www.tombraiderforums.com

Go Back   www.tombraiderforums.com > Tomb Raider Modding > Tomb Raider Level Editor

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-09-17, 05:50   #21
LGG_PRODUCTION
Historian
 
LGG_PRODUCTION's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Italy
Posts: 368
Default

I discovered a thing:
If you put an object without animations (raising blocks, pushables, statics) in JEAN_IVES slot, it becomes an object that can be pushed with the motorbike




p.s. You must use TRNG, because in TRNG the vehicles can't cross the objects.
__________________
On FB there is my page LGG_PRODUCTION, there are all my objects :)
LGG_PRODUCTION is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-17, 09:56   #22
Joey79100
Archaeologist
 
Joey79100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: France
Posts: 2,286
Default

The reverb feature, that is not working yet, but all the necessary information is stored in the levels, so we can prepare our levels for it already.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Niveus View Post
Press and hold CTRL + ALT when clicking one value, and the others will follow.
This works as well if all the values are different.
In fact CTRL is not needed.

Oh, and I think this is what AkyV meant: the fact that you can colour objects and all lighting bulbs (including shadows) by right clicking on a colour in the palette.
__________________
"Everytime you use WadMerger's Sound Manager, a kitten drowns in a poop pool."

Last edited by Joey79100; 07-09-17 at 09:57.
Joey79100 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-17, 13:02   #23
SrDanielPonces
Relic Hunter
 
SrDanielPonces's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Portugal
Posts: 7,275
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joey79100 View Post
Oh, and I think this is what AkyV meant: the fact that you can colour objects and all lighting bulbs (including shadows) by right clicking on a colour in the palette.
Always knew that.. Why would there be colour palettes if theres no purpose?
__________________
don't blame yourself - blame me instead
SrDanielPonces is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-17, 13:34   #24
Caesum
Tomb Raider
 
Caesum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Poland, Warsaw Gender: Male
Posts: 10,720
Default

^ It also quickly sets ambient color
Caesum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-17, 21:00   #25
AkyV
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Hungary
Posts: 2,498
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LGG_PRODUCTION View Post
I discovered a thing:
If you put an object without animations (raising blocks, pushables, statics) in JEAN_IVES slot, it becomes an object that can be pushed with the motorbike

p.s. You must use TRNG, because in TRNG the vehicles can't cross the objects.

These are my old experiences about funny collisions:


Quote:
Since motorbike and jeep has a developed collision in TRNG, they will be able to perform some actions you usually don’t count on.
For example, there is an open water tunnel you need to cross with the bike. But there is no ramp for that. That's why Lara needs to find the motorboat and drive it to the proper position, next to the bank. Now she'll get on the bike and use the surface of the boat as a ramp to make the bike jump to the other bank of the tunnel. – I.e. the top of other objects will work automatically as a floor square for bike/jeep. (You need some slope that raises the bike/jeep to the level of the boat surface. And be careful with the room geometry, because the collision box of the boat next to the bank sometimes "impales" the floor of that slope, in which the bike/jeep will be stuck.)
Quote:
If a trigger is placed on a floor square exactly below the closed trapdoor, then you may think the trapdoor is in the zone of that trigger, so that trigger should work as well if the activator (Lara or else) is on/over the trapdoor. But it is not true: closed trapdoors now work as solid squares, as upper borders for the “from floor to ceiling” trigger zones for the triggers below the trapdoor. – So the top of the closed trapdoor can work like a floor square for another “from floor to ceiling” trigger zone.
That is why, if you want an activator to activate a trigger when he/she/it is on/over the closed trapdoor, then, first of all, select the square exactly over the trapdoor, in the upper room. (You can’t select a floor square there, because the floor is a part of the portal now, so you can select the square only in Plan View Grid or on the ceiling in Editor Window.) – After that, set the trigger on the selected square.
For example, if that trigger is a PAD for that trapdoor, then the trapdoor will open exactly when Lara steps on it.
When the trapdoor is open, then the trigger zone of the PAD is invalid, and the zone of the trigger below the trapdoor is valid even over the trapdoor.
Quote:
An interesting and funny event - I suppose it works since the new colliding system of motorbike made for TRNG 1.2.2.6.:
The inactive Mummy (OCB2) or Skeleton (OCB 3) is lying on the floor. Lara riding the motorbike hits him. Now the creature "jumps/stands up", remaining inactive. - Hit him again and again now with the bike to push him away.
If you activate him now, the creature will fall back, as if Lara hit him with a shotgun bullet. (Or falls/jumps a bit differently, according to the direction of the last hit.) Then he'll get up and start chasing Lara.
(But it doesn't work with the jeep or with the inactive DOG lying on the floor, with OCB1.)
EDIT:
Some more.

