www.tombraiderforums.com

Go Back   www.tombraiderforums.com > International Tomb Raider Forums > Tomb Raider Forums in Deutsch

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 30-04-12, 20:30   #2931
Jrf12391
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 15
Default

I'm having an issue with importing an XNALara model into blender, here's what it says....


XNAaraL v1.4
unused spine upper
-
unused head eyelid upper
-
unused head eyelid lower
+
cyclic unused arm right should twist
Traceback <most recent call last>:
File "c:\users\sams club\AppData\Roaming\Blender Foundation\Blender\.blender\scripts\ImportMeshAsci iExtended.py", line 50, in Import
ImportMesh<file, boneCount > 0>
File "C:\Users\sams club\AppData\Roaming\Blender Foundation\Blender\.blender\scripts\ImportMeshAsci iExtended.py", line 376, in ImportMesh
mesh.assignVertsToGroup<vrtxList[i][0], [vrtxList[i][2]], vertxList[i][1], Me
AttributeError: group does not exist!

Last edited by Jrf12391; 30-04-12 at 20:33.
Jrf12391 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-12, 13:12   #2932
XNAaraL
Professor
 
XNAaraL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: The worthwhile problems are the U can really solve, the ones U can really contribute something to
Posts: 3,006
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jrf12391 View Post
I'm having an issue with importing an XNALara model into blender, here's what it says....


XNAaraL v1.4
unused spine upper
-
unused head eyelid upper
-
unused head eyelid lower
+
cyclic unused arm right should twist
Traceback <most recent call last>:
File "c:\users\sams club\AppData\Roaming\Blender Foundation\Blender\.blender\scripts\ImportMeshAsci iExtended.py", line 50, in Import
ImportMesh<file, boneCount > 0>
File "C:\Users\sams club\AppData\Roaming\Blender Foundation\Blender\.blender\scripts\ImportMeshAsci iExtended.py", line 376, in ImportMesh
mesh.assignVertsToGroup<vrtxList[i][0], [vrtxList[i][2]], vertxList[i][1], Me
AttributeError: group does not exist!

http://www.blender.org/forum/search....c373f7f6f774e0
The latest Blender importer is version 1.7
DOWNLOAD LINK http://************************/t18-ge...ture-utility-s
You has used version 1.4

The tutorial are here. Blender -- mesh.assignVertsToGroup() AttributeError: group does not exist!

Short description:
  1. Edit the Generic_Item.mesh.ascii file.
  2. Increment the bone counter (first line)
  3. Search the text meshes and insert before this line: 3 dummy lines describing the missing bone (VertsGroup)
  4. Try to import. If this fail, then repeat step 2, step 3 and step 4
__________________
Link removed. - Why ? google, google, google and google.

Last edited by XNAaraL; 08-05-12 at 07:21.
XNAaraL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-12, 05:33   #2933
XNAaraL
Professor
 
XNAaraL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: The worthwhile problems are the U can really solve, the ones U can really contribute something to
Posts: 3,006
Default Blender Texture Paint Mode -- Blender Make seamless textures

Quote:
Originally Posted by ST4RG4ZER View Post
Thank you XNAaraL, I'll also try the procedure you described.
Is that what you did to achieve this effect?:
Quote:
Originally Posted by ST4RG4ZER View Post

I could use some advice on how you did that.
The transition from torso to neck is really kind of in-your-face on the models I'm working on atm. What's the trick?
Solution: (7 different methods )


First way - Blender Texture Paint Mode
1th Step
  • RMB first mesh object
  • Shift RMB 2nd mesh object
  • Ctrl+J
  • Tabulator key
  • w --> Remove Doubles
Quote:
Originally Posted by RoxasKennedy View Post
Joining the meshes and removing doubles?


