www.tombraiderforums.com

Go Back   www.tombraiderforums.com > Tomb Raider Series > The Last Revelation

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-11-18, 16:32   #1
annacroft
Historian
 
annacroft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Parisian Backstreets, somewhere in a parallel universe...
Posts: 373
Default Fire Sprite Flickering on and around screen when playing?

Hey everyone,

So I'm currently playing TRLR and every time I play I get this occasional, annoying fire flicker on the screen. It can happen where loads of them flicker on screen at once and then disappear, or one just flickers on and disappears. Does anyone know how to fix this? I'm playing the steam version.
__________________
"Broccoli with attitude!"
annacroft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-18, 17:34   #2
LoreRaider
Explorer
 
LoreRaider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Italy
Posts: 868
Default

It's an engine bug sadly, this happens when too many flames are active in the level
This happens too on fanmade levels
__________________
📸
LoreRaider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-18, 19:49   #3
Maverin
Explorer
 
Maverin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Dragon Paradise
Posts: 746
Default

Do you have a screenshot by any chance? At first I thought about screen tearing (vertical sync), but since you say it looks like a flame it has to be something else. Never encountered anything like that as far as I can recall.
__________________
Remember
Maverin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-18, 20:03   #4
LoreRaider
Explorer
 
LoreRaider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Italy
Posts: 868
Default

Here it is, in this case the issue is caused by too many smoke emitters activated (the ones in Trenches level), with flames it's the same but with red/orange colour
Sometimes they appear like pop-up, sometimes like a moving line
https://streamable.com/6fx10
__________________
📸

Last edited by LoreRaider; 07-11-18 at 20:07.
LoreRaider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-18, 16:43   #5
Maverin
Explorer
 
Maverin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Dragon Paradise
Posts: 746
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LoreRaider View Post
Here it is, in this case the issue is caused by too many smoke emitters activated (the ones in Trenches level), with flames it's the same but with red/orange colour
Sometimes they appear like pop-up, sometimes like a moving line
https://streamable.com/6fx10
How odd. Never noticed that in any of my playthroughs
__________________
Remember
Maverin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-11-18, 04:43   #6
Girafarig32
Professor
 
Girafarig32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Willard's Well Species: Unidentified
Posts: 2,805
Default

I've noticed that flame bug a lot myself. The flames will only appear for a fraction of a second. I haven't noticed it in chronicles, though. Agreed that it is a bug with flame emitters.
__________________
Don't waste your time, or time will waste you.
Girafarig32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-11-18, 11:07   #7
dcw123
Relic Hunter
 
dcw123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: England, UK Gender:Male
Posts: 6,437
Default

I've had it happen in TR3 (at least I'm sure it happened) and in TRLE games also.
Its annoying as hell - first time it happened it made me jump
dcw123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 08:45.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.