www.tombraiderforums.com

Go Back   www.tombraiderforums.com > Tomb Raider Modding > Tomb Raider Level Editor > Software Development

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old Yesterday, 06:47   #1481
DJ Full
Professor
 
DJ Full's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Poland (CET)
Posts: 3,901
Default

Wait so are there "collision issues" or is it "impossible in the engine"?
Since you don't walk on the ceiling, why not to leave the option.
DJ Full is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 06:55   #1482
MontyTRC
Historian
 
MontyTRC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Italy
Posts: 367
Default

Becasue you could always jump and hit the ceiling and in this case you would notice the issue Remember that diagonal steps and walls are just a side effect (useful, in this case) of the complex setup done by Core about triangular collisions. So we must accept that there're some limitations
__________________
Tomb Editor Main developer
MontyTRC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 06:57   #1483
MontyTRC
Historian
 
MontyTRC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Italy
Posts: 367
Default

I would thank all of you for you time spent on testing the editor. This is a very complex piece of software, thousand light years beyond the original winroomedit.exe, and with your help we'll keep it bug-free
__________________
Tomb Editor Main developer
MontyTRC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 08:03   #1484
DJ Full
Professor
 
DJ Full's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Poland (CET)
Posts: 3,901
Default

Yep I know, I'm only saying if we (builders) are aware of the collision problems we could use diagonal ceiling slopes just for the visuals and make ceilings high enough not to bump into them. It's actually nothing new because we've been doing just that because of the box limit. Flat floors and sophisticated ceilings So yeah, if diagonal slopes are technically possible I think you could leave them be. They won't disturb
DJ Full is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 08:09   #1485
Caesum
Tomb Raider
 
Caesum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Poland, Warsaw Gender: Male
Posts: 11,215
Default

Maybe create a possibility to allow "incorrect" triangles when such option is selected + create a selectable overlay that shows how the collisions are really placed? This way one could determine if the illegal geometry breaks or does not break the level.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MontyTRC View Post
I would thank all of you for you time spent on testing the editor. This is a very complex piece of software, thousand light years beyond the original winroomedit.exe, and with your help we'll keep it bug-free
My entire project depends on this editor so don't you ever give up on perfecting it.

Last edited by Caesum; Yesterday at 12:38.
Caesum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 14:46   #1486
Dustie
Relic Hunter
 
Dustie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Poland
Posts: 8,113
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DJ Full View Post
Yep I know, I'm only saying if we (builders) are aware of the collision problems we could use diagonal ceiling slopes just for the visuals and make ceilings high enough not to bump into them. It's actually nothing new because we've been doing just that because of the box limit. Flat floors and sophisticated ceilings So yeah, if diagonal slopes are technically possible I think you could leave them be. They won't disturb
Quote:
Originally Posted by Caesum View Post
Maybe create a possibility to allow "incorrect" triangles when such option is selected + create a selectable overlay that shows how the collisions are really placed? This way one could determine if the illegal geometry breaks or does not break the level.
I already suggested that a while ago, but since triangles are "extra" and there are other things to do first it might take a while before this is implemented.
Dustie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 22:54   #1487
DJ Full
Professor
 
DJ Full's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Poland (CET)
Posts: 3,901
Default

How can I prevent my custom window layout from resetting to default?
When I save from Window > Save current layout the XML config is saved.
But then file gets resaved on exit from TombEditor, the layout resetting.
I tried config XML, and manually apply the settings.
All of them, resolution, position, windowed mode, swapping areas, is saved.
I don't understand why manual changes are saved but the rest is reset.
DJ Full is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 03:59.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.