Quote:
Platform collisions with activation/deactivation:

You can use any other triggers (TRIGGER, ANTITRIGGER, PAD, ANTIPAD, HEAVY, HEAVYANTITRIGGER, COMBAT) instead of DUMMY, if you want.
The difference: the non-DUMMY triggers will also perform their “usual” effects – so this is their “aggregated” purpose:

- TRIGGER: the platform is solid and activated if Lara gets in the trigger zone,
- ANTITRIGGER: the platform is solid and deactivated if Lara gets in the trigger zone,
- PAD: the platform is solid and activated if Lara touches the floor square OR the platform surface,
- ANTIPAD: the platform is solid and deactivated if Lara touches the floor square OR the platform surface,
- HEAVY: the platform is solid and activated if the non-Lara activator gets in the trigger zone,
- HEAVYANTITRIGGER: the platform is solid and deactivated if the non-Lara activator gets in the trigger zone,
- COMBAT: the platform is solid and activated if Lara gets in the trigger zone, having weapons in the hand.

Examples:

- Some kinds of platforms don’t do anything if activated (see eg. BRIDGE_FLAT’s), so in their cases it doesn’t matter if you use DUMMY or other triggers for the collision, under them.
- A TWOBLOCK_PLATFORM (having some number in its OCB window) will rise a bit if activated.
So, in its case, it matters if you want a DUMMY or other trigger below the platform: DUMMY will only make it solid, other triggers will even activate it.

Platform collisions with trigger overlaps:

You can use trigger overlaps with platforms, as usual. So eg. if a PAD under the platform to activate the platform/make it solid and a TRIGGER to activate a door are overlapped with each other, that will cause the platform and the door both will be activated and the platform will be solid if Lara is standing on the platform.
But you must be careful if you want to use condition (SWITCH, KEY, PICKUP, CONDITION) triggers in the overlap:

- SWITCH, KEY or PICKUP triggers are useable.
For example, place a pickable object on a floor square under the platform, then raise it to the platform level as if it were placed on the platform. There is a TRIGGER OBJECT for the platform and a PICKUP for the pickable object under the platform. So the platform will be activated by a PICKUP trigger if Lara picks up that object from the platform surface.
- CONDITION triggers usually don’t seem useful – because they will control not only that TRIGGER that activates the platform, but they also control the collision. (So, if the condition is not true, then Lara will fall through the platform.)

Note:
SWITCH, KEY or PICKUP triggers are usually 11 square sized, on the square where that switch, key hole, pickup object is placed. But this time, if that TRIGGER under the platform is more than 11 square sized (because the platform is bigger than 11 square) then the condition trigger must be big enough to be overlapped with the whole TRIGGER.

Last edited by AkyV; 07-09-17 at 21:10.
AkyV is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-17, 10:15   #26
AkyV
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Hungary
Posts: 2,498
Default Some tricks about making TRNG NGLE work

- You can minimize NGLE on the tray even only with a key shortcut (CTRL+M). (If that remains the active window, then the same keys are still useable to open up NGLE window again.)
- Several NGLE settings can be customized if you click on Settings button, above Flip Palette. (SHIFT+F2 or DropDown Menu/Shapes/Set Random Smooth Parameters will do the same.)
- After you launch NGLE, ALT+ENTER makes the window bigger, and then you can make it smaller again with the same keys - as you definitely already know. But if you tick Maximize NGLE window at start on Settings panel, then this will be reversed, NGLE just launched will have the bigger window.
- Have you already noticed the Last Projects button? You should, because it is not the usual grey, but yellow. However, click on that (or hit CTRL+L) to open the list of the latest 19 projects have been opened here since the installation of this NGLE. Click on any project there to open it.
- Tick Reload last project at start on Settings panel. So if you open NGLE again any time after that, then the project you edited here latest will open automatically.

- You should notice the temporary and short infos in the left bottom corner of Info Box. They will show up sometimes if you perform some operation in NGLE.

Last edited by AkyV; 09-09-17 at 10:21.
AkyV is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-17, 12:30   #27
SrDanielPonces
Relic Hunter
 
SrDanielPonces's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Portugal
Posts: 7,275
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Caesum View Post
^ It also quickly sets ambient color
i kno
__________________
don't blame yourself - blame me instead
SrDanielPonces is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-17, 15:11   #28
Cowboy
Hobbyist
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 24
Default

I'm not sure if this is even worth mentioning but if you put the TRNG frogmen divers in a non water room, they float around like they were in the water but they can't use their weapons so they would have to injure Lara by collision. They could make interesting ghostly enemies if remeshed and retextured.

