www.tombraiderforums.com

Go Back   www.tombraiderforums.com > Tomb Raider Modding > Tomb Raider Level Editor > DXTRE3D Level Editor

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-07-18, 06:37   #1
DaroRaider
Student
 
DaroRaider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: San Juan, Argentina
Posts: 109
Question Help with unknown 'flag' field for cameras!

Hello there,
Someone wanna become in a hero?

I'm trying to descifrate the purpose of the 'flag' field for cameras..
For an upcoming project that I have in mind, I would like to incorporate a camera that be persistant, I mean, a camera that cannot be bypassed by any event.



TrRosetta stone document says that is possible to do this, if the first bit of the flag is set. In my tests, I couldn't be able to achieve this effect.
I think it's only present in TR4 ( I use TR3 ).
Whatever value I place in 'flag' field, there is not any big effect.

If someone is interested in to descifrate this clue, I will be honorified!



Good luck!
DaroRaider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-18, 10:16   #2
Topixtor
Hobbyist
 
Topixtor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 70
Default

I don't remember any fixed camera in TR1-3. I don't think it's possible, as you said... but maybe the function was "hidden" in the code and can actually be supported by older engines (like if you put triangles in tr1-2: they are rendered, even if without proper collisions).
Topixtor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-18, 10:39   #3
TR-Freak
Professor
 
TR-Freak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Deutschland
Posts: 4,366
Default

To set the first bit, you have to enter 1 (0000 0000 0000 0001 in binary)
__________________
"Your perception of good timing is...bad!"
TR-Freak is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-18, 17:53   #4
DaroRaider
Student
 
DaroRaider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: San Juan, Argentina
Posts: 109
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TR-Freak View Post
To set the first bit, you have to enter 1 (0000 0000 0000 0001 in binary)
I assumed the less significant bit as first, so I entered "1" in the flag field.
But nothing happens.
The only persistant camera examples from older engines I know are these from cutscenes. Then this camera triggered in Offshore Rig where Lara has no weapons, but I think it is triggered by a script set in TombPc.dat.

Also, it comes to my mind that this 'flag' value should work together with another value from a trigger?
DaroRaider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-18, 18:00   #5
thewolf
Historian
 
thewolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 380
Default

I always thought this flag value is for the sink object
As I had problems with underwater currents , I played a little bit with the flag value, but nothing happened. The only thing I noticed was, that the triggered sector had a different sink number(shown in fexinspect) each time the value got changed.
thewolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-18, 18:15   #6
Danath
Archaeologist
 
Danath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Barcelona, Spain
Posts: 1,104
Red face

Probably this won't help at all...

I tried a while ago placing a camera with the flag value 1 on a test level, but you still can go out of it when you equip the pistols.
__________________
Working on Tomb Raider II: The Ancient Jade Mask
Danath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-18, 20:44   #7
DaroRaider
Student
 
DaroRaider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: San Juan, Argentina
Posts: 109
Default

Thanks buddies!

What comes to my mind is to check camera per camera settings in original compiled levels to see if there is a change in the flag field.
If after checking various levels and the flag is empty, I will come to Topixtor's conclusion as a 'reserved' field for older engines!
DaroRaider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-18, 21:00   #8
Danath
Archaeologist
 
Danath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Barcelona, Spain
Posts: 1,104
Default

One thing related to cameras that i found interesting is that, if you use a "look at item" action in a trigger, Lara will look at that item even with weapons drawn. I used it in one of my new levels to look at a door opening no matter what.
__________________
Working on Tomb Raider II: The Ancient Jade Mask
Danath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-18, 00:46   #9
DaroRaider
Student
 
DaroRaider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: San Juan, Argentina
Posts: 109
Default

I was using Sapper's fexInspect tool, and it seems that for every camera entry the field 'flag' is set to zero, for both, tr2 and tr3 levels.

However, for Sink entries, the flag field stores values.

So the last thing I need to check is to set value "1" for flag field for a camera compiling a TR4 level, and make sure that what the document says is just for tr4.

Danath: Yes, "look at item" thing works that way, I have something in mind to implement in order to make my concept work, as last alternative.

Edit:

I just did a test compiling a level of tr4. Exactly, when the flag is marked with the value 1, the focus of the camera is frozen no matter what events the player triggers, such as drawing the weapons or pressing the 'look' button. So, it only works for tomb raider 4. The clue is solved, hope this be of help to someone else!

Last edited by DaroRaider; 05-07-18 at 01:07.
DaroRaider is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 19:21.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.