www.tombraiderforums.com

Go Back   www.tombraiderforums.com > Tomb Raider Modding > Tomb Raider Level Editor > Software Development

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 28-11-16, 14:41   #661
tomb2player
Archaeologist
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Poland
Posts: 1,007
Default

Out of curiosity, you didn't had FPS problems in levels with this amount of tiles?
__________________
Tomb Raider: RMS Titanic
tomb2player is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-11-16, 15:09   #662
VictorXD
Relic Hunter
 
VictorXD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: pillow
Posts: 7,831
Default

Oooh gee that's a lot! I guess I'm ok to go ahead with texturing the level then lol Thanks for the help

And tomb2: nope I didn't. Maybe it was because it is a small level in regards to size. There's there's only 2 areas that are big, the rest is composed of small chambers.


Oh oops, you meant psiko lol That's what you get for posting before properly waking up.
__________________
Persecution to all non Luds Gate believers may God's wrath fall upon you sinners

Last edited by VictorXD; 28-11-16 at 15:13.
VictorXD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-11-16, 15:10   #663
psiko
Archaeologist
 
psiko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 1,584
Default

it's a complex answer, the amont of tiles is the less important for lowering the framerate: what I find is the most important is a wide open map with several rooms rendered at the same moment, and a huge amont of statics with collision box (so with a collision, not just,, let's say, "grass" items) rendered contemporarly. In fact, many levels without meta2tr, lag even more than mine, if they did not optimize the map.
This was something still to be learned when I was building my HS (first HS levels I built were far in the 2009, or 2010), but now we have a deeper and wider knowledge about this.
Some of my smooth levels started lagging just because I put in the map, few enemies or animating items.

Last edited by psiko; 28-11-16 at 15:11.
psiko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-17, 06:48   #664
mizuno_suisei
Relic Hunter
 
mizuno_suisei's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 5,858
Default

Is there a way to trick a .tr2 file to converting to a tr4 and have Mets2tr work? I'd love to grab some room geometry intact from some old cutscenes

Tr2prj is getting me nowhere
__________________
運なら自分で掴むわ。
mizuno_suisei is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-17, 13:02   #665
Dustie
Relic Hunter
 
Dustie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: AoD 1.5 by freakraider (Poland)
Posts: 8,105
Default

Hmm... Did you try FexInspect if it has the option to export rooms?

If not, then maybe get the level you need using TR2PRJ, open the project and cut out the stuff you don't need, compile the level and you have a TR4 file.
Dustie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-17, 01:42   #666
sapper
Archaeologist
 
sapper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,591
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mizuno_suisei View Post
Is there a way to trick a .tr2 file to converting to a tr4 and have Mets2tr work? I'd love to grab some room geometry intact from some old cutscenes

Tr2prj is getting me nowhere
TurboPascal made a tool to extract maps from any TR. It may be what you are after.

See this post http://www.tombraiderforums.com/show...3&postcount=12
__________________
Check trsearch\Tools for some of my programs
sapper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-17, 04:47   #667
mizuno_suisei
Relic Hunter
 
mizuno_suisei's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 5,858
Default

Thankyou Sapper, will give that one a go!

And thankyou also Dustie. Like I said, TR2PRJ isn't a very trustworthy program unfortunately. I have two exe versions and their fails and errors are always never the same, seems almost sporadical. I tend to get a successful rip one in five times..and even so, geometry and textures are all broken. Ahh well
__________________
運なら自分で掴むわ。
mizuno_suisei is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-17, 15:10   #668
Dustie
Relic Hunter
 
Dustie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: AoD 1.5 by freakraider (Poland)
Posts: 8,105
Default

What level are you converting? I get texture and geometry errors too, but mostly they're easy to fix, especially with the original level as a reference...
Dustie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-18, 00:44   #669
JMN
Student
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: South Africa
Posts: 188
Default

What could be causing this kind of edge flickering on magenta textures that are part of the room mesh?



It's also happening on statics but not as bad as when merged with the room mesh via meta2tr's MapMergeList.
JMN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-18, 15:26   #670
Dustie
Relic Hunter
 
Dustie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: AoD 1.5 by freakraider (Poland)
Posts: 8,105
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JMN View Post
What could be causing this kind of edge flickering on magenta textures that are part of the room mesh?

[/youtube]N6K19xZAMZ0[/youtube]

It's also happening on statics but not as bad as when merged with the room mesh via meta2tr's MapMergeList.
Seems like the renderer is handling transparency differently for objects and room geometry...
Dustie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 12:15.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.