2nd Step Blender Texture Paint Mode
  • Tabulator key --> Object mode
  • Alt+Z --> Show texture
  • Mode Texture Paint
  • Split Window
  • Mode UV-Image/Editor
Quote:
Originally Posted by Italian_Utent View Post
and work with textures having the same texture part from the end neck to begin body, i used this for some models
[IMG]http://i37.************/259cozm.jpg[/IMG]
Tutorial: http://www.tombraiderforums.com/show...0&postcount=78



Second method - Change the UV Map

OR you can use this way:
Step by step instructions http://www.tombraiderforums.com/show...&postcount=471

[IMG]http://i43.************/qrasso.jpg[/IMG]


The third possibility -- Blender Projection Painting

Quote:
Originally Posted by XNAaraL View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by KSE25 View Post
Poison from Street Fighter x Tekken ^^

As you can see most of her textures are black and white can someone please explain me how I can recolor them with photoshop like the SC IV and V models? I allready tried but it looks ugly
Blender Projection Painting tutorial: http://vimeo.com/5093588


[COLOR="Blue"]
------- german language ---------
Du kannst das Modell in die gleiche Pose stellen wie auf einem Foto. Mit Blender oder ZBrush erstellst Du einen Snapshot als Texture/Layout. Mit Gimp oder Photoshop, Du kopierst das Foto auf das Texture Layout. In Blender oder ZBrush ein "reimport", Modell drehen in eine andere Pose, und das gleiche nocheinmal. Fertig ist die Photorealistic Texture

The fourth variant. XPS -- The latest tutorial. Login and Download the file NormalCopy_files.zip (19.99 MB) with 55 step by step images, because the image hoster are down for ever
http://************************/t32-me...tudio-xps#1518


The 5th variant.
With 3ds max
Quote:
Originally Posted by o0Crofty0o View Post
this thread contains the script: http://www.tombraiderforums.com/showthread.php?t=181251
and some videos about the usage. The stuff about seams is in this one: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rA624...ayer_embedded#!

at about 10 mins =) (when you import the model make sure to import as a single mesh)
I usually use the weld option on 0,01

6. way - ZBrush ZAppLink & Photoshop





7. ZBrush Spotlight




Optimized Texturing in Zbrush 4 Part 1 of 2

Optimized Texturing in Zbrush 4 Part 2 of 2
__________________
Link removed. - Why ? google, google, google and google.

Last edited by XNAaraL; 09-05-12 at 17:46.
XNAaraL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-12, 17:37   #2934
ST4RG4ZER
Student
 
ST4RG4ZER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: CA
Posts: 100
Default

Wow, that's quite the collection of possible ways.
Thank you so much for this summary. Very helpful indeed.
Haven't had time yet to see which of these options works best for the models I'm working on, but I'll definitely check them all.
Thanks again my friend!

edit: I will let you know which of these options suits my liking best.

Last edited by ST4RG4ZER; 09-05-12 at 17:42.
ST4RG4ZER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-12, 18:00   #2935
XNAaraL
Professor
 
XNAaraL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: The worthwhile problems are the U can really solve, the ones U can really contribute something to
Posts: 3,006
Default Nathlose Texture Übergänge --- Saubere Übergänge zwischen verschiedenen Mesh's

Thanks It's always interesting what are the main stream.

- I prefer mostly 1 (Blender Texture Paint) and 4 (XPS)
- The best way in my opinion is 6 or 7 (Projection painting). Zbrush is unfortunately commercially, but cheap. A 30 day trival version are available http://www.pixologic.com/zbrush . <--> Blender since v2.5 has roughly the same functionality with method 3
- Method 2 (change the UV map) need many time.

??? If the seams are between different mesh parts, then only method 4 (XPS pre version) and 5 (3ds Max) works. -- Or you have to create a new texture and UV map.

-------------------- german language ---------------
- Ich bevorzuge um Textur Übergänge bei MOD's zu verbergen immer noch den "Texture Paint" Modus von Blender http://www.tombraiderforums.com/show...0&postcount=78 bzw meine XNALara - araL Erweiterung XPS.
- Für neue Modelle benutze Ich ZBrush.
- Die UV-Map muss nur selten verändert werden. Die Abwicklung sollte Verzehrungs frei sein. Die Lage der Abwicklung sollte der Pose entsprechen, in der das Modell meistens zu sehen ist (Wichtig besonderst für Bump Maps !) Die UV-Map sollte zusammenhängend sein. (Dies war bei diesem Modell nicht der Fall.

! Um die Übergänge zwischen 2 verschiedenen Mesh Parts zu glätten ist es nötig die "Normale" anzugleichen. Benutzen beide Mesh Parts verschiedene Texturen, dann ist dieses (für XNALara Modelle) nur mit XPS oder "Autodesks 3ds Max" möglich. -- Falls man nicht eine neue Texture und UV-Map erstellen will.
__________________
Link removed. - Why ? google, google, google and google.

