PDA

View Full Version : College experience vs. Work experience

Little-Lara
11-04-07, 07:33
Hi. I have a question, I could've posted on the mature section, but I thought I'll post it here to, maybe, help out the young'ens.

It is, Do employers look at two years of relevant college experience as work experience?

I'm asking because I've been looking for a job for a while now, in an entry level position. But when I do a search under 0 to 1 yr experience I keep getting mundane search results for jobs. This is so frustrating. I'll be going into the working world as a young employee, but it's not getting a start. Any help, please? BTW I have no internship experience, and the two years I'm referring to are the last two years (BA degree.)

EscondeR
11-04-07, 07:47
Actually don't know how it's estimated by american employers, but here in Russia they say first like "And now forget what you've been taught, here you'll get real experience".
Every employer take as work experience only that you had within his business :rolleyes:

Mr.Burns
11-04-07, 10:19
Having no field experience doesn't help since a lot of companies these days won't hire anyone without any experience. Most companies won't take college experience into consideration unless you had an internship or you have a well placed contact with the company you're applying to. Getting an internship would help since that would get you a foot in the door. On the bright side, you stand a better chance of getting a job with a BA than no degree at all.

@EscondeR: It's pretty much the same here too.

Little-Lara
11-04-07, 11:33
Ughh. I've also been applying to internship jobs for experience, but they only want students for those. I became positively sure when a company called me, and they said, "ohh we're still looking at u'r resume, but it says that you already graduated. Umm, we'll see what we can do." :mad:

Joe_16
11-04-07, 11:50