www.tombraiderforums.com

Go Back   www.tombraiderforums.com > Tomb Raider Series > The Last Revelation

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 30-08-17, 18:30   #11
Peixoto
Student
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 210
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GoldfishGam3r View Post
Progress!

I downloaded your Alone in the Dark mod, and tried replacing an FMV from TR4 with one from AitD. Didn't work at first, but, after replacing the binkw32.dll of TR4 with the one from your mod aswell, it worked!

TR4 played the FMVs from AitD, but because they are in 16:9, there was a huge black bar below the video playing. This is important, you'll see soon.
And for reference, this happened in both windowed and fullscreen modes.

Anyway, after those awesome results, I put it my 1080p .bik files and replaced and... it played one frame and crashed. I then tried rendering my remastered FMVs in the original resolution of 640x480 to .mp4, and then convert them to .bik just like I did with the 1080p ones, using the same settings.

And it worked!

So now I'm stuck. Evaluating from the black bar below the 16:9 video, my guess is the size of the FMV player is hardcoded into the engine, causing the game to crash when an FMV has a higher resolution than the FMV player of the game.

The only solution I can think of would be to mod the game, meaning the tomb4.exe, to have a bigger window on the FMV player, but I have no clue where to even start with that. If anyone can help, I'd really apreciate it
If you guys really want it, i can do it quite easily

In fact, i have also done it for TR III, but nobody noticed it
Peixoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-17, 15:17   #12
GoldfishGam3r
Hobbyist
 
GoldfishGam3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Porto, Portugal
Posts: 94
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Peixoto View Post
If you guys really want it, i can do it quite easily

In fact, i have also done it for TR III, but nobody noticed it
Nope, I didn't notice you've done that for tr2 and 3 (unfortunately). Still, I think it would be pretty cool! Talk to me in PM about it, and hopefully we could release a "pack" with the modded .exe and .dll, and the fmvs, in various resolutions!
__________________
Tomb Raider addict since I was 3 years old!
GoldfishGam3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-17, 02:23   #13
Peixoto
Student
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 210
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GoldfishGam3r View Post
Nope, I didn't notice you've done that for tr2 and 3 (unfortunately). Still, I think it would be pretty cool! Talk to me in PM about it, and hopefully we could release a "pack" with the modded .exe and .dll, and the fmvs, in various resolutions!
No need, just release the FMVs and instruct people to download the patch. After that i will also add the link to download the FMVs on the documentation.

I will add the option the replace the FMVs on TR4 and 5 this weekend, and i am thinking on latter to also add an option for subtitles
Peixoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-17, 20:30   #14
GoldfishGam3r
Hobbyist
 
GoldfishGam3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Porto, Portugal
Posts: 94
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Peixoto View Post
No need, just release the FMVs and instruct people to download the patch. After that i will also add the link to download the FMVs on the documentation.

I will add the option the replace the FMVs on TR4 and 5 this weekend, and i am thinking on latter to also add an option for subtitles
Subtitles would be amazing! One of the features I always use when available. Unfortunately I imagine these would work only for the FMVs and not in-game cutscenes. Still a cool feature though.
__________________
Tomb Raider addict since I was 3 years old!
GoldfishGam3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-17, 04:47   #15
Peixoto
Student
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 210
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GoldfishGam3r View Post
Subtitles would be amazing! One of the features I always use when available. Unfortunately I imagine these would work only for the FMVs and not in-game cutscenes. Still a cool feature though.
With a little research it could be possible to replace the cutscenes with FMVs, but i don't think it is worth the work.

For AOD however, i will try it when i have the time, so we can have some PS2 effects missing in the PC cutscenes
Peixoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-17, 02:40   #16
Peixoto
Student
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 210
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GoldfishGam3r View Post
Subtitles would be amazing! One of the features I always use when available. Unfortunately I imagine these would work only for the FMVs and not in-game cutscenes. Still a cool feature though.
Ok, the update to play HD FMVs on TR4 and 5 is online.

To play them

- name your FMVs the same as the game's original FMVs, but with the mp4 extension instead o bik, and then paste them in the movie folder alongside the original fmvs, which CANNOT be deleted.

- check two options it the game page on the help.exe program:
non-exclusive fullscreen and Force native resolution

NOTE: the actual format of the fmvs doesn't need to be mp4, only the extension: try different formats/sizes you you find problems

Last edited by Peixoto; 13-09-17 at 18:04.
Peixoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-17, 02:42   #17
Peixoto
Student
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 210
Default

double post

Last edited by Peixoto; 11-09-17 at 02:49.
Peixoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-17, 17:50   #18
GoldfishGam3r
Hobbyist
 
GoldfishGam3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Porto, Portugal
Posts: 94
Default

Oh, and here I was converting the FMVs to .bik, this makes it a lot easier
Expect a link to them tomorrow
__________________
Tomb Raider addict since I was 3 years old!
GoldfishGam3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-09-17, 16:54   #19
tizerist
Archaeologist
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: West London
Posts: 1,856
Smile

Good work! I look forward to this...
__________________
^^ What I just said there was VERY VERY good
tizerist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-09-17, 19:24   #20
Gian Carlo
Archaeologist
 
Gian Carlo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2,480
Default

Could you also release them in mp4 versions?
__________________
PSN: FreakPrince_
Gian Carlo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 16:48.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.