PDA

View Full Version : Next-Gen question


Randall
02-01-07, 01:26
I just installed Legend for the PC, and was wondering, how do you force Next-Gen graphics on older Graphics Cards? I read it on here somewhere, but I don't remember which thread it was.

Betal
02-01-07, 01:35
:wve:

http://www.tombraiderforums.com/showthread.php?t=62311

Randall
02-01-07, 03:32
Thanks. But now I'm probably going to sound like an idiot, what is the registry? Or where is it?

amlai
02-01-07, 05:36
Thanks. But now I'm probably going to sound like an idiot, what is the registry? Or where is it?

Go to "start", then to "execute" and type "registry" and click OK
That would open the registry program.
btw...i don't know exacly if those are the correct words cos my OS it's in spanish.

Terminatorvs
02-01-07, 12:12
If you're on XP, it's Start->Run...->Regedit

Randall
04-01-07, 22:41
I've done everything that joseph put down in that thread, but it won't work. Is there something else I can try?

Joseph
05-01-07, 02:30
Hello Randall. What graphic card do you have?

Moving to Tech forum...

Randall
05-01-07, 21:07
NVIDIA GeForce4 MX 440 with AGP8X. Is this graphics card to old? and if it is, how much would a new one cost?

Joseph
05-01-07, 22:15
IMPOSSIBLE to force next gen on a GeForce4 MX 440.

For a new card, what is your budget (how much you want/are able to spend)?

Randall
05-01-07, 23:32
Is that card to old? and I don't have a lot of money right now. Are there any cheap graphics cards I can buy?

Joseph
05-01-07, 23:50
Not because it's old, but because it's :cen: . As you have read in the "how to force next gen on older cards" thread, i used a Radeon 9700Pro myself. That card is very capable for it.

Hang on, i'll search for today's AGP cards that would suit...

Simulation
05-01-07, 23:57
Is that card to old? and I don't have a lot of money right now. Are there any cheap graphics cards I can buy?

Please bear in mind that if you do buy a cheap graphics card which can be forced to switch on NextGen, it is only good for a look see and won't really be playable.

Joseph
06-01-07, 00:01
ATI 102A0753700 Radeon 9800PRO 128MB 256-bit DDR AGP 4X/8X Video Card - OEM (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16814195027) $84.99 = In Stock (Newegg)


The cheapest yet quality AGP card i could recommend that is capable of running next gen via the forced method. Because it is a shader model 2.1 card. Check that you have a 350 W Power Supply Unit.

In reaction to Simulation: on my 9700Pro, the game runs in forced next gen mode quite playable. Disable Full Screen Anti-Alias. Then at 800x600 it is actually quite playable. With hard aliasing, but also with next generation content.

At 800 x 600 it is almost playable (i guess some 12 frames / sec).
At 640 x 480 it is a little better of course (guess some 15 fr/sec), but still much too slow for good gamecontrol during fights.

Solution: disable Full Screen Anti-Alias. Then at 800x600 it is actually quite playable. With hard aliasing, but also with next generation content. :)



http://www.jozefdekkers.nl/Trforum/800-9700ng-display.jpg

EDIT: the game does not run slow anymore in 800x600. Very playable.
So, with 16x anisotropic filtering. Does not look always good, but still at some places pretty acceptable:

http://www.jozefdekkers.nl/Trforum/800-legend-9700-nextgen.jpg

http://www.jozefdekkers.nl/Trforum/800-legend-9700-nextgen2.jpg
:)
NOT playable at 1024 x 768 with FSAA:
I have done enough testing, taking screenshots, comparing... i'm tired of it! :p :D

Conclusion for now: it is remarkable what you can get on an old ATI Radeon 9700Pro. Not bad at all! Nice for taking screenshots. Not nice for trying to play the game because it runs much too slow (5 à 8 frames / sec).

