www.tombraiderforums.com

Go Back   www.tombraiderforums.com > Tomb Raider Series > Tomb Raider

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 24-03-18, 18:49   #1
Nephyller
Hobbyist
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: France
Posts: 3
Default Strange problem with Tomb Raider I (Steam)

(In advance, my apologies for my eventual mistakes in English)
Hi everyone,
Since a couple of months, I have, like the title said, strange problem with Tomb Raider I...
The problem is the following:
For no reasons, frequently Tomb Raider 1 suffers of lags/slowdown and the weirdest in this story it's that when I activate the number of FPS, the number is always at 30...
I think that it's really strange that I have this problem (that I haven't before) for an old game like Tomb Raider I and not for my other games who need more powers...
If someone knows what to do, I will be thankful !
Thanks in advance.
Nephyller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-03-18, 18:59   #2
archfiend
Historian
 
archfiend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 331
Default

Since DosBox is an emulation these problems can happen easily.All the classics except for Angel Of Darkness runs at 30 FPS. So you can't increase it. But to play with minimum problems you can download Ati Pack. It doesn't need emulation and it works almost perfectly.
archfiend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-03-18, 19:00   #3
renansimoes
Hobbyist
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 14
Default

Try to update your video card driver, this happened to me once.
renansimoes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-03-18, 21:14   #4
Nephyller
Hobbyist
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: France
Posts: 3
Default

Thanks for your answers !
Unfortunatly, I had already ATI pack and tried so much time to reinstall my drivers and the result is the same...
I should be cursed !
Nephyller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-03-18, 20:47   #5
tampering
Hobbyist
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 1
Default

If you are running current Windows and updated with the security patches, and running a slower CPU or one older than 2-3 years. I would bet this has to do with the security patches released in January for Spectre and Meltdown CPU security design defects.

I was playing through TR using the ATI wrapper version in January and noted exactly what you describe after the Windows patch that month.

When it happens, execution just freezes for about 1 second and then resumes, checking the windows task monitor reports no CPU spikes or anything wrong. I'm seeing it in everything from DoxBox, Desktop Windows software, VMWare, and even newer games like 2013 TombRaider (in one of the menus).

I have tested removing the security patch temporarily and performance was restored.

If your system is new, a BIOS update may be available to restore performance while keeping the system secure. Check your manufacturer's support site. Older systems like mine won't get hardware fixes and will have to live with the performance hit caused by the software patch if you want a protected system.
tampering is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-18, 18:35   #6
andre_costa
Historian
 
andre_costa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Portugal
Posts: 320
Default

So, I didn't find the general thread about Tomb Raider (and I wasn't up to create a new thread just for this) and as I'm having some troubles with the steam version, I decided to post here.

See this...?
https://youtu.be/MF2BS3OBBDM?t=5m54s
I can't make Lara grab the ledge. She jumps, but she doesn't grab the ledge. Does anyone know I can fix this?

Last edited by andre_costa; 12-06-18 at 18:37.
andre_costa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-18, 21:13   #7
Xevengar
Student
 
Xevengar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 194
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by andre_costa View Post
So, I didn't find the general thread about Tomb Raider (and I wasn't up to create a new thread just for this) and as I'm having some troubles with the steam version, I decided to post here.

See this...?
https://youtu.be/MF2BS3OBBDM?t=5m54s
I can't make Lara grab the ledge. She jumps, but she doesn't grab the ledge. Does anyone know I can fix this?
Don't jump and grab. Press action and up while facing the wall
Xevengar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-18, 21:41   #8
andre_costa
Historian
 
andre_costa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Portugal
Posts: 320
Default

It worked! Thank you so much!
andre_costa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-18, 21:58   #9
SrDanielPonces
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Portugal
Posts: 8,046
Default

wtf the youtube video you linked had the guy explaining how you could do it, i don't understand
SrDanielPonces is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-18, 22:45   #10
andre_costa
Historian
 
andre_costa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Portugal
Posts: 320
Default

Oooh wow
I haven't watched it (i haven't heard it, actually - the sound was off)
Sorry

Last edited by andre_costa; 12-06-18 at 22:46.
andre_costa is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 11:36.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.