www.tombraiderforums.com

Go Back   www.tombraiderforums.com > Tomb Raider Modding > Tomb Raider Level Editor > DXTRE3D Level Editor

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 25-08-18, 14:10   #1
thewolf
Historian
 
thewolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 415
Question Converting statics from TR4/TRNG into TR2

Hello everybody,

I want to use some statics from this site: http://laraslevelbase.org/stuff/inde...=search&id=%25


Somehow I'am not able to convert those statics into my TR2 base file(wad) as those files come with different format
Is there a tool or something which can transfer or export the static ino a compatible file format so that Trviewer, Fexmerger or Pixstr works?
thewolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-08-18, 14:48   #2
Danath
Archaeologist
 
Danath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Barcelona, Spain
Posts: 1,159
Lightbulb

Downloaded object wads from there have to be converted to the .TR4 level format before they can be opened with TRViewer. That is done with TRLE, but i don't know fully well how that is done yet.

The method i'm using for adding new statics in TR2 is:
- Download a level from trle.net that can have the type of statics i want.
- Open the .tr4 with TRViewer.
- Export the meshes.
- Open my .tr2 and import the meshes i saved.

That's way easier. But i worry about how to give credit for the objects/music used.
__________________
Working on Tomb Raider II: The Ancient Jade Mask
Danath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-08-18, 16:28   #3
disapearing-boy
Archaeologist
 
disapearing-boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Čire
Posts: 2,203
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Danath View Post
Downloaded object wads from there have to be converted to the .TR4 level format before they can be opened with TRViewer. That is done with TRLE, but i don't know fully well how that is done yet.

If you have TRLE installed :

1. Add the objects you downloaded into any TRLE wad (for example the Tutorial wad) using Wadmerger.

2. Use the Level Converter Tool (Tom2PC Tool) to generate a TR4 file. Simply open that level's file in the Wad folder and click 'Build'. You don't need to use the Level Editor itself.

3. Your TR4 data file will appear in the data folder. Now use TRViewer like you normally do

Quote:
Originally Posted by Danath View Post
That's way easier.
That's quite a lot of work - certainly not easier!

Downloading TRLE will save your bandwidth (and time) instead of downloading new levels every time you need an object.
__________________
"Never sigh for a better world, it's already composed, played and told..."
disapearing-boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-08-18, 19:24   #4
Danath
Archaeologist
 
Danath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Barcelona, Spain
Posts: 1,159
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by disapearing-boy View Post
If you have TRLE installed :

1. Add the objects you downloaded into any TRLE wad (for example the Tutorial wad) using Wadmerger.

2. Use the Level Converter Tool (Tom2PC Tool) to generate a TR4 file. Simply open that level's file in the Wad folder and click 'Build'. You don't need to use the Level Editor itself.

3. Your TR4 data file will appear in the data folder. Now use TRViewer like you normally do
Thank you! That's actually quite simple to do, awesome.

Quote:
Originally Posted by disapearing-boy View Post
That's quite a lot of work - certainly not easier!
That's me brute-forcing my way around a problem.
__________________
Working on Tomb Raider II: The Ancient Jade Mask
Danath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-08-18, 20:43   #5
thewolf
Historian
 
thewolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 415
Default

Awesome, thank you for the help guys
thewolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-08-18, 23:18   #6
DaroRaider
Student
 
DaroRaider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: San Juan, Argentina
Posts: 132
Default

Quote:
That's way easier. But I worry about how to give credit for the objects/music used.
I had the same doubt when I was thinking about the credits.
I decided to put the credits in the ending screens.
You have 7 or 8 screens, that is more than enough,I guess.
DaroRaider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-08-18, 22:18   #7
Danath
Archaeologist
 
Danath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Barcelona, Spain
Posts: 1,159
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DaroRaider View Post
I decided to put the credits in the ending screens.You have 7 or 8 screens, that is more than enough,I guess.
I mean discovering who made what object, not where to put the credits.
__________________
Working on Tomb Raider II: The Ancient Jade Mask
Danath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-08-18, 00:15   #8
DaroRaider
Student
 
DaroRaider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: San Juan, Argentina
Posts: 132
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Danath View Post
I mean discovering who made what object, not where to put the credits.
lol,

yes, if you don't have the author or the source you can write in your readme: "if you are the author of this "xx" object, feel free to contact me so I can update you in the credits", meanwhile, you can put eg: a Baddy Moveable by "?????". I did that in my last project.
DaroRaider is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 23:28.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.