/v5/images/no.gifFirewallhttp://free.grisoft.com/templates/v5/images/no.gif24/7 Technical Supporthttp://free.grisoft.com/templates/v5/images/no.gifHigh-speed updateshttp://free.grisoft.com/templates/v5/images/no.gifMultiple languageshttp://free.grisoft.com/templates/v5/images/no.gifDetailed settingshttp://free.grisoft.com/templates/v5/images/no.gifConsent for commercial use [Available only with commercial versions (http://free.grisoft.com/linkout.php?doc=2&to=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.grisoft.com%2Fdoc%2F30572)]

The "High-speed updates" are essential...:whi:

aussie500
26-11-06, 23:44
You still get virus data base updates, that is all l need, l am not sure what they mean by high speed, the updates are not that big and they always go fast enough for me ;)

Joseph
27-11-06, 04:41
I guess that with high speed updates they mean: as soon as they are created, and not a few days later. Not sure, but i thought that free versions only update once a week? My Norton updates sometimes more than once a day... as soon as i read there is some new virus i always have already received the antidote ! :D

aussie500
27-11-06, 09:41
Pity they were not so enthusiastic about keeping up with the latest trends when l was using it. The new fan seems to work fine in the old PC, l gave the rest of it a good clean while l was at it, disappointed l could not fit the hard drive with my Tomb Raider files in there, heaps of space but nothing to attach it to. l have an external case l can put it in so l can at least access some of my files, will have to scrounge enough space up on the C drive to install an editing program though, this PC only had essential programs that it needed installed :(

Joseph
27-11-06, 16:16
What you need is a PCI controller! :) Then you can add up to 4 more hdd's! :) PSU must be strong enough to feed them though... I think for each hdd you add you must count 25 Watt more.

aussie500
27-11-06, 18:03
This PSU is slightly more powerfull than the one l originally had in the new computer, so l figure it would run 3 hard drives, the graphics card is only an old TNT2, and l never play games on it anyway, l have all the connections for another hard drive but there is nothing to actually screw it onto, three is plenty to have in the old one, actually considering l cannot burn DVD's from it probably 2 are enough, since l transfer everything on to an external hard drive, but it would have been convenient to have the hard drive with some of the stuff from the newer computer actually in the PC, since it is not as fast at transfering data as the more powerfull PC is. l finish downloading a 23.2Gb file in the next few days, assuming nothing else goes wrong with this PC, (actually thought it might have been smoking then, but burning smell is from outside the house, firebugs have been up to mischief again) then l can just change the hard drives over l have a nice new empty 500Gb external hard drive, l can transfer a few things onto to make some space, next year when l have saved up more money l will get a new hard drive for the operating system on this PC if it is still going, Drive C is only a 60Gb hard drive, something a bit bigger would solve some of the storage space problems :)

Chug a Bug
28-11-06, 13:02
Pity they were not so enthusiastic about keeping up with the latest trends when l was using it. The new fan seems to work fine in the old PC, l gave the rest of it a good clean while l was at it, disappointed l could not fit the hard drive with my Tomb Raider files in there, heaps of space but nothing to attach it to. l have an external case l can put it in so l can at least access some of my files, will have to scrounge enough space up on the C drive to install an editing program though, this PC only had essential programs that it needed installed :(

Do you have any space inside the 5 1/4 inch CD/DVD drive bays? You can buy a bracket that lets you fit a 3 1/2 inch HDD into it. I have 4 hard drives: 2 inside the HDD caddy, one in the 5 1/4 inch bay and one in the spare second 3.5 floppy disc drive bay!

What you do not get

http://free.grisoft.com/templates/v5/images/no.gifAnti-Spywarehttp://free.grisoft.com/templates/v5/images/no.gifAnti-Spamhttp://free.grisoft.com/templates/v5/images/no.gifFirewallhttp://free.grisoft.com/templates/v5/images/no.gif24/7 Technical Supporthttp://free.grisoft.com/templates/v5/images/no.gifHigh-speed updateshttp://free.grisoft.com/templates/v5/images/no.gifMultiple languageshttp://free.grisoft.com/templates/v5/images/no.gifDetailed settingshttp://free.grisoft.com/templates/v5/images/no.gifConsent for commercial use [Available only with commercial versions (http://free.grisoft.com/linkout.php?doc=2&to=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.grisoft.com%2Fdoc%2F30572)]

The "High-speed updates" are essential...:whi:

You can get anti-spyware separately from AVG, it used to be Ewido anti-spyware until AVG took them over. Ewido used to give you a months free trial but after that you could still update it and scan your drives manually, it was only the automatic updates and run in the background that was disabled. I've just installed AVG's version, I'm going to see if it will still let me do that after the trial has expired.

aussie500
29-11-06, 12:19
l already have 3 antispyware programs that is enough, l have a firewall l am happy with, and nothing ever gets past the router firewall anyway. As it happens l was looking at the Cd-Rom bays, l have two spots just sitting there doing nothing, so l might try and get some brackets for it. It seems my newer PC that went to the shop is no longer working, it would work here, but not down there (supposedly) They are saying the motherboard needs replacing, seems a bit strange that l never had any trouble with the motherboard before they changed the PSU. So l will not be playing PC games for some time it seems :(

Joseph
29-11-06, 12:37
With a new mobo hopefully your troubles are gone. But do you have an idea which mobo they are building in?
You describe in your posts perfectly the reason why i started building my systems myself: know exactly what i want/have so its more reliable, it's cheaper and infinitely quicker. And fun to do! And the satisfaction! :)

aussie500
30-11-06, 13:55
l have been thinking of building the next PC myself, but only being on a pension and maintaining a house and mortgage keeps me poor. At the moment they are just looking for something that will go with the processor and hardware l have, l unfortunately have not been a lot of help with the info on the hyperthreading, it came with practically no paperwork, and l cannot find the disc, all the info about the PC.....was on the PC. l will hopefully feel up to taking the room apart tomorrow and finding the disc that came with the PC, l need to find a few other things for this PC anyway :rolleyes: l change hard drives over on the weekend, so will transfer most of the backup from the dead PC over to an external hard drive, then l will actually have enough space on this PC to install a few more programs, as well as continue some animation encodes l was doing for AOD, and a comic project that needs my attention :)

Joseph
30-11-06, 15:51
Busy Beaver aren't you! :D

aussie500
01-12-06, 03:03
l like to keep busy when l can, if not feeling up to doing something requiring physical work l can always spend time on the PC working on one of the forums (still a few hundred posts l need to check if the info is current or not), organising our Golden Age comic site, researching obscure golden age publishers, or looking up online copyright records, or course to do the latter l have to do my homework first and actually know what l am meant to be looking for. And then when l get bored of doing such dreary time consuming tasks, l can always come over here and read something more interesting :D