www.tombraiderforums.com

Go Back   www.tombraiderforums.com > Tomb Raider Modding > Tomb Raider Level Editor > Software Development

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 16-04-18, 11:03   #1241
Dustie
Relic Hunter
 
Dustie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Poland
Posts: 7,938
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RocketLombax View Post
That's the ironic part. After this, I tried a texture set very similar to the set I compiled myself that was included with Tomb Editor by the name of ManorNew.TGA in the Textures folder. Swapping out my texture set and using that one allowed it to build the level now, despite it being a lot larger in size. Is there by any chance a particular compression format the textures must be saved in? Maybe that's what I'm doing wrong.
You might have something in your texture set file then. TGA, PNG and BMP should work, I can't remember if there are other formats on the list of supported ones. I once made a PNG using Gimp and it caused a crash too, so you might be onto something... what format are you saving as again? Try BMP, I always find them safest.

Quote:
In terms of other things I've found, Tomb Editor's Wad Tool doesn't seem to like wads that have only static items in them, like with some of the items uploaded to TRSearch. It gives an error and doesn't open them. It can be circumvented by opening them in the old wadmerger and putting the static items into a wad with movables though.

Also, I don't know if I'm doing something wrong, but the sound editor doesn't seem to function right in the most recent released version. The sounds and settings changed revert to their state prior to editing when selecting another sound slot, even if you save them each after editing.
Both WadTool and SoundTool are not finished, hence the issues.
Dustie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-04-18, 16:15   #1242
RocketLombax
Hobbyist
 
RocketLombax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 13
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dustie View Post
You might have something in your texture set file then. TGA, PNG and BMP should work, I can't remember if there are other formats on the list of supported ones. I once made a PNG using Gimp and it caused a crash too, so you might be onto something... what format are you saving as again? Try BMP, I always find them safest.



Both WadTool and SoundTool are not finished, hence the issues.
Ah, I figured as much! Tomb Editor may be unfinished, but it's still easily one of the most competent, carefully crafted pieces of fan-made (or even professional) software I've ever used. It still pleases me so much to see this amount of passion put into continuing the TRLE legend, even after all these years! I'm eager for the upcoming developments, but I'll remain patient.

As far as the texture goes, I honestly can't figure out what's wrong with it. It was a 24bit TGA and I tried saving it as BMP and PNG, but there was still no luck in getting TE to build. Seems to be the same for all the Manor Textures by Mike Quahe from TRSearch in their original forms. I was only using this texture set that I put together for testing purposes, but I'd really like to be able to avoid this problem in the future if I want to do any real work with levels.

If anybody wants to try, I put the texture set here: https://www.dropbox.com/s/8yxc7d4h4u...bined.TGA?dl=0
I cut the textures, assembled them, and saved them using Photoshop, so maybe I just got the settings wrong when saving. I don't really know.
RocketLombax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-04-18, 17:29   #1243
Titak
Moderator
 
Titak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Drenthe, The Netherlands
Posts: 30,422
Default

TGA needs to have the "uncompressed" option ticked when saving it.
At least TRLE/NGLE need the TGA to be uncompressed.
__________________
If it walks like a duck and if it quacks like a duck, it is a duck.
Titak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-04-18, 17:38   #1244
bagas
Archaeologist
 
bagas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Inside my head
Posts: 1,402
Default

Does this work with TRNG yet?
__________________
also known as dextralwolf on reddit and others
bagas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-04-18, 19:51   #1245
Titak
Moderator
 
Titak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Drenthe, The Netherlands
Posts: 30,422
Default

Not completely.
__________________
If it walks like a duck and if it quacks like a duck, it is a duck.
Titak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-04-18, 04:37   #1246
bagas
Archaeologist
 
bagas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Inside my head
Posts: 1,402
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Titak View Post
Not completely.
Ah... I see, do basic scripts work? I really want to move on to a better roomedit but there are a lot of NG scripts in the project that I'm working on hehe, thanks Titak btw
__________________
also known as dextralwolf on reddit and others
bagas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-04-18, 11:42   #1247
LoreRaider
Explorer
 
LoreRaider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Italy
Posts: 660
Default

This editor supports already a lot of TRNG stuff, it can be just a little buggy on some things, so yes, basic script works, you can still use NG_Center for that
__________________
"Don't be surprised if one day, I'm just out of here"
LoreRaider is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 05:03.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.