www.tombraiderforums.com

Go Back   www.tombraiderforums.com > Tomb Raider Modding > Tomb Raider Level Editor > Unofficial Tomb Raider Level Editor

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 13-01-18, 11:11   #1
thewolf
Student
 
thewolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 160
Question Creating cutscenes for TR2?

Hello,

I'm already building a new levelset for TR2 and I was thinking about adding cutscenes between the levels like in the original TR2.
(https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HAQgfcxBGdg)

Sadly , I have no idea how to do something like this. I already wrote some people who could might help me out, but I had no success
So I started this thread, that hopefully someone with experience could help me with this
thewolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-18, 11:32   #2
Titak
Moderator
 
Titak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Drenthe, The Netherlands
Posts: 30,082
Default

Since I've never worked with this editor or engine, I don't know if it would work, but here's the old TRLE way of doing that:

The cutscenes are seperate "levels".
So each level has its own levelfile.
In the TRLE LARA object, animation 11 is a one-frame animation that acts as a transition between a lot of other animations and her standing still animation.
If you put the cutscene animation, or at least the first one if Lara has multiple animations during the cutscene, in the animation 11 slot, she will play this animation right after the level has loaded. No key input from the player required.
With TRLE you can disable all Lara control by setting some codebits in the OCB of the first flyby camera. Setting a neutral StateID and no StateID changes in the animation(s) also help with disabling Lara control.

Ofcourse, I'm not sure how to do all this for the TR2 engine, but this TRLE method might point you in the right direction anyway.
__________________
If it walks like a duck and if it quacks like a duck, it is a duck.
Titak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-18, 13:51   #3
thewolf
Student
 
thewolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 160
Default

Hmh , okay ..... .Does anyone know what tools could help me? Tools that work with the unofficial editor?
thewolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-18, 14:47   #4
TR-Freak
Professor
 
TR-Freak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Deutschland
Posts: 4,244
Default

Afaik tombpc.dat has the ability to create scriptable Events (Flipeffects equivalent in TR4/5 ?)



Maybe you can trigger these somehow?


In the separate Cutscene Levels, Always Lara Animation 0 will be played.
However, we don't know how the Cutscene Level itself work regarding the Camera.
__________________
"Your perception of good timing is...bad!"
TR-Freak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-01-18, 12:16   #5
thewolf
Student
 
thewolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 160
Default

But how do I create animations for Lara?
thewolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-01-18, 12:18   #6
SrDanielPonces
Relic Hunter
 
SrDanielPonces's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Portugal
Posts: 7,449
Default

i think the same way you could do in trle? I have no idea how wads work in tr2
__________________
you make me cringe. so do i
SrDanielPonces is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-01-18, 19:31   #7
Danath
Explorer
 
Danath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Barcelona, Spain
Posts: 843
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Titak View Post
The cutscenes are seperate "levels".
So each level has its own levelfile.
Yes, that's exactly how it works.

You might already know, but as an example here is the commands for The Great Wall in the game script:



The cut1.TR2 is the separate level that has all animations and objects in it. No idea how that works, though...

I wish i could help more, i'm also very interested about this. Afaik, no one has done this before.
__________________
You can leave tomorrow. Are you busy tomorrow? :3
Danath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-01-18, 21:23   #8
thewolf
Student
 
thewolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 160
Default

What I need is a tool to make animations for Lara, that works with the unofficial Editor, but I can't find something like this
thewolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-01-18, 21:51   #9
Titak
Moderator
 
Titak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Drenthe, The Netherlands
Posts: 30,082
Default

TRviewer lets you export animations, it's what I always use, but does it work with TR2 files?

And Fexanim can also export and import animations in MS3d format, which can be used in a free animation program called Milkshape or something similar.
But does Fexanim work with TR2 files?
__________________
If it walks like a duck and if it quacks like a duck, it is a duck.
Titak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-01-18, 00:39   #10
Danath
Explorer
 
Danath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Barcelona, Spain
Posts: 843
Lightbulb

I have checked in TRViewer, and you can right-click any movable and select "export to 3DS" and a dialog opens in which you can select what animation you want to export it with. There's also another option "export to Fairy" that i don't know what it does, it generates a file with ".fkeys" extension.

I suppose you can export to 3DS selecting an animation, then use a program to open that file so you can edit the animation, then import it back?
__________________
You can leave tomorrow. Are you busy tomorrow? :3
Danath is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 03:10.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.