PDA

View Full Version : Textures won't appear invisable in Roomeditor..


jeffrey van oort
10-05-07, 15:28
http://aycu20.webshots.com/image/16099/2000742937156684371_th.jpg (http://allyoucanupload.webshots.com/v/2000742937156684371)

Take a look at this..

I have several of the black looking textures on the left of the image which I dyed purple as required to make it invisable.
Why does this not suffice?
What possible reason is there that makes my textures to appear black whilst wanted to be able to look through?

Active Man
10-05-07, 15:30
Because:

1) Your horizon is black

2) There is no room connected

or 3) Toggle Opacity is not turned on

;)

jeffrey van oort
10-05-07, 15:43
I connected them to other rooms like shown below.
I really think it has something to do with the textures.
Unfortunatly my knowledge about Winroomedit is well... not very up to date.. lol

Link:

http://aycu04.webshots.com/image/17243/2003320715734325297_th.jpg (http://allyoucanupload.webshots.com/v/2003320715734325297)

pedro
10-05-07, 23:23
There's a trick for that, but I forgot :o . In the mean time you could use one from extra textures-area52! There is a allready pink one.
It's of topic but you asked for objects etc. Take a look at these fine sites:

http://www.trsearch.org/

http://www.laraslevelbase.org/

SSJ6Wolf
10-05-07, 23:25
Make sure it is the exact same pink as used in other TR3-TR5 levels. The pink from TR2 will NOT work, and I'm guessing that the TR1 pink won't either though I haven't tried using such textures from that game. In RGB values it should be 255-0-255.

QRS
11-05-07, 00:01
Make sure it is the exact same pink as used in other TR3-TR5 levels. The pink from TR2 will NOT work, and I'm guessing that the TR1 pink won't either though I haven't tried using such textures from that game. In RGB values it should be 255-0-255.

Indeed. Even a 255-1-255 or similar will not appear invissible. It kind of sucks actually as it is sometimes really hard to spot small parts that only differ a few RGB numbers...Even in photoshop. Especially on lattice doors etc.

Cochrane
11-05-07, 06:33
Make sure it is the exact same pink as used in other TR3-TR5 levels. The pink from TR2 will NOT work, and I'm guessing that the TR1 pink won't either though I haven't tried using such textures from that game. In RGB values it should be 255-0-255.

TR1 is not even guaranteed to use pink. The first color index of the palette is transparent, but the color used for that can be anything (in St. Francis' Folly, for example, it's blue). Not really relevant to the discussion, but still, fun to know.

MaskedRaider
11-05-07, 06:39
On an aside, what are all the colours used for? I know most are just colours, but some have meanings. Is there a list of them all, and their functions?

Stranger110
11-05-07, 06:45
On an aside, what are all the colours used for? I know most are just colours, but some have meanings. Is there a list of them all, and their functions?

Black one (left top corner) is for the Horizon, the grey one next to it is transparent (same as Horizon, just without the Horizon, I think).
And the others haven't any speacial meaning.
You can use them for your lights, and ambient room light.
Select a light and click on a colour, then the light will get the colour, you choosed.

Uvavoo
11-05-07, 11:44
Although the textures look black in the editor, they will be transparent in game.
A tip for photoshop or similar. Remember to switch off antialising when painting with the magenta colour, otherwise the software will try to smooth the transitions between the magenta and the colour next to it, resulting in non-pure magenta.

jeffrey van oort
11-05-07, 13:52
Although the textures look black in the editor, they will be transparent in game.
A tip for photoshop or similar. Remember to switch off antialising when painting with the magenta colour, otherwise the software will try to smooth the transitions between the magenta and the colour next to it, resulting in non-pure magenta.

That is I think the problem yes..
How can I switch it off?
I use Jasc Paint Shop Pro 8.

jeffrey van oort
11-05-07, 13:53
There's a trick for that, but I forgot :o . In the mean time you could use one from extra textures-area52! There is a allready pink one.
It's of topic but you asked for objects etc. Take a look at these fine sites:

http://www.trsearch.org/

http://www.laraslevelbase.org/

Thank you Pedro !!
You rock!! :D
:hug:

pedro
11-05-07, 22:20
No thanks, you had a real long sabatical! Glad to to help you in any way ;)

aktrekker
12-05-07, 07:15
I use PSP5 and what I do is set the brush hardness, opacity, and density all to 100.

MaskedRaider
12-05-07, 08:40
Just an aside - i think in the City texture wad there are some with a pink texture on (mountains) and that's a bit too purple to work. For me, at least.

jeffrey van oort
12-05-07, 10:02
I have tried to just do it with paint...
I am wondering, is it possible that I have too many textures, resulting the purple textures in the lower area of the TGA not to be invisable?

aktrekker
13-05-07, 00:31
I doubt it, but how big is the file?
If you are trying to make one entire tile invisible, it won't work. winroomedit stops loading if it finds a tile that is all invisible.