www.tombraiderforums.com

Go Back   www.tombraiderforums.com > Tomb Raider Modding > Tomb Raider Level Editor

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-07-05, 13:58   #11
Uvavoo
Archaeologist
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Huddersfield
Posts: 2,215
Post

10 - Installing Levels. I have added the flowchart for installing levels here for your convenience.

First identify how the builder has supplied the level. There are two ways either as a .TR4 file or as a .TOM file. Identify which type has been supplied and take the appropriate action based on the chart below.




To download a printable pdf for your reference use the following link:

Dowloadable PDF

[ 01. July 2005, 14:59: Message edited by: Uvavoo ]

Last edited by Titak; 10-01-06 at 11:27.
Uvavoo is offline  
Old 05-07-05, 14:47   #12
Titak
Moderator
 
Titak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Drenthe, The Netherlands
Posts: 29,798
Post

11 - HOW DO I ADD COLLISION TO AN OBJECT?

First you have to determine what kind of object it is: static or animating .

Static objects
You can add collision to static objects using STRpix .
1. Open STRpix and load your wad.
2. On the upper left of the screen you will see the textures and right below that is the Boundary Data window.



3. Select a static object in the static meshes box. The object will appear on the right of the screen.
4. Check Show Box . A yellow wire frame appears around the object.
5. Usually the Visibility Box and the Collision Box have the same size, but they can be different. I sometimes create a smaller collision box for plants.
To adjust the collision check Collision box . You can now either adjust the coordinates in the boxes or simply click Automatic Bound.
6. Save the wad and check out the new collision!

Quote:
Originally posted by Michiel:
Static objects have a special flag in the wad that enables/disables collision. It also has 2 bounding boxes, visibility and collision. The collesion BB is ignored when the flag is set to disable collision. In WADMerger, if you select a static you can click Enable collision to set the flag to enable and Disable collision to set the flag to disable.

If setting the flag to enable doesn't work, you need to recalc the collesion. If you hold SHIFT when pressing the button the collesion is recalculated.
Animating objects
You can add collision to animating objects using either Fexanim or WADMerger .

NOTE: Objects placed in the animating15, animating16 and animating14_mip slots can't have collision. This is an hardcoded thing and can not be adjusted using one of these programs.
If anyone knows of more slots that can't have collision, please let me know so I can add them to this list.

Fexanim
1. Open Fexanim and load the TR4 (Fexanim doesn't work with wad files) which has the animating object that needs a new collision box.



2. Select the object from the list.
3. Select the animation that needs adjusting. next to this box is the frame list. Make sure it is set to 0 or higher. You can't adjust collision when the animation is set to frame -1.
4. Check Show Box . A black wireframe will appear around the object.
5. Manually adjust the collision coordinates or click the Automatic Bound button.
6. Save the TR4 file.
7. Use Trupdate to transfer the new collision data back into your wad.

WADMerger
1. Open WADMerger and load your wad.
2. Select the animating object that needs adjusting and open Animation Editor .



3. Select the animation.
4. In the Collision dropdown menu select Show Bounding Box so the collision box becomes visible.
5. Adjust he collision by clicking either Calculate Collision (frame) or Calculate Collision (animation)
6. Save the changes and save your wad.

If the object still doesn't have collision after you have done the above it might have been disabled altogether. To enable it again you can use WADMerger to enable it.
1/ open your wad
2/ Select the animating object without collision
3/ Click the Enable collision button.
(Same as with the static objects actually. )

[ 18. October 2005, 21:48: Message edited by: Titak ]

Last edited by EscondeR; 25-08-09 at 07:34.
Titak is offline  
Old 05-07-05, 20:23   #13
Titak
Moderator
 
Titak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Drenthe, The Netherlands
Posts: 29,798
Post

12 - How do I create custom animations? - part 1

Tutorial has been moved to the Tomb Raider Leveleditor Tutorials subforum.

