www.tombraiderforums.com

Go Back   www.tombraiderforums.com > Tomb Raider Modding > Tomb Raider Level Editor

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 28-09-17, 20:21   #1
dinne
Explorer
 
dinne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Italia
Posts: 620
Default What is the standard measure of a TR quad in Metasequoia?

I don't know how to set it in Metasequoia to create stuffs considering those scale. In some TRLE levels I have seen squared blocks as interactive/decorative objects of the size of the quads, so I think that someone knows the secret value for scaling...
dinne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-09-17, 20:50   #2
Titak
Moderator
 
Titak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Drenthe, The Netherlands
Posts: 29,651
Default

For me one block is 1024x1024x1024.
I make my objects in MQO file format.
__________________
If it walks like a duck and if it quacks like a duck, it is a duck.
Titak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-09-17, 20:53   #3
Kapu
Professor
 
Kapu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Northwoods of Wisconsin
Posts: 3,023
Default

These are the grid settings I use in Meta, courtesy of Kosmos.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kosmos View Post
Here is my configuration :

Interval grid : 64
Size square : 512
Interval square : 64

One classic block on the editor = 128x128x128 on meta

To save a dxf :
Multiply : 0.800
Digit : -1
Change : YZ

To load a dxf :
Multiply : 1.250
Digit : 1
Change : YZ
Invert faces

Values ​​are cool to deal with : 32,64,128,512,1024...
And they are exact.
128x0.8 = 102.4 then 51.2 thanks to the digit (I guess).
128/1.25 = 102.4 then 51.2 thanks to the digit...
Kapu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-09-17, 21:46   #4
dinne
Explorer
 
dinne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Italia
Posts: 620
Default

Many many many many thanks, I'll try both the measures.
dinne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-09-17, 08:38   #5
TombGuardian
Archaeologist
 
TombGuardian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Italy
Posts: 1,413
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kapu View Post
128x128x128
?
I read a tutorial and it says that in meta one square is 100.4?
TombGuardian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-09-17, 08:53   #6
Joey79100
Archaeologist
 
Joey79100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: France
Posts: 2,246
Default

Why use DXF now that we have MQO support in StrPix? The scale is 1:1 with MQO files, so 1024 in Meta = 1024 in TRLE.
__________________
"Everytime you use WadMerger's Sound Manager, a kitten drowns in a poop pool."
Joey79100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-09-17, 12:35   #7
Dustie
Relic Hunter
 
Dustie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Poland
Posts: 6,831
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joey79100 View Post
Why use DXF now that we have MQO support in StrPix? The scale is 1:1 with MQO files, so 1024 in Meta = 1024 in TRLE.
I'm not sure but it seems that tutorials just weren't updated to acknowledge that feature.

Which would be nice to do, I guess.
Dustie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-09-17, 22:15   #8
Kapu
Professor
 
Kapu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Northwoods of Wisconsin
Posts: 3,023
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TombGuardian View Post
?
I read a tutorial and it says that in meta one square is 100.4?
There are multiple grid settings you can use to meet the equivalent of a TRLE block. With the settings I use, a block is 128 units. It works, trust me.
Kapu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-17, 19:19   #9
The Great Chi
The Inscrutable One
 
The Great Chi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Beyond the Floating Islands
Posts: 8,738
Default

The way I tend to do it, is visually for a size comparison, and it is a good check even if you do it mathematically using units

Just insert into 3D meta a pushable block mesh out of the TR game, and you can then visually compare it to the new mesh being made. I also have a full 3D version of a standing Lara mesh, which also gives a good comparison.

Here is an example of a pushable block compared to a new 3D motorbike scooter. You can rotate the view in all three axis in 3D. Once the motorbike scooter is the correct scale (using rope and scale), you can remove the 'block (using rope and delete). Then put the new motorbike scooter into final position in 3D and save (rope then move then save).

__________________
Humble words by The Great Chi

Last edited by The Great Chi; 11-10-17 at 11:01.
The Great Chi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 17:29.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.