Last edited by XNAaraL; 09-05-12 at 18:13.
XNAaraL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-12, 03:26   #2936
ST4RG4ZER
Student
 
ST4RG4ZER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: CA
Posts: 100
Default

Since I'm trying to cover up a seam between 2 different meshes and since 3ds max is giving me a headache I was going to try method 4 following your tutorial found here:
http://************************/t32-me...tudio-xps#1517

But there's no "visible" button, no "skinning" or "skinning only exact" etc. to be found anywhere in the release of XPS I downloaded which is the most recent version.



edit: Your tutorial states I'd need XPS version 5.7 which I can't seem to find a link for anywhere.

Or am I just missing something?

Last edited by ST4RG4ZER; 10-05-12 at 03:41.
ST4RG4ZER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-12, 04:54   #2937
XNAaraL
Professor
 
XNAaraL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: The worthwhile problems are the U can really solve, the ones U can really contribute something to
Posts: 3,006
Default

Right. XPS version 5.7 - May 2009 I have never distributed publicly, because it was not allowed by Dusan at this time. This preview version contains many features which I have not yet integrated into the current version XPS. "Auto rigging", "Auto skinning", "Bone weight copy", "Merge (combine) 2 figures", "Recalculate Normals" ... The effort to integrate these functions takes a long time, because the internal design of my application and Dusan's code are very different. I've only included what was demanded. And every time I was insulted then. Most of the same people who have request the functionality. Generic character, shadows, animation, optional items, move more then 1 figure along ...
Few people have received in recent times this old version.
__________________
Link removed. - Why ? google, google, google and google.

Last edited by XNAaraL; 10-05-12 at 04:56.
XNAaraL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-12, 11:45   #2938
daventry
Tomb Raider
 
daventry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: South Africa
Posts: 18,913
Exclamation

I have these Spikes by Scrat and they arent in the Center
http://www.tombraiderforums.com/show...postcount=1884
http://www.sendspace.com/file/9bdon1

I Import it to Blender as .obj then i Center it, i Export it with No problem, but when i go to XPS its Invisible.

I Import again as .obj Extended, then Export it. i open it in XPS and i get Error No .mtl
__________________
Ive got Albums, go check em out

Last edited by daventry; 10-05-12 at 11:49.
daventry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-12, 12:41   #2939
ST4RG4ZER
Student
 
ST4RG4ZER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: CA
Posts: 100
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by XNAaraL View Post
Right. XPS version 5.7 - May 2009 I have never distributed publicly, because it was not allowed by Dusan at this time. This preview version contains many features which I have not yet integrated into the current version XPS. "Auto rigging", "Auto skinning", "Bone weight copy", "Merge (combine) 2 figures", "Recalculate Normals" ... The effort to integrate these functions takes a long time, because the internal design of my application and Dusan's code are very different. I've only included what was demanded. And every time I was insulted then. Most of the same people who have request the functionality. Generic character, shadows, animation, optional items, move more then 1 figure along ...
Few people have received in recent times this old version.
Oh, ok, too bad, ... but how am I to try method #2 then? Is there no way to download version 5.7 anywhere?
ST4RG4ZER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-12, 12:52   #2940
XNAaraL
Professor
 
XNAaraL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: The worthwhile problems are the U can really solve, the ones U can really contribute something to
Posts: 3,006
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by daventry View Post
I have these Spikes by Scrat and they arent in the Center
http://www.tombraiderforums.com/show...postcount=1884
http://www.sendspace.com/file/9bdon1

I Import it to Blender as .obj then i Center it, i Export it with No problem, but when i go to XPS its Invisible.

I Import again as .obj Extended, then Export it. i open it in XPS and i get Error No .mtl
This is easy to fix.
  1. Load the model by Scrat inside XPS
  2. Center the model by rotate the root bone 21 degree and move the model X -0.414 Y -1.94 and 0.316 along the Z axis
    1. root: 0 21 0
    2. Pos: -0.414; -1.94; 0.316
  3. Save the model with Modify-->Save_Generic-->modify_armature_according_to_the_current_pose inside a new folder.
  4. Load this new model inside XPS and confirm the question "Shoud this be solved automatically?" with YES

BTW: You know, if you import the model as .obj to Blender and export it as Generic_Item.mesh, then the mesh part names need a matching Render Group number?
__________________
Link removed. - Why ? google, google, google and google.

Last edited by XNAaraL; 10-05-12 at 13:02.
XNAaraL is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 04:40.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.