Last edited by Titak; 24-11-06 at 14:59.
Titak is offline  
Old 08-07-05, 13:19   #14
Titak
Moderator
 
Titak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Drenthe, The Netherlands
Posts: 29,798
Post

13 - How do I create custom animations? - part 2

Tutorial has been moved to the Tomb Raider Leveleditor Tutorials subforum.

Last edited by Titak; 24-11-06 at 14:59.
Titak is offline  
Old 21-07-05, 14:41   #15
Titak
Moderator
 
Titak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Drenthe, The Netherlands
Posts: 29,798
Post

14 - How to make textures animate?

Tutorial has been moved to the Tomb Raider Leveleditor Tutorials subforum.

NEW information about creating animated textures on objects has been added to the tutorial!!!

Last edited by Titak; 24-11-06 at 15:30.
Titak is offline  
Old 02-08-05, 15:57   #16
Uvavoo
Archaeologist
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Huddersfield
Posts: 2,215
Post

15 - Information for Mac Users.
The level editor for Mac works in the same way as for PC with the following differences.
1. Drag and drop. To convert your tom file into a level (.tr4) file simply drag the .tom file and drop it onto the Tom2PC icon.
2. Drag and drop. Edit your scripts in Simple text. Drag and drop the Script.txt file onto the ScriptEdit icon . A new English.dat and Script.dat will be created. Move these to the root level editor folder.
3. LOAD screen needs to be 640x480 @72 dpi in bmp format.
4.Opening a project. For some reason opening a project is faulty on the Mac. You have to do the following a) LOAD TGA b) Load Project and finally C) Load your object (WAD) file. Clicking on the project file will give you errors.

Operating System
MacOSX. The level editor is NOT a native MacosX application.
For best results you must boot up into OS9.x.
Running the level editor in the 'Classic environment' under OSX is problematic but can work ok on some systems. Depends on the version and video card.
I highly recommend running in OS9.x.

Bugs.
Horizon bug. This bug prevents using distance fog effectively (although distance fog works). The horizon reflects light from the level thus changing the colour of the horizon and ruining the effect.
Volumetric Effects. The Mac version does not support 'fog bulbs'.
Effects/Sounds menu. If you get just a blank window when trying to add sounds from the effects menu do the following.
Open the Sounds.txt file with simple text in the 'Sound' folder. Remove all the 'squares' (these are the symbol for the PC lline end which is redundant on a mac) and resave the file. Your sounds should now appear in Effectts/sounds dialogue.

Utilities.
If you have Virtual PC installed on your mac then you can use software like Wadmerger and Strpix without issue. The PC version of the level editor will not run under virtual PC, nor will Dextre3D.

Requirements.
The level editor does not need much in the way of resources and will work fine on even very old macs.
The very earliest i-macs work fine for both building and playing the levels.

Setting up the level player for the first time: (contributed by SSJ Wolf)
-If you're using Mac OS X, drag the carbon level player + setup applications from the "for mac OS X" folder, into the main folder and use those instead of the classic versions.
-You should launch the setup application first, and go through all the options and adjust them to your computer's settings. There's a special feature for mac users that lets you turn on Lara's "aha" sound, that's under the "game" tab.
-Then launch the Level Player and go into options. "Control configuration" adjusts the controls, and you can set the music and sfx volumes, sfx quality, and targeting mode. These are also adjustible in-game by pressing the "p" button and choosing "options".

To play the level:
-After installing the level(s), just start up the level player and press "new game"

Oh yeah, extra key commands!
-F13 or Command-Shift-3 takes screenshots.
-Command-Q quits the game.
-F10 sets the default brightness setting.
-F11 decreases brightness.
-F12 increases brightness.
-F5 opens the save game dialog.
-F6 opens the load game dialog.
-P button brings the pause menu up.