Last edited by Cowboy; 09-09-17 at 15:13.
Cowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-17, 10:30   #29
AkyV
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Hungary
Posts: 2,498
Default

^No, nice find, this is what this thread was made for.

----------------------------

TRNG NGLE tool types

Moving/rotating the view in the Editor Window:
If you are a beginner then you perhaps don't know that you can make the fast spinning of the view in the Editor Window slower, hitting SHIFT together with the arrows or with PAGE UP/DOWN. (If the spinning continues after stopping hitting the arrows/PAGE UP/DOWN, then a standalone SHIFT is also useable to stop it.)
Moreover, you can customize this spinning - see Settings for Spinning and Zoom on the Settings panel, see Time and Step parameters there.

Buttons:
You can make your own buttons (for existing features!) - see a complete tutorial about that here.

Preview:
The preview mode is not a really popular tool of NGLE, however, you can customize the preview screen size on the Settings panel (see Preview Screen).
(Note: one of the reasons for the automatical creation of autosave.prj is when the editor crashes using the preview screen. However, autosave.prj will be removed automatically if you quit NGLE the next time with the Quit function of the DropDown Menu or with ALT+Q.
If you quit NGLE with clicking on "X", then autosave.prj will be kept - except if you tick Remove autosave.prj with normal exit on the Settings panel.)

Screenshots:
I don't think it is a popular feature so you probably are not aware that you can take screenshots of different parts of the actual NGLE layout - see DropDown Menu/Screenshots.

Vertical 2D view:
The old TRLE wasn't able to do that, but NGLE is able to show vertical 2D views - see V2d Map button.
The North/South/East/West button next to that will set the direction wherefrom this view is rendered. (NGLE and game cardinal points are not the same!)

Lara's position:
Do you still use the classic TRLE method for Lara's position? Deleting her and then placing her again? It is unnecessary. Select a room sector then click on Move Lara here button (or hit CTRL+H).

Selected room:
NGLE is able to memorize the last 10 rooms edited in the actual project, so you can go back to any of them easily.
Click on Go back old room button (or hit Key G) to select the latest room of the list before the actual room. (If you reach the end of the list, then the first room of the list will be selected.)
Hit CTRL+G to move in the list in the inverse direction.
Hit Key M to put a room in the list without editing it.
Hit Key U to remove the actual room from the list manually.

Last edited by AkyV; 10-09-17 at 17:07.
AkyV is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 16-09-17, 11:11   #30
AkyV
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Hungary
Posts: 2,498
Default Converting the level in TRNG

Perhaps you still convert your level in the clasic way (save PRJ - output WAD - conversion, all of this manually), when using TRNG - except: naturally TRLE and TRNG converters are not the same.

Then you probably avoided that there is a faster way for that, using Exit&Play or Play buttons of NGLE. - This is what will happen now:

1. You need an existing PRJ file for your actual project.
2. Click on
Exit&Play or Play button.
3. The actual PRJ file will be saved automatically.
4. Output WAD will happen automatically, saving the TOM file with the same name.
5. TRNG converter (NG_Tom2Pc.exe) will open automatically.
6.
TRNG converter will build TR4 file with the same name automatically.
7.
TRNG converter will close automatically.
8. NGLE will be closed
(using Exit&Play button previously) or minimized on the tray (using Play button previously), automatically.
9. The game starts automatically.

Note:

Tick On (Exit & Play) to save project with new filename on Settings panel, to create a backup PRJ saved each time in the actual project subfolder of maps folder, when using
Exit&Play or Play buttons.

-------------------

Tick Save image of map after output WAD command on Settings panel. Now each output WAD operation generates/overwrites a BMP file with Last_2DMap... name, in the editor main folder, which is the horizontal map of the level. (Note: the vertical map should be off before these operations.)

------------------

Rarely used but useful buttons in the converter:

- Statistics: opens a TXT with some statistics. (Saved in the editor main folder.)
- Clear Output: clear the contents of the right side window.
- Build Selected: if you selected more than one TOM files in the converter at the same time with the Add button, then you don't need to convert all of them with Build All, choose Build Selected instead, to convert only the required one.

Last edited by AkyV; 16-09-17 at 11:14.
AkyV is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 19:22.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.