www.tombraiderforums.com

Go Back   www.tombraiderforums.com > Tomb Raider Modding > Tomb Raider Level Editor > Software Development

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-04-13, 18:37   #11
TeslaRus
Student
 
TeslaRus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 172
Default character controller

Hi all! I make a character controller and try difference ways. Now I use faster way - static position fixing by ghost object (capsule shape). Convex sweep test for capsule is too slow but not for sphere. Convex sweep test (sphere shape) is used for eliminating tunneling effect in high characters speed cases. May be shakes while moving I will try to fix it .
Changes:
1) Room mesh normals calculates like in all other meshes (more smooth picture).
2) If floor slant more than 30 deg, Lara sly down (this time without animation change).
3) Now I render full mesh with glDrawElements - it is much faster than glDrawArrays for every polygon. But may be glitches with skyboxes. I have no one on my PC, but some people say about "bad skyboxes".
4) You can choose objects by RMB (right mouse button) and switch it's animations by "q" and "e" buttons.
P.S. Sorry for slow progress, some deals in work and dissertation and TR 2013 is too interest
Thanks to Lwmte for animation control fixing!!!
TeslaRus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-04-13, 08:49   #12
Ado Croft
Student
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 244
Default

Thank you very much for everythink
The last update is cool and i'm very happy you solved problem with slopes and also the collision of Lara works good
I'm looking forward to this engine. Good job and good luck
Ado Croft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-04-13, 18:23   #13
Ado Croft
Student
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 244
Default

Hi everybody

Did you know that is possible to play your own level in the tesla rus engine? I created a custom level which had one room, this room was created in Metasequoia. I wanted to try engine's collision system and it works great, thanks Tesla Rus

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature...&v=lmVG2xwNVeE
Ado Croft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-04-13, 16:29   #14
meta2tr
Historian
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 368
Default

That's really great
meta2tr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-04-13, 16:47   #15
Titak
Moderator
 
Titak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Drenthe, The Netherlands
Posts: 29,231
Default

Looks good.

@ Ado Croft:
Did you use the original TRLE to create the TR4 file or TRNG?
__________________
If it walks like a duck and if it quacks like a duck, it is a duck.
Titak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-04-13, 17:31   #16
Ado Croft
Student
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 244
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Titak View Post
Did you use the original TRLE to create the TR4 file or TRNG?
I used TRNG, ofcourse
But there is some problem with custom Wads, when i used my own wads it didn't work, only with original TR4 wads it works. Maybe Tesla Rus will fix it later
Ado Croft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-04-13, 17:45   #17
Titak
Moderator
 
Titak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Drenthe, The Netherlands
Posts: 29,231
Default

Hmmm... too bad custom wads don't work.
Hopefully it can be fixed.
__________________
If it walks like a duck and if it quacks like a duck, it is a duck.
Titak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-04-13, 16:40   #18
TeslaRus
Student
 
TeslaRus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 172
Default Maybe Tesla Rus will fix it later

Hmm... To fix problems with custom levels loading I need
- custom level (that does not work)
- level specification (documentation, file structure). As I understood, custom levels has a TR4 format with a little modification.
I was trying to load TRLE levels (TR4 level loading function), but I got zlib error (Z_DATA_ERROR (-3)). Maybe offset or data size correction needs...
You can send level and documentation to my mail.
TeslaRus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-04-13, 17:10   #19
meta2tr
Historian
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 368
Default

Has the level been encrypted? If so, it won't load.

Edit: the custom level format is the same as the format used in the original levels, but I think Wadmerger causes Animations[].FrameEnd to be -1 in some cases when animations are edited.

Last edited by meta2tr; 29-04-13 at 17:15.
meta2tr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-04-13, 17:47   #20
TeslaRus
Student
 
TeslaRus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 172
Default level format

Quote:
Has the level been encrypted? If so, it won't load.
I do not know, but it looks like encryption: engine reads header correct (number of rooms... num_textiles). The first uncompression cause zlib data error (-3). It is before meshes, rooms, animations and all other loading. In example I was trying to load "MoA02-courtyard.tr4" (Titak's Mists of Avalon - perfect work!!! But I saw youtube how to complete first level I didn't saw that one block is moveable.)
TeslaRus is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 19:53.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.