NEW INTEL BASED MACS
As far as I know the level editor will not run on intel based macs as they no longer emulate OS9.
BUT DON'T DESPAIR....

http://www.apple.com/macosx/bootcamp/

Download bootcamp from the above link and together with your copy of Widows XP you can turn your mac into a pc. This is not an emulator but will allow booting into XP just like any other windows machine. So the PC versions of Level editor, Wadmerger, Strpix etc and all the Patches will work.
__________________
Me Like Blue Me no like Purple

Last edited by Uvavoo; 29-08-06 at 15:51.
Uvavoo is offline  
Old 07-08-05, 07:54   #17
Titak
Moderator
 
Titak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Drenthe, The Netherlands
Posts: 29,798
Post

16 - Sound Issues: Audio

Tutorial has been moved to the Tomb Raider Leveleditor Tutorials subforum.

Last edited by Titak; 24-11-06 at 14:59.
Titak is offline  
Old 07-08-05, 08:54   #18
Titak
Moderator
 
Titak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Drenthe, The Netherlands
Posts: 29,798
Post

17 - Sound issues: Sound effects

Tutorial has been moved to the Tomb Raider Leveleditor Tutorials subforum.

Last edited by Titak; 24-11-06 at 14:59.
Titak is offline  
Old 19-08-05, 16:23   #19
Titak
Moderator
 
Titak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Drenthe, The Netherlands
Posts: 29,798
Post

18 - How to change the logo? (uklogo.pak)

The logo appears on the title screen and the standard one simply says Tomb Raider.
You can however change this and add the title of your level to it or change the whole thing into whatever you want.

Here are some examples:


The readme.txt inside the TRLE/Logo folder tells you in short what to do when you want to change the logo.
But below is some more detailed info.

- Inside the TRLE/Logo folder is a uklogo.bmp file. (512x256 pixels, 16bit)
This represents the logo and can be changed as you see fit using a paintprogram.
RGB=0,0,0 (black) will be transparant ingame.

Instead of opening and editing the uklogo.bmp you can also open and edit the uklogo.raw.
To open the uklogo.raw you need the following settings:


The size should be 512x256.
(This is how the window looks in PSP7, so it might look different in your own paintprogram. I also had to translate. I hope I translated it right. )

- Once you have changed and saved the uklogo.bmp you need to save it as uklogo.raw with RGB Interleaved ie RGB RGB RGB (Filesize will be 384k).
(if you have opened and edited the uklogo.raw you don't have to save it as .bmp first, ofcourse)

- Now convert the new uklogo.raw into a new uklogo.pak file by running the Logo.bat file.

A newly created uklogo.pak file will be placed in the TRLE/Data folder. The new logo will appear the next time you open the game.

I have the UK version of the LE so the uklogo.bmp might have another name in other versions. Like uslogo.pak in the USA, perhaps?

Last edited by EscondeR; 25-08-09 at 07:35.
Titak is offline  
Old 24-08-05, 23:04   #20
Titak
Moderator
 
Titak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Drenthe, The Netherlands
Posts: 29,798
Post

19 - Importing meshes into a wad

Objects are made up of one or more meshes (=parts). Static objects are made up of one mesh, animating objects are made up of one or more meshes.

You can download several meshes at TR Search Engine: static meshes but also meshes for animating objects, mostly for Lara, like head or torso.

Below is a description on how you can add these meshes to your wad.

Adding a static mesh
1. Put a static object in your wad using WADMerger. Any static object will do since you will be replacing its mesh with the mesh you have downloaded.
2. Open Strpix and load your wad with the new static object.
3. In the Render Window scroll down (using the meshes dropdown menu)to the newly added static object. It will be made up off one mesh. This is the mesh you will be replacing.
4. Now go to the File dropdown menu and click Import Dxf.



Select the Guard Tower dxf file from your harddisk and open it. A small window will pop up and you need to select what kind of mesh you are importing. Select Static.



The object is now imported into your wad.
5. Texture the object.
Note: if you import an already textured object, having used textures that are not in the wad you are importing the object into, the textures won't be automatically imported! So you will need to retexture. A non textured object will appear white after importing.

Adding an animating mesh
Do as above but now select Animating in the Import DXF Options window.

[ 25. August 2005, 00:09: Message edited by: Titak ]

Last edited by EscondeR; 25-08-09 at 07:35.
Titak is offline  
Closed Thread

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 11:13.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.