First the PC specs:
PC 2: XP Home SP2
Pentium 4 ~2.66 Ghz / FSB 533 Mhz
ASUS P4PE / Intel i845 chipset
1 GB PC 2700 DDR RAM @ 333 Mhz buswidth 64bit
AGP 4x: ATI Radeon 9700 Pro / 128 MB
Creative audigy 2 ZS
hdd: IDE ATA-100
Logitech MX 518
Monitor: Iiyama VisionMasterPro512 @ 1600x1200

The settings:

http://www.jozefdekkers.nl/Trforum/1024-settings9700-nextgen-.gif

If i tick ON "Use 3.0 Shader Features" the game will not launch, instead: dump to desktop with Windows Error. So i leave that ticked OFF.
I click OK.
Game starts.

Ingame settings:
http://www.jozefdekkers.nl/Trforum/1024-nextg-displaymode-9700.jpg



http://www.jozefdekkers.nl/Trforum/1024-nextg-display9700.jpg

Then i do gamma correction, more or less this:

http://www.jozefdekkers.nl/Trforum/1024-nextg-gamma9700-.jpg

Generally, this looks very good. Not really playable, but looking good.

http://www.jozefdekkers.nl/Trforum/1024-9700-nextgen.jpg

There are problems too. Maybe because the 9700Pro has only 128MB DDR2 RAM: First this spot is perfect. After the boulder has rolled, first let Lara walk through, then return, and this is the result:

http://www.jozefdekkers.nl/Trforum/legend-waterdark.jpg

Joseph
06-01-07, 00:16
So, this is the cheapest solution to invest in a card to upgrade your old AGP system. If you are low on budget what else can you do. All the cheaper cards are definately a waste nowadays.

To make Legend next gen run starightaway without any hack, you'd have to invest in one of the most expensive AGP cards. But then, you'd have to change the PSU as well. In that case you must consider that you'd better move to a new PC (with PCI-express) alltogether.

Randall
06-01-07, 00:41
I think I'll just stick with the graphics card I have for right now, at least until I have some money to buy a new graphics card. But I have a couple of questions about things in the PC version of Legend. The game cam that is used for the boss fight videos on the TRL walkthrough, is that already in the game, or do you have to download it? If you have to download it, where from? Also when I played through the first time, It kept saying at the end of each level that I spent several hours in each one, like in Ghana, it said I spent over seven hours in it. Is something wrong with the game, or is it my computer? That's all my questions for now, I'll probably post more later, thanks.

Joseph
06-01-07, 01:21
The "boss fight videos on the TRL walkthrough" were made by MonaSax.

The game has NO inbuilt recording camera. One must use a program like Fraps (http://www.fraps.com).

The time counter of the game shows the total spent hours/minutes on the whole game.

Randall
06-01-07, 02:14
I've used the free version of fraps, (the one that only records thirty second clips) but it records to slow. would I need to buy it for it to record faster. Sorry if this is getting on your nerves. Also, I downloaded the Grand Prix outfit from Tombraiderhub, and am using it in the game, and it's not a problem, it actually looks pretty cool, but when I play in that outfit her hair turns white for all the outfits. I didn't know if it was a graphical glitch or what. Just wanted to add that.

Joseph
06-01-07, 02:25
As you can read on their support page (http://www.fraps.com/faq.php), you should lower the settings might fraps slow your system down.
Please realise that when you are running a game on a not too powerfull PC, it is already heavily occupied. Add to that the realtime recording by Fraps, and you won't need much imagination to understand why a slowdown is happening....

Questions about the outfits and their behaviour, please post them in: Sticky: Tomb Raider Legend Modding, Costumes & Texturing (Part II) (http://www.tombraiderforums.com/showthread.php?t=77555) (http://www.tombraiderforums.com/images/misc/multipage.gif 1 (http://www.tombraiderforums.com/showthread.php?t=77555) 2 (http://www.tombraiderforums.com/showthread.php?t=77555&page=2) 3 (http://www.tombraiderforums.com/showthread.php?t=77555&page=3) ... Last Page (http://www.tombraiderforums.com/showthread.php?t=77555&page=21)) . :)

clexy
06-01-07, 10:45
Not because it's old, but because it's :cen: . As you have read in the "how to force next gen on older cards" thread, i used a Radeon 9700Pro myself. That card is very capable for it.

Hang on, i'll search for today's AGP cards that would suit...

Do you have like many PCs and video cards?

Joseph
06-01-07, 18:05
Yes. Why?