www.tombraiderforums.com

Go Back   www.tombraiderforums.com > Tomb Raider Modding > Tomb Raider Level Editor > Software Development

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-12-14, 13:56   #11
A_De
Archaeologist
 
A_De's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Kazakhstan
Posts: 1,050
Default

OMG! Can't wait to try this new method, i have so many objects to convert to wad. But i never used blender before, hope it's not too hard to understand
__________________
Time of Shadows: 80% done. Check it's page on FB.
A_De is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-14, 13:58   #12
matrix54
Tomb Raider
 
matrix54's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: N/A
Posts: 19,667
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by teme9 View Post
Don't go too nuts!

There is indeed a lot things that is possible with baking but I wouldn't recommend using it too much - too many textureinfos
Believe me, I have no plans on attempting anything like that. I'm just thinking of all the possibilities.
__________________
Check out "Checkout: Journey to Employee of the Month!"
matrix54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-14, 14:05   #13
Xopax
Archaeologist
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: .
Posts: 1,878
Default

Sorry, but it's possible to use 3DS Max instead of Blender in this new technique?
Xopax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-14, 14:09   #14
teme9
Professor
 
teme9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Finland
Posts: 3,244
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by A_De View Post
OMG! Can't wait to try this new method, i have so many objects to convert to wad. But i never used blender before, hope it's not too hard to understand
It's not that hard. The tutorials will have most of the things needed covered. Only importing stuff might have some differences depending object and format etc.

Quote:
Originally Posted by matrix54 View Post
Believe me, I have no plans on attempting anything like that. I'm just thinking of all the possibilities.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Xopax View Post
Sorry, but it's possible to use 3DS Max instead of Blender in this new technique?
Technically yes, but the scripts that make it work are tied into Blender. The texture converting (baking) part should be possible in 3ds Max but I have no earlier experience on baking textures in 3ds max so I can't shed light on that part much. The part that needs to be done in Blender isn't that long or too complicated for this method!

Last edited by teme9; 05-12-14 at 14:21.
teme9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-14, 17:59   #15
Krystian
Explorer
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 843
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by A_De View Post
OMG! Can't wait to try this new method, i have so many objects to convert to wad. But i never used blender before, hope it's not too hard to understand
Well, the learning curve is a bit different than with other 3d programs like 3ds Max, but it's not really hard. Once you get used to the interface, it gets really simple.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xopax View Post
Sorry, but it's possible to use 3DS Max instead of Blender in this new technique?
Blender is free, so all it will take is learning how to use the program (which, as i've said above, isn't hard ).

Last edited by Krystian; 05-12-14 at 18:00.
Krystian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-14, 18:21   #16
SrDanielPonces
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Portugal
Posts: 8,134
Default

OH-MY-GOD

This made my day!

I hope as well that sapper can make it work on 3ds max. o:
SrDanielPonces is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-14, 18:23   #17
Lakota
Student
 
Lakota's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: La Trinité (South of France)
Posts: 135
Default

Christmas before time, well done both of you.
Lakota is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-14, 18:38   #18
Raider99
Professor
 
Raider99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 4,699
Default

This sounds amazing!
Great job, both of you! Just imagine what you can do with this, it would be MUCH MUCH easier to make objects.
Raider99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-14, 19:29   #19
teme9
Professor
 
teme9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Finland
Posts: 3,244
Default

I'm glad that people are so happy

And really most of the credits goes for Sapper - he made it possible
teme9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-14, 19:43   #20
THOR2010
Professor
 
THOR2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 3,461
Default

im betting much easier to texture outfits as well

Quote:
Originally Posted by teme9 View Post
Generating the textures for each polygon will cause huge amount of textures so while modelling every single polygon you create needs to be thought out - optimizing is important now more than ever! The less the better
too bad theres no way to drastically increase the text info limit
__________________
"Oh no, its not that bad. Look, I have my own bucket!"

Last edited by THOR2010; 05-12-14 at 20:46.
THOR2010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 00:00.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.